We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of New River Trail Cabins

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Galax
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
New River Trail Cabins
Save
You added New River Trail Cabins to your Saves list
Calabash, North Carolina
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

We've been staying in a rustic cabin outside of Floyd, Virginia for several falls and decided to branch out a little this year for variety. We may never return to Floyd. Our New River Trail cabin was outstanding. We came to check out the town of Galax and ended up never leaving the cabin and surrounding area. We hiked along the river trail enjoying the Great Blue Herons and waddling groundhogs keeping us company. We had a beautiful evening so ran to the store to buy steaks and all the fixings to grill on the deck for dinner. The fireplace and hot tub were nice additions to the evening as well. We had a great time hiking and hanging out at the cabin and will definitely be back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
5 Thank garyb859
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    7
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
23
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
DC
Level Contributor
79 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Small cabins on the New River Bike path. Wonderful place to stay if you want to bike, kayak or hike and then "come home" to a clean, comfortable and stylish place. These are not isolated cabins but there are trees separating the cabin decks that face the New River. Kitchen area is small but each cabin has a large grill. We rented 3 cabins for a small family reunion enjoying lots of outdoor activities and cooking in the evening.

Room Tip: Some cabins have lofts for larger families.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HeleneDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

We actually stayed here in June 2012, but were not members of Trip Advisor, at the time.

Prior to making reservations at The New River Trail Cabins, we met the manager. She was exceptionally nice and accommodating then; however, when we stayed there, we did not see her the entire three nights we stayed at The New River Cabins. We could not access the Internet service and had no phone to contact the management.

The cabin was kept clean except of the mildew on the shower curtain. I found it ironic about the cleaning charges if you did not complete the list of "to dos" prior to leaving when the shower curtain was not clean.

On the positive side, we really enjoyed drinking coffee on the back porch in the morning and watching the wildlife in and around the creek. Also, The New River Cabins are directly located on The New River Trail which any age and enjoy either walking or biking.

Not sure if I would pay the price again for staying at The New River Cabins.... some of us folks do not have cell phones to call the office when management may be needed or if there were to be an emergency.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank applecross1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Was a little offset by the cabins " pre fabricated" looks as well as how close they are together. I will admit I have stayed in better cabins.

Cons:
No on site manger, The wifi was very slow and problematic. The bathroom exhaust fan is so loud that it drowns out the TV. And the flooring pops and creaks like an 100 year old house
Plus the weird rules to avoid charges, You have to wash all dishes turn the heat to 60f and remove all linens or be charged an extra clean up fee!
Sewage treatment plant right above the cabins

Pros:
Close to the town of Galax.
Right beside the New River Trail
Very decent look like brand new cabins
Very nice creek right beside the cabins
Great Selection of quick and fast restaurants within a ten minute drive
Close to downtown Galax and Felts Park
Close to the New River and the Damn

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CommoGuy4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisonburg, VA
Level Contributor
37 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

This is a great place to relax and enjoy a well equipped cabin. Will certainly come back!

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank kosciusko1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

The cabins and location are absolutely amazing! The manager was kind of rude and hard to get a hold of. You should take the time to read the binder in the the room!!! If not you may be charged for some pretty ridiculos things!!! This place would be perfect if they had a manager on duty from 9-5 and you didn't have to clean your room before leaving.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Anastasiaoxox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
durham, nc
Level Contributor
112 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2011

Pros: Scenic creek-side setting, well equipped, close to New River Trail, well designed.

Cons: Poor interior lighting, no refund for cancellations, can be difficult to contact manager.

Hint: No need to bring any cooking equipment.

This was our second try at New River Cabins as our first trip was cancelled for medical reasons--no refund, but the room charge could be used at a future date.

Absolutely no disappointments here!! We were delighted. We tried to contact the manager on the way to the cabins to see if we could check in early. We never received a reply but our cabin was ready and we just walked into this beautifully appointed love nest.

The cabins are all wood. The covered front porch leads to a large room with fire place, bath room, cooking/dining area, closet, and rear covered deck with gas grill. Amenities include: microwave, refrigerator, kitchenette, sleeper couch, queen bed, satellite tv, dvd/vcr player, wi-fi, and indoor whirlpool tub. Although there is no cooktop, our cabin had a portable electric hot plate that enabled us to prepare eggs for breakfast. The cabin was fully equipped for cooking and eating. Perfect!

The only criticism we had, and this is why the cabins lost our fifth star, is that the interior lighting is just insuffictient and contacting the manager can be difficult. For example, the lighting over the sink was inadequate for washing dishes at night. There was no lighting by the side of the bed to enable reading. There was a table light by the side of the sleeper couch, but this meant that only one person could read at night. As explained earlier, we were unable to get in touch with the manager while driving.

The cabins are located maybe two hundred feet from the New River Trail access. This is a beautiful walking/bicycling trail well worth your visit. While there we observed a blue herron, a hawk, crows, a woodchuck and deer. The cabins are not within reasonable walking distance from downtown Galax (maybe a mile or so) but it is a short drive to the Rex theater where you can hear blue grass on Friday nights. Althugh we did not eat there, the Galax smokehouse on Main street smelled great.

We will return to the New River Cabins.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank exaramco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Galax
2.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Galax
Hampton Inn Galax
#1 of 5 in Galax
4.5 of 5 stars 385 reviews
0.4 mi away
Knights Inn Galax
Knights Inn Galax
#3 of 5 in Galax
3.5 of 5 stars 55 reviews
10.1 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#1 of 8 in Hillsville
4.5 of 5 stars 353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Hillsville
Hampton Inn Hillsville
#2 of 8 in Hillsville
4.5 of 5 stars 387 reviews
15.5 mi away
Alleghany Inn
Alleghany Inn
#1 of 1 in Sparta
4.0 of 5 stars 78 reviews
21.2 mi away
The Bolling Wilson Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New River Trail Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New River Trail Cabins

Property: New River Trail Cabins
Address: 307 Stockyard Rd, PO Box 606, Galax, VA 24333-2494
Location: United States > Virginia > Galax
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Galax
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxery Cabins nestled on Chestnut Creek in downtown Galax, VA. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing