We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A-OK”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Motel 6 Front Royal, Va
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Front Royal
Reviewed November 27, 2010

Reasonable for the price which is low . Aged and somewhat worn. but still worth the 4 day stay . Clean . Continenal breakfast in a workshed environment but still yumy .. Comfortable beds , lots of hot water , small kitchenette small tv , good wifi .. would go back

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Deadfreds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (80)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

66 - 72 of 80 reviews

Reviewed October 4, 2010

I did some research on trying to find a motorcycle-friendly motel in Front Royal. It was hard to really find much on any sites, but somehow I found a commentary that the bike could be parked right outside the window. The rest of the place sounded OK.

I was a little put off about the exterior appearance. Didn't look wonderful, but then again, there are many similar places in Front Royal. Once I checked into a first-floor room (bike outside), I found that while it was a pretty plain room, everything was clean, and there were a few amenities, including small refrigerator, small microwave, HBO on on the TV, and very fast free WiFi (12KB D/L...I tested it). Bathroom was bare bones, but very clean, with enough towels for me. in my room there was a ceiling fan, and a controllable heating/AC unit.

There is a pool, but it was not open. Free breakfast was a little spartan, but there was enough there for me to not need to stop by McDonald's later.

Price seemed OK ($65/night plus 11% tax).

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ExGMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2010

As we wanted to visit both the skyline drive and Washington DC for a couple of days we looked at hotels in the area. As we also needed to look at the price this hotel turned up as our best choice at Tripadvisor. Although the hotel looks some older, the rooms were nice, clean and comfertable. We could have stayed at nationwide known hotels (best Western, holiday inn express, etc) but then we would have paid two times more. The motel is close to a lot of good restaurants (mexican, chinese, grill, etc) and all kind of shops are just a mile away.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ingequincy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2010

The motel is in a good location and the exterior, lobby and pool were all nice but the rooms are really shabby. We are not high maintance people at ALL when it comes to hotels but the carpet was filthy and there was a cigarette hole burned into the pillow case. It was definitely one of the worst hotels I've stayed at in a long time which was pretty surprising considering all the postive reviews online.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank batmankaren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2010

Stayed with my family and grand kids, needed a clean and reasonable place to stay
near Shenandoah State Park checked prices at well known hotels and motels and
also not so well known motels prices were outrageous at popular hotels and motels even with AAA discount, and local motels were not very clean and secure even though prices were lower.
But Cool Harbor Motel was the best place we found at the last minute. they were very friendly especially grandma. newly remodeled, beautiful garden and picnic area with
volleyball net and nice surroundings free continental breakfast, also available washer and drier by breakfast room. I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank orpol_1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2010

Just stayed over this past weekend with my husband, and the rooms were fairly standard (no frills), but clean and the service was very friendly. Had to ask for towels several times and they were very accomodating. Continential breakfast is no buffet, but for what we paid for the rooms I certainly have no complaints. Internet was available and worked fine.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DownSouth8899
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2009

My family and I stayed for a weekend in September, and we had a great time. Met the owner who was very nice, and who told us rooms have been remodeled since Feb 2009 which would explain the mixed reviews I've seen. I would highly recommend this place to people who are looking for a simple, clean, place for a terrific price!

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ravensfan22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Front Royal
1.5 mi away
Quality Inn Skyline Drive
Quality Inn Skyline Drive
#3 of 10 in Front Royal
330 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Front Royal
Hampton Inn Front Royal
#1 of 10 in Front Royal
875 reviews
1.8 mi away
Royal Inn Motel
Royal Inn Motel
#5 of 10 in Front Royal
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Relax Inn Front Royal
Relax Inn Front Royal
#6 of 10 in Front Royal
8 reviews
3.6 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows
9.0 mi away
Ramada Strasburg
Ramada Strasburg
#2 of 5 in Strasburg
605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Front Royal, Va? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Front Royal, Va

Address: 141 West 15th St, Front Royal, VA 22630 (Formerly Cool Harbor Motel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Front Royal
Amenities:
Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Front Royal
Price Range: $61 - $73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Front Royal, Va 2*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Motel-6, Expedia, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Motel 6 Front Royal, Va reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cool Harbor Hotel Front Royal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing