We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hated this hotel” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampton Inn Front Royal

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hampton Inn Front Royal
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Front Royal
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Hated this hotel”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

I am a Hilton Honors gold member and have the opportunity to stay at a lot of Hampton Inns. This is by far one of the worst that I have stayed in. I paid for a king suite which had CONSTANT noise all night from the elevator and what sounded like an ice maker. I found the front desk help to be rude. In fact the girl at the front desk was more interested in talking to a friend that came in to say hello, than helping me and my daughter with our questions about the hotel. The furniture in the room was beat up and stained. Forget about breakfast, you couldn't find a seat anywhere. Definitely the worst Hilton property I have stayed at. Definitely will not return.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 24242424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ftryl, General Manager at Hampton Inn Front Royal, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Dear 24

I personally apologize that you had a bad experience at our Hotel and I thank you for the information so changes can be made to make the next stay better. Please come visit us again soon and I assure you it will be great or it's one night on us.

Hope to see you soon

Lisa Hogan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

758 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    392
    245
    79
    24
    18
See reviews for
251
274
45
100
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

I stay at this hotel often. The rooms are spacious and clean, but nothing fancy. The free breakfast is adequate, but the eggs are *always* overlooked and dried out.

The shining stars are the staff. They are exceptional. They remember me, greet me by name, always are friendly, and always go the extra mile. All of them. All the time. They are really extraordinary. I tried the holiday inn down the road, and they have a full service restaurant and fancier rooms and facilities, but the staff could not come close in terms of family atmosphere, making me feel welcome, or professionalism.

Chris J
Waterbury, CT

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KrispyJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ftryl, General Manager at Hampton Inn Front Royal, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Thanks Krispy J

We appreciate the kind words and hope to have you stay at Hampton again soon.

Lisa Hogan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

Nice clean facility, friendly staff. Wish pool was warmer. Good breakfast. Other Hampton inns have many more channels to choose from. Modern rooms. Jacuzzi tub was clean and relaxing. Decent location although parking is kind of tight. Overall nice place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank itsallmmmkay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ftryl, General Manager at Hampton Inn Front Royal, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Dear ITsallmmmmkay

Thanks for staying at Hampton Front Royal. Glad you enjoyed our whirl pool rooms
Come back and visit again soon.

Lisa hogan
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GLENDALE, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

I give this hotel an A+ for excellent service and cooking!! This hotel is close to US 66 and US 81. Be sure to check out the Bell Grove Plantation. It is well worth the $. It is a fascinating visit. Downtown Front Royal is also a great place to shop for antiques and what-not. Be sure to visit the Stokes General Store, lots and lots of deals there.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Keith M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ftryl, General Manager at Hampton Inn Front Royal, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Dear keith

Thanks for staying with us. I agree Stokes is great.
Hope to see you again soon.

Lisa Hogan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

We stayed here on our way out of Shenandoah and it's very convenient for the road and clean. The room was a little on the small side for getting all 5 of us in, but we were only there one night. The kids loved the pool. There's a McDonalds right next door, but we went into town for dinner, which didn't take long. The breakfast was great. No complaints.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CavMcDs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ftryl, General Manager at Hampton Inn Front Royal, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Dear CavMCd

Thanks for choosing Hampton. Glad you had a great time and enjoyed our breakfast.
Come back and see us again soon

Lisa Hogan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
120 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

Good location close to the interstate, but a few miles from restaurants in Front Royal. Clean, comfortable rooms. Friendly, helpful staff. We had not used Hampton Inns before and as we had booked several on this trip it was good to start off well.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wcraft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ftryl, Manager at Hampton Inn Front Royal, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Dear W craft

Thanks for staying at Hampton. So glad you enjoyed your stay.
We love having you here


Lisa Hogan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bude, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
119 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

We have stayed here several times and always found the staff very friendly and helpful we awere given a room this time in the new part of the hotel as it has greatly extended. We had a nice view of the green hills out of our window and enjoyed our stay. Ideal for Shenandoah National Park visits which we did on our last day. Front Royal also has expanded somewhat since we first stayed there and now has a new Mall area with an Applebees and Cracker Barrel amongst many others drive thru Starbucks, banks, Target, Lowes and a lot more all within 5 minutes of the hotel.
An easy journey back to Washing Dulles airport to return home. We really like it here.

Room Tip: ask for a room facing the lovely green hill to the left of the front entrance then you will at least...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank carolynkernow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ftryl, General Manager at Hampton Inn Front Royal, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Dear Carloyn

Thanks for chossing Hampton Front Royal. Your right this area sure has grown.
Come back and visit again soon

Lisa hogan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Front Royal
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows
11.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Winchester
3.1 mi away
Quality Inn Skyline Drive
Quality Inn Skyline Drive
#7 of 9 in Front Royal
3.0 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Strasburg Shenandoah Valley
19.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Woodstock
6.6 mi away
Wayside Inn
Wayside Inn
#1 of 3 in Middletown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Front Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Front Royal

Property: Hampton Inn Front Royal
Address: 9800 Winchester Rd, Front Royal, VA 22630-7103
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Front Royal
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Front Royal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Front Royal 2.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We're mindful of the little things - those handy amenities and thoughtful extras - that turn an ordinary hotel stay into an extraordinary one. Below are a few personal touches we hope you'll enjoy during your time with us. Hampton Suite Shop Breakfast Area, Complimentary Coin Laundry, Elevators, Laundry/Valet Service, Local Area Transportation, Multi-Lingual Staff, Room Service, Safety Deposit Box, On Site Parking. Work hard, then play hard. Our friendly Hampton team members would like to help you do both. Here are a few things our hotel offers that can help you get your job done: Audio/Visual Equipment Rental, Business Center, Business Phone Service, Fax, Meeting Rooms. Whatever the reason for your visit, we hope you'll enjoy these fun ways to relax and keep in shape. Fitness Room, Pool. Are you bringing the kids along on your trip? We've got you covered. Below are a few things we offer to please the entire family: Cribs, High chairs. Come enjoy the Shenandoah Valley and its beauty and stay at Hampton Inn Front Royal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your Hampton Inn Front Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Front Royal Hotel Front Royal
Front Royal Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing