We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“EXCELLENT MUSEUM” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Blue Ridge Music Center

Blue Ridge Music Center
Ranked #1 of 12 things to do in Galax
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Located at Milepost 213 on the Blue Ridge Parkway.
Santurce, PR
Level Contributor
67 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT MUSEUM”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2014

My husband play the guitar and he love this place. He love the interactive displays and the exhibitions. We bought an excellent Mountain Music CD in the gift shop. The ranger staff was really friendly and helpful; thank you for the maps and lodging information.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Goga171
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    111
    29
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Galax, Virginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice place to stop on the Blue Ridge Parkway”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2014

The Blue Ridge Music Center has a very nice museum about bluegrass music that is very informative. One night during the weekend they have live concerts either by local bluegrass bands or other well known artists such as Ricky Scaggs etc. My husband and I were there on a Saturday. There were local musicians playing bluegrass music in what I call a breezeway. It's a good place to visit on the Blue Ridge Parkway. There are also walking trails if you decide to take a hike.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallmadge, Ohio
Level Contributor
110 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“A worthwhile stop on the Parkway”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013 via mobile

Now that the Parkway has re-opened, this was one of our first stops. We found live music, two knowledgeable park rangers who couldn't have been more helpful if they tried, a wealth of information about bluegrass music and a beautiful view. It's definitely a worthwhile stop. Could be made better with a snack/food area.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank janbo19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lufkin, Texas
Level Contributor
157 reviews
103 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“A great Place to Stop”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

We weren't sure if we were going to stop here or not and wow we were sure glad that we did. The music in the breezeway with the rockers and chairs was reason enough but then the museum made it a definite must see. The history of mountain music and the interactive displays only one word could describe it WOW. Don't pass this up if your on the Blue Ridge Parkway like we almost did.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank James and Sandr... B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MIAMI
Level Contributor
815 reviews
259 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 344 helpful votes
“Good live music and excellent museum”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013

There is live bluegrass music from 10a-4pm in the breezeway. There is also a lovely museum detailing the history of country music and many of the artists, along with their instruments.
There are buttons to press and see performances from years ago. There is a small gift shop and bathrooms on the premises. You can spend as much or as little time as you want, listening to live music.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank MIAMISHEILA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Ridge Music Center also viewed

 

Been to Blue Ridge Music Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing