We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Be careful of this place!”

Scottish Inn Front Royal
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Scottish Inn Front Royal
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Front Royal
Berryville, Virginia
Level Contributor
77 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Be careful of this place!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2011

This place is okay if you need a place to stay in Front Royal, but beware. I have worked in the homeless ministry in Front Royal, and many displaced people live at this hotel. Hikers from the Appalachian Trail also stay there -- so just beware of your valuables, etc. Truthfully I can't recommend any good places to stay in Front Royal except the Hampton Inn at the other end of town - which will be more expensive, of course. If I were looking for a place to stay with my family, I would try Flint Hill or Winchester or Warrenton..

Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
6 Thank ktcoloradoinvirgina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    13
    22
    4
    5
See reviews for
9
17
11
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Old VIRGINIA
Level Contributor
124 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2011

Very good lodging for budget minded folks. About half a mile from entrance to Skyline Drive.
Great hamburger joint, B3B 3 Brothers Burgers right across the street. Speaking of streets, S. Royal Avenue is a main thoroughfare, lots of traffic day and night, and then, there's the trains. Close your ears and go to sleep!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1oldseagull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2011

Great sleep. Highspeed internet. No frills, and I enjoyed the retro furnishings.
Terrific value. Just a few minutes from Shenandoah National Park. Friendly staff.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NebraskaJack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2010

Too many section 8 people live there. I stayed here and there was noise outside. Me being an investigator I ask questions I do not assume anything. So I asked the 21 year old. I said hey brother you on vacation or you live here. He was a white kid and he said I live here and I lived here all my life. He was a nice guy but made a lot of noise. There were several others there that also made a lot of noise. The price was 45 Bucks it was cheap and 5 bucks more for my dog. It was REALLY close to the start of the drive. Coming into town I needed directions. A local gave them to me and advised that was not a good part of town. Being a retired cop I do not scare at all. But the damm noise, the locals told me to stay at the Quality inn and spent 80 bucks a night instead of 45. The section 8 people were yelling back and forth to others on the porch at night. At midnight it did get quiet, but I like to sleep earlier than that.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank bullo1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virginia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2010

50 bucks, not bad at all. Room very basic. Clean little fridge and microwave. Room didn't stink. No apparent odor-masking scents, but a little stuffy until we hit the AC. Carpet not something you wouldn't put your feet on. Shower/tub floor could have used a bleach job to whiten up. Stayed on second floor. Always stay on top floor rooms at any motel when possible to avoid people pacing about overhead at all times of day or night. Motel about a mile from Skyline Drive entrance. Only negative we had was my wife was awakened by truck traffic in the am. I slept through it. City folks may not notice this. We live in the sticks so are not used to much noise. We were there for a Friday am and Saturday am and it seemed to have this traffic on the weekday and not the weekend.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank thebutlerdidit29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zeeland, Michigan
Level Contributor
69 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2010

We really just needed a place to bunk down for the night before heading up onto Skyline Drive. It was clean, but spartan. The bathroom needed a little updating, but everything appeared to have a fresh coat of paint on it. Air conditioner worked fine. Bed was OK. Seemed clean enough. I wouldn't recommend for an extended period for someone's vacation destination, but for a good nights' sleep at a fair price, it fit the bill.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tlc237
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2005

My fiance, his mom and i stayed at the Scottish Inn August 19-20. The location was great. Skyline Cavern and the entrance to Skyline Drive was only a 2 minute drive away. Shenandoah River was only about 10 miles from Front Royal. The price was great for a double room with a microwave, fridge and free cable. Gas stations and 7-11 in walking distance, along with a great diner, a frozen yogurt/burger joint, and the Village Idiot restaurant across the street. The staff was also extremely friendly... The only problems were that the beds squeaked a little, and the sink was clogged. Other than that, we had a great time and this inn was a great choice for us.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
7 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Front Royal
3.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Front Royal
Hampton Inn Front Royal
#1 of 9 in Front Royal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 770 reviews
0.6 mi away
Quality Inn Skyline Drive
Quality Inn Skyline Drive
#7 of 9 in Front Royal
3.0 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
5.3 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Relax Inn Front Royal
Relax Inn Front Royal
#6 of 9 in Front Royal
3.0 of 5 bubbles 3 reviews
10.4 mi away
Hotel Strasburg
Hotel Strasburg
#3 of 5 in Strasburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
9.1 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
#2 of 3 in Middletown
3.0 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scottish Inn Front Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scottish Inn Front Royal

Property: Scottish Inn Front Royal
Address: 533 South Royal Ave, Front Royal, VA 22630
Location: United States > Virginia > Front Royal
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Front Royal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Scottish Inn Front Royal 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Scottish Inn Front Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing