We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What A Wonderful Place To Celebrate Our Anniversary!”
Review of Inn at Orchard Gap

Inn at Orchard Gap
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Galax
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Inn at Orchard Gap
Ranked #3 of 3 Galax B&B and Inns
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
35 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“What A Wonderful Place To Celebrate Our Anniversary!”
Reviewed October 20, 2013

We had such a wonderful weekend here at the Inn. We were celebrating our 11 year anniversary, and what a beautiful, and special place to celebrate! I can't say enough great things about this welcoming inn. Don and Sherry are wonderful hosts, and they made us feel so welcome, and did so in every little detail. The inn was beautifully decorated, and the breakfast....oh, my! A wonderful large breakfast each day, with delicious food - eggs, bacon, sausage, french toast, scones, apple dumpling, potato casserole, homemade biscuits, muffins, fruit, indian peach jam, apple butter, tea, coffee, you name it! It was so nice meeting new friends, and having wonderful conversation as we ate. The porch has such a beautiful view, and you will definitely rock your cares, and worries away in the rocking chairs outside your room. I highly recommend their inn if you are in the area, you won't regret it.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 84debb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    8
    0
    0
    2
See reviews for
4
11
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

What an amazing place. Has to be experienced to appreciate! Very handy for the parkway and we did eventually find it in the mist! Had a lovely room up off the balcony with all we required. The room was very interesting, like the rest of the place just full of artefacts.
In the morning we were made the best breakfast. Fruit, strawberry muffins, red peach jam, pancakes,eggs sausage and maple syrup. As much tea or coffee as we could drink.
I can recommend this place if travelling down the parkway, an ideal place to stop.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Penny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanford, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2012

We were unhappy at another small motel in Galax , VA, that we paid for sight unseen and left even after paying for the room just because I felt so uncomfortable there. At our wits end, at the last minute I called Don at Orchard Gap, and thank God from above, we were told to come right on, we were welcomed like long lost friends by a gentleman who made us so glad we called . Our room was gorgeous and the stars were beautiful. A gourmet hot breakfast awaited us the next morning, and I have found the perfect place to read a book without the hustle of everyday life. Thank you Don ! This is my new favorite place to escape !

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank erynsnurse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012

I stayed here one night on my solo bike ride on the Blue Ridge Parkway. I had assumed I would have to stay at the hotel in Fancy Gap that night, so finding the Inn about 5 miles east of town was a pleasant surprise. I stayed in an upstairs room and was able to watch the sunset with a bottle of wine that happened to appear (Fancy Gap is a dry town) and later the night sky with very little light pollution.

The breakfast with Don was perfect, I wish I could have stayed longer. I'd like to return for a ride on the BRP again, or the New River Trail nearby.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Charles M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
43 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Driving north on the Blue Ridge Parkway, we arrived at Orchard Gap late, so we passed the Inn without stopping and went directly to the Olde Mill Golf Club, where we had dined a year earlier, for dinner. Unfortunately it was closed, having no power because of the recent severe storms.

So we retraced our route to the Inn and had a makeshift dinner out of our cooler while we enjoyed the view from the second-floor balcony.

Our room was large and clean, albeit somewhat cluttered in what seems to be a custom among B&Bs, with a fridge and a spacious bathroom. Our host, Mr Foster, prepared us a nice breakfast, with especially fine blueberry scones and top-notch biscuits.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hr60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico, United States
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2012

The inn at Orchard Gap is on lightning ridge road just 200 yards off the Blue Ridge Parkway. It on a hill and has a great view. Our stay was great. We had an upstairs room and the large porch was wonderful to sit and read. The room was clean and cozy and breakfast was good. We spent one night, but this B and B would be a good spot to base out of while exploring. Recommended.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Douglas A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2011

We enjoyed our stay at the Inn! My husband and I were cycling the Blue Ridge Parkway and appreciated the special services provided by the Inn. They were friendly and accommodating. The room was clean and comfortable. We needed transportation into Fancy Gap, and our hosts were willing to offer us a ride into town, so that we could pick up some dinner. We enjoyed the sunset in the rocking chairs on the porch -- such a beautiful location! The breakfast was large, and conversation was pleasant and informative. We felt very cared-for and were happy we had made this lodging choice.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cgforbes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Galax
5.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Galax
Hampton Inn Galax
#1 of 5 in Galax
4.5 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
8.7 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#1 of 8 in Hillsville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 417 reviews
6.0 mi away
Knights Inn Galax
Knights Inn Galax
#2 of 5 in Galax
3.5 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Country View Inn
Country View Inn
#1 of 2 in Fancy Gap
3.5 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
6.0 mi away
The Doctor's Inn
The Doctor's Inn
#1 of 3 in Galax
5.0 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
8.3 mi away
Mountain Top Motel
Mountain Top Motel
#2 of 2 in Fancy Gap
3.0 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Orchard Gap? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Orchard Gap

Property: Inn at Orchard Gap
Address: 4549 Lightning Ridge Rd, Galax, VA
Location: United States > Virginia > Galax
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Galax
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 24

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing