We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Wonderful Place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Ridge Music Center

Blue Ridge Music Center
Ranked #1 of 11 things to do in Galax
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Located at Milepost 213 on the Blue Ridge Parkway.
Alabama
Level Contributor
280 reviews
68 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Wonderful Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

This is a must for mountain music aficionados. Located outside of Galax, Virginia, on the beautiful Blue Ridge Parkway, plan to spend some time browsing in the well done Mountain Music Museum. It includes the history of mountain music, instruments, and influential people of past and present in this genre of music. The display is interactive in some parts, has some great videos, and a great explanation of the evolution of this type of music. All of it is housed in a beautiful building and well cared for grounds. There is even an amphitheater.
Some days of the week there is live music demonstrations and music jams for the public.
The National Park Service representatives were friendly and knowledgable.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Margaret F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    26
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
North Carolina Coast, North Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Driving the Parkway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Great break from driving the ridge road at 35 MPH We enjoyed live music and the local musicians playingworld class instruments that were made within 50 miles of the center.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank David E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
42 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Those who love bluegrass”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

Live music was playing when we were there and the performers growing by the minute. Very nice display of origins of music in the area. Right off the Blue Ridge Parkway.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lulugm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whiteville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
66 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Simply the best!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

This is great and all tax dollars should be spent this efficiently.Music every day and great students and workers, this is a must do.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank martinblacksheep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“I have to go back!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

It was a Thursday I do believe and they had live music that we could have listened to all day. It was so great! The inside of the Music Center had so much to see and do!

I was sad that we had a timeline that day and couldn't really take the time I wanted to...so that is why I have to go back! Picnic under a tree...WONDERFUL!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Roadoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Ridge Music Center also viewed

 

Been to Blue Ridge Music Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing