We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“The price was right” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Knights Inn Galax

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Knights Inn Galax
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Galax
Jackson, Missouri
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“The price was right”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

only 40 bucks and well worth that. nothing fancy. Morning breakfast was pretty skimpy, but you get what you pay for. Nothing bad to say about this place. The water pressure was amazing. Not a bad motel for a small town.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank coz53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    16
    15
    5
    8
See reviews for
17
19
12
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Clemson, South Carolina
Level Contributor
98 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

Okay, there's no way you'll confuse this with the Ritz, but then you won't be paying hundreds of dollars, either. The room was clean, and the bed was comfortable. The blanket on the bed probably ought to be replaced, but it worked. The shower felt great. The tv was old-style, but I wasn't there to watch tv. So, I never even turned it on. The continental breakfast is extremely simple. . . a couple of cereal choices, and some doughnuts. Does it look "vintage" inside and out? Yep. It's got a great location on a hill overlooking Galax. Unfortunately, the view's not much to look at. The staff was polite. So, if you're looking to stay for less, this is a good choice.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OrangeBaron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

I spent a week at the Knights Inn in Galax, VA. The room was clean. The bed was comfortable. And the water pressure was strong. Quiet place. The staff were very kind and friendly. The price was appropriate for what was offered. I would recommend the place to a visitor to the Galax area. I am planning on staying there again next year, when I return to VA.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steven W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

the ones where the unsuspecting couple or family or group gets trapped in a small town motel off the beaten path? Well , if you ever wanted to see what that's like in person, just come here. The grounds are run down and smell of mildew. The bathroom facilities are frightening. And in the morning? The continental breakfast was a box of mini powdered doughnuts.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dj_daddy_b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, VA
Level Contributor
134 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

This Knights Inn is an old Mom-n-Pop motel a few blocks west of downtown. It has two buildings built into a hillside. The lower level building in front seemed to be where overnight travelers are assigned, while the upper level building in back seemed to cater to longer term stays.

All parts of the grounds and rooms were clean and well maintained. The rooms were large. The furniture was comfortable. The only item in my room that wasn’t functioning properly was the bathroom sink faucet. The “sweet spot” to shut off the water wasn’t at the bottom of the handle, and it took some finessing to find the right spot to shut off the flow. Everything else worked fine. The wifi was consistent throughout my stay.

Check in and out was handled quickly and correctly by friendly staff members. Breakfast was a very basic collection of cereals and pastries, but it was fresh and adequate to start the day. The staff was knowledgeable about businesses in town, offering some good recommendations about restaurants and the locations of stores.

Overall, I enjoyed my visit and will return here if I’m ever in this part of the world again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeBHR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyattsville, Maryland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

Our room was very old and dirty. The carpets look like they have never been cleaned. The only fair thing about the room was the size. The staff are very nice and accommodating but that does not make up for the room condition.

Room Tip: Do not stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FLS2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Galax
2.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Galax
Hampton Inn Galax
#1 of 5 in Galax
4.5 of 5 stars 383 reviews
10.6 mi away
Red Roof Inn Hillsville
Red Roof Inn Hillsville
#7 of 8 in Hillsville
3.5 of 5 stars 59 reviews
10.3 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#1 of 8 in Hillsville
4.5 of 5 stars 353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 mi away
Quality Inn Hillsville
Quality Inn Hillsville
#6 of 8 in Hillsville
4.0 of 5 stars 115 reviews
15.3 mi away
Alleghany Inn
Alleghany Inn
#1 of 1 in Sparta
4.0 of 5 stars 78 reviews
21.0 mi away
Travelodge Wytheville
Travelodge Wytheville
#12 of 20 in Wytheville
4.0 of 5 stars 129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Knights Inn Galax? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knights Inn Galax

Property: Knights Inn Galax
Address: 312 W Stuart Dr, I-77 and Highway 58 - West, Galax, VA 24333-2734
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Galax
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Galax
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Knights Inn Galax 1.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Knights Inn Galax reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Galax Knights Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing