We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very personable owners. Try the shrimp!”
Review of Blue Wing Frog

Blue Wing Frog
Ranked #3 of 99 Restaurants in Front Royal
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $30
Description: Casual, eclectic and fun menu. Brunch on Sundays, picnics, take-out or dine-in lunch or dinner. Hearty meat dishes but vegetarian/vegan friendly with lots of entree options for the latter. Gluten free options available as well
Restaurant details
Description: Casual, eclectic and fun menu. Brunch on Sundays, picnics, take-out or dine-in lunch or dinner. Hearty meat dishes but vegetarian/vegan friendly with lots of entree options for the latter. Gluten free options available as well
Reviewed July 27, 2018

Quality food in relaxed setting. Outdoor patio with umbrellas was perfect to relax. Dog water bowl present. Will stop by again. Location is within the town.

Thank Great-latitude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (291)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

18 - 22 of 291 reviews

Reviewed July 17, 2018

After spending 10 hours in a car this restaurant was a fun relaxing place to settle for dinner. The atmosphere is casual but the food is unique and well prepared. The staff was quite pleasant as well as efficient and fun by the end of our dinner, we felt like part of the family. I would eat here again in a heartbeat.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Pamela G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2018 via mobile

The food was good. But the service was ridiculous. We walked in and wandered through the dining room because there was no sign indicating what we should do (it is seat yourself so we guessed correctly). The waitress (maybe owner?) brought us menus piecemeal, advised where we could serve ourselves water, and indicated we needed to order at the counter. She swung by a few minutes later to talk about the menu and belittle our two tweens (she seemed to assume they wouldn’t want anything on the ‘excruciatingly unique’ menu (sarcasm, my kids have seen apples on grilled cheese before). Food was served in a reasonable amount of time. But we had to go back to the counter to pay after we ate. We won’t be visiting again.

Thank Raine K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueWingFrog, Owner at Blue Wing Frog, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2018

I am sorry that you felt like an invitation to your kids that "if they didn't see something they liked on our somewhat unique menu to tell us what they did want and we would make it" was somehow belittling. Nothing could be further from the truth. I hope that they enjoyed their sandwiches
I am sorry that we didn't see you immediately when you walked through the door to greet you. THAT, it would seem, would have solved most of your complaints here. I can only fault myself and deeply apologize for that momentary lapse.

We most definitely do things a little different here. Service is laid back and casual - hybrid left over from the days when we were solely a take out restaurant. Most find it charming. You didn't. We're ok with that.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2018

Even without the largest picnic table in the world (well, at least in North America), the attraction to this trendy little out of the way restaurant is strong. Excellent food, happy atmosphere, food made with warmth and love. They'll even prepare and pack you a picnic lunch if you're headed into the Shenandoah National Park. This place is a gem.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank misterestes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2018 via mobile

Saw this on trip advisor so we'd give it a try. A hidden little lace in Front Royal. Ok first thing don't know what was going on but it was OMG slow. It seriously took an hour to get our food. Everything a little backwards. You get a menu, find a table, look over the menu and then go to the counter and order. Water and tea is self serve, they have some local home brews and a small bar for mixed drinks. We waited so long for the food we were ready to walk out and I said i don't cadre how good it is there is no excuse for being this slow. I ordered the shrimp tacos and the wife had death by pork with egg. The taco ingredients come on a plate with tortillas in the side. There's seasoned shrimp and 4 cups of different ingredients and colors. The cup with the least amount and red is the hot sauce. There's red cabbage in a sauce, s greenish gaucomole type sauce and a mango type salsa. Ok, i pout them all together and took a bite. There was a taste of seasoning, a sweet taste, the zing from the hot sauce and the cooling of the mango salsa. I was upset because it took so long but damn this was good stuff. It was like a party of taste in my mouth. Everything came together amazingly. The death by pork sandwich was a slice of pork stuff with sausage and topped with a egg over easy. Not much else to describe, i took a bit and it to was very good for the taste buds. The portions were generous, the food and ingredients are as fresh as it gets, all locally grown and raised. It did appear to be a little pricey but i will overlook that for really good and fresh food. It was a different place, a little eclectic but very nice relaxing plain no nonsense setting. I do recommend giving it a try but don't be in a rush unless there was just something going wrong on this day. If you're used to a certain type of beer i.e Michelob ultra you're out of luck. All local pale ales, the one we tried was not to our liking. If give 5 stars except for the long wait for food.

Thank Mike T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Blue Wing Frog? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing