We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“It's all good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Front Royal

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hampton Inn Front Royal
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Front Royal
Certificate of Excellence
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“It's all good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Breakfast wasn't anything to stand up and applaud for taste wise, but variety was okay. I'm happy they didn't try to promote diet yogurt and actually offered a selection. I like that they always have the coffee and hot water for tea available as well. Beds were comfortable, rooms were clean...overall a nice experience.

Room Tip: We were on the bottom floor this time. Better cell access on the top floors!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ASLReBecca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ftryl, General Manager at Hampton Inn Front Royal, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for the review and kind words. We are happy you enjoyed our property. Hotel is continously working on projects to improve the hotel. Hope you have you stay with us again.

Lisa Hogan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

673 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    346
    218
    71
    22
    16
See reviews for
223
242
40
85
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

This place was a great stop along the way to DC, and certainly one of the better options in Front Royal. I had a room on the lower level with a whirlpool. Overall, *very* slightly less well maintained than other Hampton Inns I've stayed in, but overall very good and a good deal for this area.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Quentin1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ftryl, General Manager at Hampton Inn Front Royal, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for the review and kind words. We are happy you enjoyed our property. Hotel is continously working on projects to improve the hotel. Hope you have you stay with us again.

Lisa Hogan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Front Royal, Virginia, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

A really good stay,help was very nice,room immaculate,beds very soft,pillows fluffy! The front desk was very helpful and the morning breakfast service was great! The Night Manager was very smart in directing us to a great cab service YELLOW CAB,they came right away and the cabs were very clean and nice.We would certainly tell all our friends to stay at this Hotel.Bring your bathing suits as the Hotel has a great indoor pool that was very clean and safe.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ftryl, General Manager at Hampton Inn Front Royal, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for the review and kind words. We are happy you enjoyed our property. Hope you have you stay with us again.

Lisa Hogan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

One of favorite stops as we travel from NC to NY. Always clean and quiet and the staff is great! Nice easy access off route 66
Usually much cheaper than other places on the way to DC. Neat town with lots of good places to eat with reasonable prices.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Howardlew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ftryl, General Manager at Hampton Inn Front Royal, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for the review and kind words. We are happy you enjoyed our property. Hope you have you stay with us again.

Lisa Hogan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, North Carolina
Level Contributor
163 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

This was our first time staying at a Hampton Inn hotel. Our family stayed here for 3 nights and the hotel exceeded our expectations. The staff was super friendly and accomidating to whatever we needed. The rooms are very big and include a small refrigerator and microwave oven. The free breakfest is much more then what most hotels typically offer. They had eggs, sausage or bacon, waffles, pastry, bagels, muffins, toast, cereal, oatmeal with toppings, assorted fruit, fruit salad and yogurt. If you have no time for breakfest they make to go bags. Breakfest is from 6 to 10 a.m. Try to make it before 9 though becase after 9 it appeared they stopped replenishing. The lobby has coffee, tea and hot chocolate around the clock with a fruit basket. They also offer a small snack bar at very reasonable rates. The hotel is very close to Walmart and restaurants. My only complaint is they do not offer pay-per-view movies but they do have HBO.

Room Tip: Ask for a room close to the elevators. The elevators are centrally located and the hallways are long...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cape_May_Family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ftryl, General Manager at Hampton Inn Front Royal, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for the review and kind words. We are happy you enjoyed our property. Hope you have you stay with us again.

Lisa Hogan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elizabethtown nc
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

you can not find a better staff or a nicer facility in this class of hotel.
quick check in, friendly staff, housekeeping does a great job, the breakfast (although generic) is above average and served in nice setting, clean, with very helpful staff (not like some places that stick everything in a corner with frozen, microwavable items). I work in the area and stay here couple times a month and always feel I get great service and quality.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank plarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ftryl, General Manager at Hampton Inn Front Royal, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for the review and kind words. We are happy you enjoyed our property. Hope you have you stay with us again.

Lisa Hogan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleroi, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
53 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

I picked this hotel for its location near Skyline Drive, but found it to be a pleasent surprise. The beds were very comfortable, the staff waas pleasent and aminable. The rooms were clean and had I remembered they had a pool, I would have brought my trunks. The only downer was that the breakfast was very generic. Eggs looked like they were made from powder. No meat (ham or sausage) was offered. Biskets were served but no gravy to go with them. Disapointing! Other than that I was pleased. I will stay here again!

Room Tip: We had a room on the Lower level and it was verrrry quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ftryl, General Manager at Hampton Inn Front Royal, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for the review and kind words. We are happy you enjoyed our property. Hope you have you stay with us again.

Lisa Hogan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Front Royal
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows
3.1 mi away
Quality Inn Skyline Drive
Quality Inn Skyline Drive
#7 of 9 in Front Royal
3.0 of 5 stars 247 reviews
11.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Winchester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Strasburg Shenandoah Valley
19.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Woodstock
6.6 mi away
Wayside Inn
Wayside Inn
#1 of 3 in Middletown
4.5 of 5 stars 50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Front Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Front Royal

Property: Hampton Inn Front Royal
Address: 9800 Winchester Rd, Front Royal, VA 22630-7103
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Front Royal
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Front Royal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Front Royal 2.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We're mindful of the little things - those handy amenities and thoughtful extras - that turn an ordinary hotel stay into an extraordinary one. Below are a few personal touches we hope you'll enjoy during your time with us. Hampton Suite Shop Breakfast Area, Complimentary Coin Laundry, Elevators, Laundry/Valet Service, Local Area Transportation, Multi-Lingual Staff, Room Service, Safety Deposit Box, On Site Parking. Work hard, then play hard. Our friendly Hampton team members would like to help you do both. Here are a few things our hotel offers that can help you get your job done: Audio/Visual Equipment Rental, Business Center, Business Phone Service, Fax, Meeting Rooms. Whatever the reason for your visit, we hope you'll enjoy these fun ways to relax and keep in shape. Fitness Room, Pool. Are you bringing the kids along on your trip? We've got you covered. Below are a few things we offer to please the entire family: Cribs, High chairs. Come enjoy the Shenandoah Valley and its beauty and stay at Hampton Inn Front Royal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Odigeo and Orbitz so you can book your Hampton Inn Front Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Front Royal Hotel Front Royal
Front Royal Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing