We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“We love it.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rex Theater

Rex Theater
Ranked #3 of 12 things to do in Galax
Attraction details
Shropshire, England
Level Contributor
336 reviews
57 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 211 helpful votes
“We love it.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2014

I can't imagine Galax without the Rex, it is always a good night out and I hope it will live for ever. We come back periodically from the UK , just wish they could have more shows than on a Friday night.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank stokersam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    13
    0
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
123 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“not The Beverly Hillbillies or American Idol and that's a good thing”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2014

Two friends and I went to a banjo shootout at the Rex. Although the actual event had more guitar than banjo, it was all very entertaining. Everyone there seemed to know each other and enjoyed each other's company as much as the performing. If you go for the whole experience of real music being played by nonprofessionals in a small town, you'll like it. If you're looking for slick packaged plastic Americana, go to Pigeon Forge, Tennessee.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Saunterer1099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clemson, South Carolina
Level Contributor
98 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“A Nice Slice of Americana”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2014

For $5, we got to see live blue grass music as it was being broadcast on radio. Folks jumped up as the music moved 'em to clog or two-step to the catchy tunes. The Rex Theater was obviously at one time a cinema, but now it's bringing live music to the folks of Galax, VA. The folks are friendly, and they have some concessions available, along with some Rex Theater gear. There aren't a lot of opportunities like this left anywhere in America, so go check it out.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank OrangeBaron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“What a BLAST!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

My husband and I visited the Rex Theater last Friday night. What a fun time!! You could tell this where all the locals come to enjoy some great music. We only paid $5.00 to get in and $3.00 for two sodas and popcorn. This venue offers wonderful local Blue Grass music that is actually broadcast as a radio program. Everyone was very casual and there's plenty of dancing room in front of the stage. The Rex has been refurbished by a group of sponsors and is operated by a very dedicated group of volunteers. It was wonderful!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank birdy83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amherst, Virginia
Level Contributor
105 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Go back in Time!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013

This is an OLD theater that was purchased by the local merchants of Galax, remodeled and reopened. Every Friday they feature a group of performers, (mostly bluegrass), and only charge $5 to get in. The theater is beautiful, comfortable and filled with folks you will think you've known all your life. The theater is run by an all volunteer staff and the performances (8:00-10:00pm) are aired live on a local FM station. The performances are AWESOME, PLUS, there is an area in front of the stage for anyone that wants to "flatfoot" during the songs. I always leave there felling like I just stepped out of a time machine and loved every minute of it.. Speaking of time machine, the popcorn,candy and soda are ALL $1 each!! A MUST SEE!!!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank drdave57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Rex Theater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing