We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (68)
Filter reviews
68 results
Traveler rating
12
21
18
6
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
12
21
18
6
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscontinental breakfaststay there againmotelcerealtilepasswordtub
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 68 reviews
Reviewed August 7, 2017 via mobile

The Good: AC, fridge, microwave, ice machine works. Clean room. Quiet location in a residential area, short drive or long walk to downtown. Trailhead for a rails to trail park nearby.

The Bed: very firm, but not flimsy. Soft pillows. Low thread count sheets.

The Ugly: dated room, pink and beige bathroom tile. No shampoo offered. Twin sinks are outside of bathroom. Pool has been filled in. Breakfast consists of two cereals and a bag of store bought donuts.

Would I stay there again? Yes, the price is right, it was clean and quiet. If you have limited mobility, you make wish to make it known at reservation, some rooms do not have direct access from the parking lot (bordered by a berm and have to use steps).

Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
1  Thank Stephen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2017

The front check in gentleman was very nice. He gave us our key, Wi-Fi password and directions to go up to our room (you have to drive up a hill for 2/3rds of the Motel. We enter the room, there were spiders in the tub, on the bathroom floor and the wall to the outside. The bathroom floor was sticky. The bath tub had not been cleaned prior to our arrival (it still had some kind of sticky mess on the tub, which they had covered up with a folded towel). The dressers smelled of mildew. The soap fixture for the sink was cracked and glued back together (in a very obvious way). The continental breakfast was a bag of hostess doughnuts set on the counter.
On the positive side. The water in the sink was hot very fast. We had a great view of the sunrise over the mountains.
Overall it wasn't the worst experience, but not an inspiring one either.

  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank ReneeH3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2017

I went to here just over night check in was simple the front desk guy was friendly
BUT, I checked out 30 minutes later after check in we found a dead roach in the bathroom and also a big SPIDER that thing was fast......The sinks did not drain .
The only good thing was they did refund the money with no problem .
Do not stay here if I was able to give this a 0 star I would went July 16, 2017

Room Tip: Stay away from this place
  • Stayed: May 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Monkee42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2017

This place was very reasonably priced and had easy parking and an ok continental breakfast. We were staying here as we were on a motorcycle trip along the Blue Ridge Parkway and this was a convenient stop along the way.

The staff was super friendly and even provided some wipe down rags for the bike. Certainly biker friendly.

Rooms were clean and comfortable, if not dated.

  • Stayed: May 2017, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Greg S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2017

With a rate of <$35 (tax, tag, title, out-the-door) you'd not expect much, but: It is clean, good internet (but heavy demand apps like Carbonite and video won't run well or at all) with well-spoken staff, and the best value I've encountered (this time of the year - March)
You'll not go wrong staying here.

Room Tip: Get a room further up on the hill - the view of the town of Galax and the hills is very peaceful.
  • Stayed: March 2017, traveled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Duncan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews