We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Good Stay” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Knights Inn Galax

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Knights Inn Galax
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Galax
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good Stay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

I stayed here November 2012. I booked it online, so I didnt realize how far it actually was from 77. After a 30 minute drive and almost getting lost at night, I found the hotel. I was very suprised how nice it was for only being $32. It was quiet and very clean. I had just a single double bed, which was perfect. The bed was comfortable and the Wifi actually worked. Overall, I would definately stay again if I was passing through.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Coolchic1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob24333, Manager at Knights Inn Galax, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Thanks for posting your review! We offer clean & friendly service at a good value. We are located in the downtown historic area. I hope you had a chance to enjoy the local restaurants
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    19
    17
    5
    8
See reviews for
18
23
12
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
West Virginia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2012

Passing through for the evening we found the Knights Inn. Price was extremely cheap, to my surprise the room was clean and very quite. The bathroom was a little outdated (pink tile, pink tub, pink sink) but was clean. Staff was very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WVblast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob24333, Manager at Knights Inn Galax, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Thanks for posting your review! Glad to hear you enjoyed your visit with us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2012

hotel was nice and clean. Had a great customer service, everyone was so friendly.Hotel was fantastic and our room was very clean. Will defiantly stay here again. and also recommend to friends and family.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank leo j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grant
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2012

We were 3 adults & 2 children under 10, and we stayed in 2 rooms at this unassuming older property at the West end of Galax. Check in was efficient & friendly; the 2 rooms were very clean & large, bathrooms renovated within the past 2-3 yrs., and the beds were comfortable. We did not experience any of the horror stories normally associated with Mom & Pop operations such as this. There are numerous restaurants within a 5 minute drive; a WALMART about 10 minutes away, and an Oriental buffet within walking distance. We opted for food from the WALMART, which we heated up in the microwave, and kept the leftovers for the car in the small fridge (both lifesavers!). No coffee service, except for the morning Continental breakfast, consisting of juice, toast, coffee & donuts. Enough to hit the road with until lunchtime. We were pleased with the price, as well as with the lack of noise, since the motel is located about 10 miles West of the main N/S Highway. All contact with front desk & other employees (all family?) was pleasant. We would stay there again. Driving tip: DO NOT try to take a shrtcut back to the main Hwy if traveling south!!! - Unless you want to experience a 30 minute drive through some very narrow, winding roads? in the mountains. Just head back the same way you came into town.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Herc_DriverGrant_FL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatlinburg, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2012

My family and I planned a small trip to galax this fall. As we entered galax we saw the knights inn looking like Hollywood! It was fantastic...... Until we entered the room! It was a disaster! The floors had crumbs and fecies all over it. The bed was cigerette paradise! The tv was mot bolted down and would of fell on my Uncle James but it wouldnt of hurt any way. It was too tiny. The breakfast was doughy nuts and a carton of milk? What is that? Come on they filled in the pool and my son tried to jump in and almost busted his head!!! Ohh and dont use the bathroom! Ours didnt flush so we had to stay in our own filth for 2 days! Overall it sucked and i would reccommend nobdy to go there unless you like sitting in filth. Stuller Simpson july,5 1955. RIP Sam.

Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Stuller S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wheeling, West Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2012

This place was everything I needed. No frills but a cheap clean place to sleep!

No there wasn't a coffeemaker or blow dryer, but there was a refrigerator and microwave which are actually more useful!

Continental breakfast was laughable with cereal and a bag of Hostess donuts but for $37 a night I didn't expect a full course meal.

Don't expect to be pampered. This is a clean room for a great price and that is it, but isn't that really what you need? I will definitely stay here the next time I am in the area.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tammy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob24333, Manager at Knights Inn Galax, responded to this review, May 2, 2012
Thanks for your review! We are working to provide great service & clean rooms. We hope to see you again on your next visit to the area
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, NY
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2012

We found this motel on the Internet with a terrific write up and a "pay now" price of $33 a night. Since we were driving to FL and just needed a place to sleep this sounded perfect. The address on the web was in Hillsville, VA. We knew from past experience that all the major chain hotels at the interstate exit are more tha double that price. First problem: the GPS took us to the address in Hillsville...no hotel. After stopping to ask about the location at another hotel and calling the Knights Inn we were told it is in Galax, 13 miles back. The room was clean and adequate, had micro and fridge, small bed. When we went for the breakfast the next morning it was a joke...2 boxes of cereal and a bag of small donuts. We went to McD's. Won't stop here again!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Spiritmover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Galax
2.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Galax
Hampton Inn Galax
#1 of 5 in Galax
4.5 of 5 bubbles 427 reviews
10.3 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#1 of 8 in Hillsville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
10.2 mi away
Motel 6 Hillsville
Motel 6 Hillsville
#4 of 8 in Hillsville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 mi away
Quality Inn Hillsville
Quality Inn Hillsville
#6 of 8 in Hillsville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
21.0 mi away
Travelodge Wytheville
Travelodge Wytheville
#12 of 20 in Wytheville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
15.3 mi away
Alleghany Inn
Alleghany Inn
#1 of 1 in Sparta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Knights Inn Galax? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knights Inn Galax

Property: Knights Inn Galax
Address: 312 W Stuart Dr, I-77 and Highway 58 - West, Galax, VA 24333-2734
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Galax
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Galax
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Knights Inn Galax 1.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Knights Inn Galax reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Galax Knights Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing