We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Quiet, Small & Inexpensive!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Knights Inn Galax

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Knights Inn Galax
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Galax
Grant
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Quiet, Small & Inexpensive!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2012

We were 3 adults & 2 children under 10, and we stayed in 2 rooms at this unassuming older property at the West end of Galax. Check in was efficient & friendly; the 2 rooms were very clean & large, bathrooms renovated within the past 2-3 yrs., and the beds were comfortable. We did not experience any of the horror stories normally associated with Mom & Pop operations such as this. There are numerous restaurants within a 5 minute drive; a WALMART about 10 minutes away, and an Oriental buffet within walking distance. We opted for food from the WALMART, which we heated up in the microwave, and kept the leftovers for the car in the small fridge (both lifesavers!). No coffee service, except for the morning Continental breakfast, consisting of juice, toast, coffee & donuts. Enough to hit the road with until lunchtime. We were pleased with the price, as well as with the lack of noise, since the motel is located about 10 miles West of the main N/S Highway. All contact with front desk & other employees (all family?) was pleasant. We would stay there again. Driving tip: DO NOT try to take a shrtcut back to the main Hwy if traveling south!!! - Unless you want to experience a 30 minute drive through some very narrow, winding roads? in the mountains. Just head back the same way you came into town.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Herc_DriverGrant_FL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    19
    17
    5
    8
See reviews for
18
23
12
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gatlinburg, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2012

My family and I planned a small trip to galax this fall. As we entered galax we saw the knights inn looking like Hollywood! It was fantastic...... Until we entered the room! It was a disaster! The floors had crumbs and fecies all over it. The bed was cigerette paradise! The tv was mot bolted down and would of fell on my Uncle James but it wouldnt of hurt any way. It was too tiny. The breakfast was doughy nuts and a carton of milk? What is that? Come on they filled in the pool and my son tried to jump in and almost busted his head!!! Ohh and dont use the bathroom! Ours didnt flush so we had to stay in our own filth for 2 days! Overall it sucked and i would reccommend nobdy to go there unless you like sitting in filth. Stuller Simpson july,5 1955. RIP Sam.

Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Stuller S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wheeling, West Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2012

This place was everything I needed. No frills but a cheap clean place to sleep!

No there wasn't a coffeemaker or blow dryer, but there was a refrigerator and microwave which are actually more useful!

Continental breakfast was laughable with cereal and a bag of Hostess donuts but for $37 a night I didn't expect a full course meal.

Don't expect to be pampered. This is a clean room for a great price and that is it, but isn't that really what you need? I will definitely stay here the next time I am in the area.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tammy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob24333, Manager at Knights Inn Galax, responded to this review, May 2, 2012
Thanks for your review! We are working to provide great service & clean rooms. We hope to see you again on your next visit to the area
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, NY
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2012

We found this motel on the Internet with a terrific write up and a "pay now" price of $33 a night. Since we were driving to FL and just needed a place to sleep this sounded perfect. The address on the web was in Hillsville, VA. We knew from past experience that all the major chain hotels at the interstate exit are more tha double that price. First problem: the GPS took us to the address in Hillsville...no hotel. After stopping to ask about the location at another hotel and calling the Knights Inn we were told it is in Galax, 13 miles back. The room was clean and adequate, had micro and fridge, small bed. When we went for the breakfast the next morning it was a joke...2 boxes of cereal and a bag of small donuts. We went to McD's. Won't stop here again!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Spiritmover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staunton, VA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2012

I really appreciate this hotel. It's the second time that I've stayed there, & both times it has been clean and comfortable for a wonderfully-low price. Now, I've stayed in quite a few low-cost hotels that have been absolute dumps--this Knights Inn is NOT like that at all. Everything was clean, from the sheets to the bathroom to the 'fridge. The bed was comfy. The heat worked and could be adjusted. The TV was new & had a broad range of channels. In other words, this hotel has all the bases covered. It is in no way a fancy hotel -- it's an older building and parts of it look a little run down, but the rooms themselves are great. If you want mini-shampoo bottles and a substantial continental breakfast and brand-new everything, be prepared to pay *a lot* more & to stay 20 minutes away from Galax out by the interstate. For the price, this hotel is terrific. I will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank virginialuv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob24333, Manager at Knights Inn Galax, responded to this review, May 2, 2012
Thanks for taking the time to post your review! We are working every day to make sure you enjoy your stay with us. We hope to see you again on your next visit to the area
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morehead City, North Carolina
Level Contributor
98 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2011

We stayed overnight in this hotel during a car trip we took down the Blue Ridge Parkway. The hotel overlooks the tiny town below. Our GPS took us into the middle of nowhere. I called the hotel at 12:00 am and the night clerk gave me directions turn by turn. Check in was smooth. Parking is convenient.

The beds were comfortable and the room was large and dated. The price is awesome. The room has a mini fridge and microwave. The staff is very friendly.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone who loves a bargain and doesn’t have to have all of the frills. It appears to be a family owned and operated business. I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mkennedy38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mims, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2011

The hotel clerk asked for my drivers license and then scanned it into the computer with no reason offered for why he needed it. I had reserved a room with a King bed but was given a double and told that my reservation through Expedia could not be honored as they were overbooked, even thought I booked through the Knights Inn website. Beyond all of that, the room was clean but very dated. The beds are very hard. Although the hotel accepts pets, there is no place to walk your dog other than a 3 foot strip of grass off the parking lot.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LeisureTraveler32754
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Galax
2.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Galax
Hampton Inn Galax
#1 of 5 in Galax
4.5 of 5 bubbles 429 reviews
10.3 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#1 of 8 in Hillsville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
10.2 mi away
Motel 6 Hillsville
Motel 6 Hillsville
#4 of 8 in Hillsville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 mi away
Quality Inn Hillsville
Quality Inn Hillsville
#6 of 8 in Hillsville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
21.0 mi away
Travelodge Wytheville
Travelodge Wytheville
#12 of 20 in Wytheville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
15.3 mi away
Alleghany Inn
Alleghany Inn
#1 of 1 in Sparta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Knights Inn Galax? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knights Inn Galax

Property: Knights Inn Galax
Address: 312 W Stuart Dr, I-77 and Highway 58 - West, Galax, VA 24333-2734
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Galax
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Galax
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Knights Inn Galax 1.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Knights Inn Galax reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Galax Knights Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing