We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Nice quiet stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Knights Inn Galax

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Knights Inn Galax
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Galax
Mena, Arkansas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice quiet stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

Friendly front desk. This is an older motel, that has probably joined the Knights Inn group recently. Room clean, quiet and comfortable. We were going up Blue Ridge Parkway and drove over to spend night. We were able to park in front of room making it easy for unloading. One downer is that lighting in room is very dim and some of lights did not work.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank xenon12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    16
    15
    5
    8
See reviews for
17
19
12
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
La Crosse, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We spent a week at this hotel while participating in an annual event this year. Almost every month the wife and I spend 2 to 6 nights in hotels for business. We found the room to be larger than some of the better known chain hotels and it was clean. There was a microwave and refrigerator in the room. The WiFi connection and available TV channel selections were excellent.
The staff were friendly and very helpful. Even being near a main road it was quiet. There is no longer a pool, but we never use them. This hotel is rated at one star because it is dated, but it was better than most two star and some three star hotels we have stayed in. Great price and good beds. I plan on stay there again next year.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dennis R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

This is one of the most smelliest rooms we have been in in a very long time. It looks clean but the blanket on the beds were just too worn and nasty looking. We tried using air freshener but we just could not get rid of the musky smoky dirty scent. We would have done a lot better sleeping in our car. Next time we are in the area and there is no other hotels available, we will do just that and keep driving.

Room Tip: Not any here
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kandarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waynesboro
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

I booked in advance for a two bed room but the man at the desk didn't understand that, didn't apply it, it was a mess and cost me another $10 to get the room I had requested. When we finally got the room it was clean, just dated. We slept great and it was quiet on the hill. Just wish the reservation process had worked the way it was supposed to.

Room Tip: Don't book online.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cwebb47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freedom, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
61 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

If you are looking for a destination hotel this is not it. However, it is the best one star I have stayed in. Better than most 2 stars. It is a basic yet clean motel and great value for the price. It appears to be an older motel functionally upgraded. The information in the room states there is an outdoor pool but I did not check it out. Rooms are large and spacious. 2 beds, table and comfy chairs and still plenty of floor space for kids and pets. Bathroom was clean with some minor staining on the tile grout but not mold. Plenty of instant hot water. Beds are comfortable. No microwave, no fridge. The family that runs it is pleasant. There is free wi fi. It is located up the hill in the older section of town, but quiet and pleasantly breezy. There is a stone walkway that doubles as a covered porch with a chair you can sit outside your room and listen to the birds. Breakfast bar has coffee and cereal. The nicest part was the room smelled clean upon entry which was great. Also, there is plenty of lighting in the room and I have been to some "fancier" hotels were the room lighting was sorely lacking. If you need to stay here for business or just get some work done there is plenty of lighting and table space.Would stay here again even though it is a few miles off 77, but the drive through the farmland into the town was pleasant.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WPMOM09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Soke-on-Trent
Level Contributor
210 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Booked in advance to get the discount. Very quick check-in. Very nice room, clean and well-prepared.Wi-fi worked fine. There are a couple of nice diners within a few minutes driving distance. Gets my vote and would stay here again if the area.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank john461212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

I stayed here November 2012. I booked it online, so I didnt realize how far it actually was from 77. After a 30 minute drive and almost getting lost at night, I found the hotel. I was very suprised how nice it was for only being $32. It was quiet and very clean. I had just a single double bed, which was perfect. The bed was comfortable and the Wifi actually worked. Overall, I would definately stay again if I was passing through.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Coolchic1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob24333, Manager at Knights Inn Galax, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Thanks for posting your review! We offer clean & friendly service at a good value. We are located in the downtown historic area. I hope you had a chance to enjoy the local restaurants
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Galax
2.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Galax
Hampton Inn Galax
#1 of 5 in Galax
4.5 of 5 stars 385 reviews
10.6 mi away
Red Roof Inn Hillsville
Red Roof Inn Hillsville
#7 of 8 in Hillsville
3.5 of 5 stars 60 reviews
10.3 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#1 of 8 in Hillsville
4.5 of 5 stars 353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 mi away
Quality Inn Hillsville
Quality Inn Hillsville
#6 of 8 in Hillsville
4.0 of 5 stars 115 reviews
15.3 mi away
Alleghany Inn
Alleghany Inn
#1 of 1 in Sparta
4.0 of 5 stars 78 reviews
21.0 mi away
Travelodge Wytheville
Travelodge Wytheville
#12 of 20 in Wytheville
4.0 of 5 stars 132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Knights Inn Galax? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knights Inn Galax

Property: Knights Inn Galax
Address: 312 W Stuart Dr, I-77 and Highway 58 - West, Galax, VA 24333-2734
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Galax
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Galax
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Knights Inn Galax 1.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Hotwire, Priceline, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Knights Inn Galax reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Galax Knights Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing