We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Clean. Comfortable. No frills. Close to park entrance.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Scottish Inn Front Royal

Scottish Inn Front Royal
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Scottish Inn Front Royal
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Front Royal
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Clean. Comfortable. No frills. Close to park entrance.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2011

Great sleep. Highspeed internet. No frills, and I enjoyed the retro furnishings.
Terrific value. Just a few minutes from Shenandoah National Park. Friendly staff.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NebraskaJack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    11
    22
    3
    5
See reviews for
8
16
10
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2010

Too many section 8 people live there. I stayed here and there was noise outside. Me being an investigator I ask questions I do not assume anything. So I asked the 21 year old. I said hey brother you on vacation or you live here. He was a white kid and he said I live here and I lived here all my life. He was a nice guy but made a lot of noise. There were several others there that also made a lot of noise. The price was 45 Bucks it was cheap and 5 bucks more for my dog. It was REALLY close to the start of the drive. Coming into town I needed directions. A local gave them to me and advised that was not a good part of town. Being a retired cop I do not scare at all. But the damm noise, the locals told me to stay at the Quality inn and spent 80 bucks a night instead of 45. The section 8 people were yelling back and forth to others on the porch at night. At midnight it did get quiet, but I like to sleep earlier than that.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank bullo1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virginia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2010

50 bucks, not bad at all. Room very basic. Clean little fridge and microwave. Room didn't stink. No apparent odor-masking scents, but a little stuffy until we hit the AC. Carpet not something you wouldn't put your feet on. Shower/tub floor could have used a bleach job to whiten up. Stayed on second floor. Always stay on top floor rooms at any motel when possible to avoid people pacing about overhead at all times of day or night. Motel about a mile from Skyline Drive entrance. Only negative we had was my wife was awakened by truck traffic in the am. I slept through it. City folks may not notice this. We live in the sticks so are not used to much noise. We were there for a Friday am and Saturday am and it seemed to have this traffic on the weekday and not the weekend.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank thebutlerdidit29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zeeland, Michigan
Level Contributor
69 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2010

We really just needed a place to bunk down for the night before heading up onto Skyline Drive. It was clean, but spartan. The bathroom needed a little updating, but everything appeared to have a fresh coat of paint on it. Air conditioner worked fine. Bed was OK. Seemed clean enough. I wouldn't recommend for an extended period for someone's vacation destination, but for a good nights' sleep at a fair price, it fit the bill.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tlc237
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2005

My fiance, his mom and i stayed at the Scottish Inn August 19-20. The location was great. Skyline Cavern and the entrance to Skyline Drive was only a 2 minute drive away. Shenandoah River was only about 10 miles from Front Royal. The price was great for a double room with a microwave, fridge and free cable. Gas stations and 7-11 in walking distance, along with a great diner, a frozen yogurt/burger joint, and the Village Idiot restaurant across the street. The staff was also extremely friendly... The only problems were that the beds squeaked a little, and the sink was clogged. Other than that, we had a great time and this inn was a great choice for us.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
7 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Front Royal
0.7 mi away
Quality Inn Skyline Drive
Quality Inn Skyline Drive
#7 of 9 in Front Royal
3.0 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Front Royal
Hampton Inn Front Royal
#1 of 9 in Front Royal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 724 reviews
5.3 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Relax Inn Front Royal
Relax Inn Front Royal
#6 of 9 in Front Royal
3.0 of 5 bubbles 2 reviews
21.5 mi away
The Cardinal Inn
The Cardinal Inn
#4 of 9 in Luray
3.5 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
1.8 mi away
Cool Harbor Motel
Cool Harbor Motel
#3 of 9 in Front Royal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scottish Inn Front Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scottish Inn Front Royal

Property: Scottish Inn Front Royal
Address: 533 S Royal Ave, Front Royal, VA 22630-2316
Location: United States > Virginia > Front Royal
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Front Royal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Scottish Inn Front Royal 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Scottish Inn Front Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing