We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the best, but not the worst.”
Review of Rodeway Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rodeway Inn
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Galax
Mc Caysville
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not the best, but not the worst.”
Reviewed September 20, 2012

I needed a place for my family and I to sleep before we headed home from Pennsylvania and saw this on the Choice Hotels website. It wasn't until we were on the way that I found out it was out of the way for us. I will say that while the area is nice and the manager was helpful, it was not the best choice. The room was clean and the beds were comfortable, but a bit stiff. The internet worked amazingly though and my boyfriend was even able to play Diablo III while we were there.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlliHexen2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    28
    14
    6
    5
See reviews for
16
22
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cary, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2012

Stayed here over the weekend to enjoy New River State Park. Motel is very clean and quiet; owners are very helpful, and the internet worked perfectly, The bike trail is about 3 minutes away (by bike.) You can leave the car and walk into town for dinner.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bruce a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
STATESVILLE,NC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2012

I stayed here every year when i visited my dad.I noticed remodelation of room. WE ENJOYED OUR STAYED . GREAT INTERNET CONNECTION NO PROBLEM AT ALL

Room Tip: Yes No parking on bakside but backside is very quiter and ROOM LOOKS CLEAN AND GREAT WITH NEW CARPET...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BIRBIEStatesville_nc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southbury, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2012

We were on a driving tour during christmas, and I had to stop for the night. From my GPS I got the info for this motel, and I called in. As the price was good, I drove to the hotel with my travel mates. The motel itself is not too great, with regular amenities,but the hotel manager, Brijesh Patel was really helpful. He checked me in and later called in to check whether everything was OK and when finding the wireless not working, he offerred to come upstairs to help. When still not working he offerred to hardwire my computer. Although I didn't take advantage of this, I felt quite happy. Thank you Mr. Patel.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Danny H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2011

Room was clean, amenities were sparse but ok. Limited TV channels and clarity was also an issue on some. Location was great to down town, near the police station also. Limited parking if you have a large vehicle or are towing a trailer. Bed was firm, Heat/AC worked well. Wireless Internet signal was unusable in "rear facing" room. Very reasonable price and overall good value.

Room Tip: The front side of the Inn nearest the office is preferable if wireless internet is a priority. Also...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NlovewithTonya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pittsburgh
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2011

This joint looks rundown (all rooms have outside doors) and is in need of fresh paint and attention to detail. The furniture upholstery is stained and the furnishings are worn.

THAT BEING SAID...at least it is clean, has newer carpet and does not smell of smoke.
I got the room for 40 bucks and it will be fine for a quick overnight stay. I recommend this place for those who can overlook its age and wear and focus on what this place is all about.....SLEEPING.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dunkirk2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen, New Hampshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2011

The kindest, sweetest people took good care of us. It was nice to have the comforts of "home" while on a business trip. We notice rooms are getting renovated. We show remodeling were going in other room too. We will definitely stay here again and are recommending it to all our friends! Thank you so much for a truly special stay:

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Betty123456789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Galax
0.3 mi away
Knights Inn Galax
Knights Inn Galax
#2 of 5 in Galax
64 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Galax
Hampton Inn Galax
#1 of 5 in Galax
501 reviews
9.9 mi away
Motel 6 Hillsville
Motel 6 Hillsville
#3 of 8 in Hillsville
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.4 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#6 of 8 in Mount Airy
183 reviews
9.9 mi away
Quality Inn Hillsville
Quality Inn Hillsville
#7 of 8 in Hillsville
135 reviews
10.4 mi away
Red Roof Inn Hillsville
Red Roof Inn Hillsville
#5 of 8 in Hillsville
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rodeway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn

Property: Rodeway Inn
Address: 303 N Main St, Galax, VA 24333-2911 (Formerly Galax Super 8 Motel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Galax
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Galax
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Rodeway Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Rodeway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodeway Inn Galax
Galax Rodeway Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing