We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Old but ok for the price and location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Rodeway Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rodeway Inn
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Galax
Orlando
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Old but ok for the price and location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

Very old hotel/motel by downtown Galax. Fair price for the location in a small city for a stop while driving north. You can see that the furniture and everything else is very old, but it was clean and somewhat maintained, however it needs some new painting and renovation. Very simple breakfast as well. Nothing out of extraordinary and fair for the price and location. Not sure if I would repeat.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wyuki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RodewayinnGalax, General Manager at Rodeway Inn, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
hank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    27
    9
    5
    3
See reviews for
15
16
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Thomasville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

My wife and I decided to visit Galax back in September, and stayed at the Rodeway Inn. It is a nice place to stay for the money. The room was clean. the people were nice, and location was great! We decide to go back to Galax after Christmas, but stayed at another hotel that is 4 blocks away. That was a HUGE mistake! We will be coming back to Galax soon, and will plan on staying at the Rodeway Inn again!

Room Tip: On a budget, stay here\, and NOT 4 blocks away!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank galax2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RodewayinnGalax, General Manager at Rodeway Inn, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

We very much appreciate and value your feedback and will share it with our team. Your survey responses will serve as encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services to provide an exceptional experience for our guests. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be even more pleasant than the previous one.

Sincerely,

Brijesh Patel
General Manager
Rodeway Inn, Galax, Va
2762365127
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
487 reviews
125 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

This is an older place that could use some updating. It is number 2 in Galax because there is only a few hotels in town. The bathroom looked dirty and need a really good cleaning. Tub is stained. If you get put on the backside of the hotel you have to park in front and carry your bags around to your room. Service was good. I would have no problem staying here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Adak C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RodewayinnGalax, General Manager at Rodeway Inn, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
hank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Florida
Level Contributor
140 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

This is an older motel that needs some TLC in the maintenance area but the hotel staff was very accommodating and moved us to a room that had newer carpet and bedding. Because the price is very reasonable this is the place we stay every year during our visit to the Galax area.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hallpau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RodewayinnGalax, General Manager at Rodeway Inn, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience for our guests in the future.

I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

Sincerely,

Brijesh Patel
General Manager
Rodeway Inn, Galax, Va
2762365127
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granite Falls, North Carolina
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

This hotel was very clean and it was a pleasure to stay here. The hotel staff was friendly and helpful. Bed was very comfy. Price was much cheaper than off I-77 at Hillsville and was only a 10 mile drive away from interstate. Just need to be updated outside
We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gene M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RodewayinnGalax, General Manager at Rodeway Inn, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington Court House, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

We recently made a road trip to Mt Airy (Mayberry) NC but decided to stay at the Rodeway Inn in Galax Va 27 miles awy so we cold afoord to stay 3 night and 4 days! Made in to hotel at 1:30 pm Saturday afternoon and checked in early and rested and unloaded car but the had to take ca back around front of hotel. No parking in back where our room was.? Almost fell off high curbs and sidewalks needs painted and repaired!!! But once inside room was clean and big n nice.Only complaint is no coffeepot in room and exhaust fan drove me crazy when you turned on bathroom light??? Needs cleaned or repaired! They did honor my request for a mini frig and microwave! Thanks management! They family was very nice and friendly! Did not do their breakfast bar just coffee fo rmy husband first thing every morn. We had bkft at a Brindle Truck Stop on way Sunday to Mt Airy and in Hillsville at a Shoney's Restaurant on Monday and yesterday before we lft twn had a bkfst biscuit and coffee at Hardee's waiting for heavy fog to lift so we could get on the road! Overal a nice stay at the Rodeway Inn in Galax! Thanks to the management and the housekeeping woman! She was a big help!!!!

Room Tip: take your own coffee pot and clock radio and extra towels and washcloths! And maybe alight bulb????
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Virginia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rodewayinn g, General Manager at Rodeway Inn, responded to this review, April 25, 2015
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,

Brijesh Patel
General Manager
Rodeway Inn, Galax, Va
2762365127
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Boston, Virginia, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

We booked online and were unable to contact anyone to try to cancel our reservations when we saw the horrible conditions. The bathrooms were filthy and moldy. We felt dirtier after bathing. One room had police tape and what looked like blood on the ceiling. The manager would only supply one little bottle of shampoo per room and wouldn't supply towels for the number of guests, so two of us had to share towels. The mattress's were old and had springs poking through, so we were very uncomfortable and didn't get much sleep. The noise level was pretty intolerable with sirens going off. The police station is next door.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Galax hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Galax
0.2 mi away
Knights Inn Galax
Knights Inn Galax
#2 of 5 in Galax
3.5 of 5 stars 55 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Galax
Hampton Inn Galax
#1 of 5 in Galax
4.5 of 5 stars 378 reviews
10.1 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#1 of 8 in Hillsville
4.5 of 5 stars 352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 mi away
Quality Inn Hillsville
Quality Inn Hillsville
#6 of 8 in Hillsville
4.0 of 5 stars 115 reviews
19.7 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#16 of 20 in Wytheville
3.5 of 5 stars 91 reviews
22.0 mi away
Comfort Inn Mount Airy
Comfort Inn Mount Airy
#5 of 8 in Mount Airy
4.5 of 5 stars 137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rodeway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn

Property: Rodeway Inn
Address: 303 N Main St, Galax, VA 24333-2911 (Formerly Galax Super 8 Motel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Galax
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Galax
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Rodeway Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Rodeway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodeway Inn Galax
Galax Rodeway Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing