We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, Internet is very slow”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn Front Royal
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Front Royal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 24, 2012

The room itself was nice and clean except behind the curtains. We had the room with a hot tub and it was very big which was unexpected. The bed did seem to dip a little in the middle but was comfortable. We were on the road side and the road noise wasn't too bad, we kept the fan on the A/C running for white noise though which helped. It is only minutes from downtown which was nice. We were on the 3rd floor and could smell smoke from the 4th floor periodically. Perhaps it was because we were next to the stairs. The free breakfast was good as well as the free coffee.

The internet was really slow. I had my laptop, my wife's laptop and an IPAD and the wifi signal was strong but downloading pages was slow most of the time, whether in the room or at the breakfast area. We tried to watch a movie on Netflix but the quality was low and it stopped several times to buffer which took several minutes each time so we stopped watching it. Connecting it to the physical wire didn't help and it said I was connnected at 100 Mbps. I also tried watching the end of a game on ESPN3.com while connected and it was unbearable. I wasn't there for the internet but it would have been nice to have a better connection when I did want it.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank C D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ftryl, General Manager at Hampton Inn Front Royal, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2012

Dear CD

On behalf of the Hampton Inn Front Royal we are so glad you enjoyed our Spacious Whirlpool Suites, I would like to personally thank you for choosing us as your home away from home during your stay. We know that your hotel choice is one that reflects your desire for comfort and accessibility and we truly enjoy being able to fulfill those needs for you. I apologize the internet did not meet the standards, we don't get many complaints on that however I will investigate it further. Thank you for bringing it to my attention.
It is our goal to provide you with a stay that is both relaxing and productive for you, providing you with excellent services pertaining to all of your leisure and business necessities. We hope your stay with us was enjoyable and truly wish to have you back.
Again, thank you for choosing the Hampton Inn of Front Royal. You are a valued guest and we hope you will stay with us again. We are committed to your comfort.
Sincerely,

Lisa Hogan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (901)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

718 - 724 of 901 reviews

Reviewed September 21, 2012

First of all, let me say that from what I saw, there is a Hampton Inn a Holiday Inn and Suites and I bunch of independently owned sketchy motels in the town. My company has negotiated rates at both but I prefer Hampton over any of the other regular hotel types.

The Hampton Inn was newly renovated and the breakfast area was really modern and nice. The room was good - I stayed in a king regular room - however the AC unit was strange in the sense that I was unable to figure out how to heat the room or cool it. It was either pretty cold or pretty warm. I assume that was just due to my lack of understanding the control panel.

The breakfast was what you would expect at any Hampton, adequate and free!

Only real complaint was that their freezer had been broken so I was unable to buy any ice cream in the little store in the hotel.

All in all, if/when I come back to Front Royal - this is the only place I would stay.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MKS011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ftryl, General Manager at Hampton Inn Front Royal, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2012

Dear MKS011

On behalf of the Hampton Inn Front Royal, I would like to personally thank you for choosing us as your home away from home during your stay. We know that your hotel choice is one that reflects your desire for comfort and accessibility and we truly enjoy being able to fulfill those needs for you. Regarding the AC settings in the room, it is operated by the thermostat on the wall not the unit itself and our Freezer in the New Suite Shop is Fixed. Thanks for letting us know your feedback so we can continue to make presant stays for all of our guests.
It is our goal to provide you with a stay that is both relaxing and productive for you, providing you with excellent services pertaining to all of your leisure and business necessities. We hope your stay with us was enjoyable and truly wish to have you back.
Again, thank you for choosing the Hampton Inn of Front Royal. You are a valued guest and we hope you will stay with us again. We are committed to your comfort.
Sincerely,

Lisa Hogan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

Nice place. Easy access from highway. Check in was easy and staff was pleasant. Very clean rooms with comfortable beds. Free wifi. Friendly staff. Breakfast was excellent with lots of choices and kept very clean and replenished immediately. Will come again definitely!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank danmax2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ftryl, General Manager at Hampton Inn Front Royal, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2012

Dear Dan Max 2007

Thanks for choosing Hampton Inn Front Royal. We are glad you had a Great experience and we look forward to having you stay with us again soon.

Sincerely

Lisa Hogan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

First time we've stayed in a Hampton Inn and were very impressed. Checkin was quick, very efficient and helpful with local restaurant recommendations. The room was huge with very good quality fixtures and fittings. Fast free wifi. Breakfast was plentiful and varied with both hot and cold choices, served in pleasant surroundings (unlike many "free" motel chain breakfasts). Location very convenient for Shenandoah National Park. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Garj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ftryl, General Manager at Hampton Inn Front Royal, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2012

Dear Garj

Hampton Inn Front royal is pleased you stayed with us for your first experience to Hampton.
On behalf of the Hampton Inn Front Royal, I would like to personally thank you for choosing us as your home away from home during your stay. We know that your hotel choice is one that reflects your desire for comfort and accessibility and we truly enjoy being able to fulfill those needs for you.
Thanks for choosing Hampton and we look forward to having you stay with us again soon.

Sincerely,

Lisa Hogan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2012

Most of all it is clean, comfortable bed, plentiful breakfast and easy access off the highway.
Service is very courteous and helpful. We are from western New York and were traveling through Front Royal on our way to the Outer Banks, NC. We always try to find a Hampton Inn when we are traveling and were very satisfied with this one. We like to have an inside pool and a fitness room, which both were quite satisfactory. We also stayed there on our return trip.

Room Tip: We did have a little truck traffic noise from the exit ramp on our side of the building. Request th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oscar N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ftryl, General Manager at Hampton Inn Front Royal, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2012

Dear Oscar

On behalf of the Hampton Inn Front Royal, I would like to personally thank you for choosing us as your home away from home during your stay. We know that your hotel choice is one that reflects your desire for comfort and accessibility and we truly enjoy being able to fulfill those needs for you.
It is our goal to provide you with a stay that is both relaxing and productive for you, providing you with excellent services pertaining to all of your leisure and business necessities. We hope your stay with us was enjoyable and truly wish to have you back.

Again, thank you for choosing the Hampton Inn of Front Royal. You are a valued guest and we hope you will stay with us again. We are committed to your comfort.
Sincerely,

Lisa Hogan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

The only gripe I have is that the indoor pool was not heated. Comfortable beds. The Wi-fi worked great .Fridge and microwave in the room. Deluxe breakfast of waffles, cereal, bagels, eggs, potatoes, biscuits, fruit, yogurt, juice, muffins and more. Quick and fast check-in. Highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shawn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ftryl, General Manager at Hampton Inn Front Royal, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2012

Dear sdan2032,

On behalf of the Hampton Inn Front Royal, I would like to personally thank you for choosing us as your home away from home during your stay. We know that your hotel choice is one that reflects your desire for comfort and accessibility and we truly enjoy being able to fulfill those needs for you. Just so you are aware, we did have to drain part of the pool and fix the readings so I'm sure that was why the pool was not as warm as it usually is during your stay. Thanks for being understanding and recommending our hotel.

Sincerely,

Lisa Hogan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

Highly recommend the Front Royal Hampton Inn .... I could tell that the hotel has made some nice updates to the room - furniture, TV, bathroom, carpets ... just very comfortable lighting ... like the post it note verifying that all bedding is fresh ... Lobby was pleasant and always a solid breakfast offering .... front desk was ready for check-in ... quick and easy and professional... parking was well lit ... connected close to a McDonald's too

Room Tip: King Rooms are spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chuck2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ftryl, General Manager at Hampton Inn Front Royal, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2012

Dear Chuck,

On behalf of the Hampton Inn Front Royal, I would like to personally thank you for choosing us as your home away from home during your stay. We know that your hotel choice is one that reflects your desire for comfort and accessibility and we truly enjoy being able to fulfill those needs for you. I glad so glad you enjoyed our remodeled hotel and all of the amenities.
It is our goal to provide you with a stay that is both relaxing and productive for you, providing you with excellent services pertaining to all of your leisure and business necessities. We hope your stay with us was enjoyable and truly wish to have you back.
Again, thank you for choosing the Hampton Inn of Front Royal. You are a valued guest and we hope you will stay with us again. We are committed to your comfort.
Sincerely,

Lisa Hogan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Front Royal
2 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows
19 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Woodstock
3.1 mi away
Quality Inn Skyline Drive
Quality Inn Skyline Drive
#3 of 10 in Front Royal
341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Winchester, VA
8.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Strasburg Shenandoah Valley
19 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Woodstock / Shenandoah Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Front Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Front Royal

Address: 9800 Winchester Rd, Front Royal, VA 22630-7103
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Front Royal
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Front Royal
Price Range: $103 - $187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Front Royal 2.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We're mindful of the little things - those handy amenities and thoughtful extras - that turn an ordinary hotel stay into an extraordinary one. Below are a few personal touches we hope you'll enjoy during your time with us. Hampton Suite Shop Breakfast Area, Complimentary Coin Laundry, Elevators, Laundry/Valet Service, Local Area Transportation, Multi-Lingual Staff, Room Service, Safety Deposit Box, On Site Parking. Work hard, then play hard. Our friendly Hampton team members would like to help you do both. Here are a few things our hotel offers that can help you get your job done: Audio/Visual Equipment Rental, Business Center, Business Phone Service, Fax, Meeting Rooms. Whatever the reason for your visit, we hope you'll enjoy these fun ways to relax and keep in shape. Fitness Room, Pool. Are you bringing the kids along on your trip? We've got you covered. Below are a few things we offer to please the entire family: Cribs, High chairs. Come enjoy the Shenandoah Valley and its beauty and stay at Hampton Inn Front Royal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Front Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Front Royal Hotel Front Royal
Front Royal Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing