We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Challenging course” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Stonewall Golf Club

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Stonewall Golf Club
Attraction details
Warrenton, Virginia
Level Contributor
182 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Challenging course”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

Stonewall is one of the more expensive courses in the area so we do not play there often but it is probably the most challenging that I have played in the Gainesville area. The course is difficult with bunkers, water hazards and other impediments. If you do not mind the cost (compared to Virginia Oaks, Prince William GC, Bristow Manor) give this one a try.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank yellowstone1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    6
    1
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Northern VA
Level Contributor
166 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Excellent Course You'll Not Regret Playing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

This course feels almost as nice as the RTJ course across the Lake. It's very challenging, but not too so. I'm a golf nut and have played tons of courses in VA and this certainly is in the top-5. The staff makes it a point to be exceptionally friendly and respectful and when you pay country club prices, this is appreciated!!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Virginia59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aldie, Virginia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Erika Larkin is a wonderful patient instructor”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2012

I've played a bit of the course through lessons, but this review is about the quality of lessons (2 years running) with Erika Larkin. She sent videos of my swing, was very patient (last year I was nursing a replaced ankle all summer) and keeps the instruction simple and effective. Lessons were truly helpful and not stressful.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Getagrip57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristow, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“One of the best courses I have ever played”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2012

Perfect greens and very fast. Beautiful layout and design with scenic lake views.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank fr0mtheh0rsesm0uth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington D.C.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good novice course”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2012

Visited with my husband who golfs there very often. I'm a novice, but I really enjoyed the experience.

Helpful?
2 Thank Katydid01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stonewall Golf Club also viewed

Gainesville, Prince William County
Gainesville, Prince William County
 
Gainesville, Prince William County
Gainesville, Prince William County
 

Been to Stonewall Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing