We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's Like Going Home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Killahevlin

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Front Royal
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Killahevlin
Save
You added Killahevlin to your Saves list
1401 N Royal Ave, Front Royal, VA 22630   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 12 Front Royal B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Ellicott City, Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“It's Like Going Home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2010

Innkeepers Tom and Cathy are very accommodating and caring.
They provide a comfortable and relaxing experience while respecting
your privacy.
We and our friends have enjoyed staying here twice yearly and have
been doing this for many years.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank evelyn077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Manassas, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2010

The best way to enjoy your anniversary or special occasion. Accommodations, food and service top shelf. Tom and Kathy are great folks.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PottyPots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2010

Killahevlin is in a good location for visiting the Skyline drive, and Tom was a gracious host.The public rooms were cluttered and tired, the porch needed sweeping, and the cat litter tray certainly needed cleaning. The food was good and plentiful and the help yourself wine and beer was a nice touch. However overall it was overpriced.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FP8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Killahevlin, Owner at Killahevlin, responded to this review, October 22, 2010
It's said that the person who is good at making excuses is rately good at anything else. October is our very busiest month and sometimes the fine points get away from us. The rooms are ALWAYS clean, but sometimes the menues in the pub don't get put away as soon as we would like. The porch gets swept at least weekly, but it gets windy here on the hill and sometimes it needs attention before we can get to it.

We're very sorry that this reviewer didn't enjoy their stay and we'll make a renewed effort to keep things tidy and make sure that the litter box (that is well away from the public areas) doesn't intrude.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2010

My wife and i were accompanied by our daughter and her husband. Killahevlin far exceeded our expectations. The rooms are spacious and furnished in a very comfortable and attractive manner. Tom, the "inn keeper" was always available for conversation, advice on what to do and see, where to eat/shop etc. An elegant breakfast was served in a lovely dining room. There is a small bar with beer on tap and wine for the pleasure of guests. The complete experience was wonderful. We could not have asked for more!!

Peter Junghans

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pjunghans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowie, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2010

Killahelvin went way beyond my expectations and the website photos don't do the place justice. Pulling up the windy driveway and seeing the magnificent green landscaping immediately makes one spellbound and buy into the whole experience. It seems like a place where a writer would complete some great masterpiece or something like that. The room was very comfy (the green room with the jacuzzi) complete with fireplace and a sherry nightcap. Tom and Kathy are very hospitable and gracious hosts (along with their precious cat Henry) and the breakfast was fantastic (I recommend the baked apple and french toast dish)! We will definitely return as this is an ideal place to create nice memories.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rahsriv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellicott City, Maryland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2010

A wonderful stay in the Tower suite. Great views from the balconies and bath. Up before breakfast but carafe of coffee and cups available to enjoy on the balcony for early risers. Great suggestion for dinner from Tom ( Apt. 2G ). Breakfast on both days was a culinary delight.. Draft harp in the Pub room ( as well as wine) ,Sherry in the room, makes for a nice touch.
Several nice wineries and Skyline Drive all added up to a great getaway, we will be going again.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bookbinder52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorktown, Virginia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2010

Great experience starting with driving up the driveway onto the gorgeous grounds. Hosts are very freindly and full of good information on what to do and where to eat. Blue Room was very large with a huge porch to watch the sunset over the mountains. Bathroom had an enormous spa tub/hottub that could fit two couples, not just two people. Breakfast was made to order; I did not eat what was on the menu either day but everythign I ordered was excellent.

However, the best thing about Killahevlin was the pub inside the B&B. Being Scotch Irish I hope you can understand. Tom provides a complimentary pub to his guests featuring Harp Lager on tap, and Guisness and Smithwicks in bottle plus wine and soft drinks - all COMPLIMENTARY. Don't know how they can afford it but they do and we will be back. Go there - you will love it.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bmag99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Front Royal
3.5 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Front Royal
Hampton Inn Front Royal
#2 of 9 in Front Royal
4.5 of 5 stars 567 reviews
1.5 mi away
Quality Inn Skyline Drive
Quality Inn Skyline Drive
#4 of 9 in Front Royal
3.0 of 5 stars 225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.3 mi away
The George Washington A Wyndham Grand Hotel
12.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Winchester
7.9 mi away
Wayside Inn
Wayside Inn
#1 of 3 in Middletown
4.5 of 5 stars 32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Killahevlin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Killahevlin

Address: 1401 N Royal Ave, Front Royal, VA 22630
Location: United States > Virginia > Front Royal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Front Royal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Killahevlin is a circa 1905 mansion listed on the National Register of Historic Buildings. We enjoy views of the mountains from all of our rooms. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing