We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Favorite Restaurant in Front Royal”
Review of Vino124 - CLOSED

Vino124
Price range: $5 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Description: Vino124 is a casual, family-owned and operated restaurant in downtown Front Royal with a daily changing menu focused on local ingredients & eclectic comfort food.This down to earth restaurant features 3 dining areas & a lounge. The main dining room has a casual cafe feel and seats up to 20 people. The side room is a cozy spot with banquette seating and spots for up to 12 people. There are also 2 outdoor patio tables that allow for dining directly on Main Street; great for people watching. The back of Vino124 has a small, but vibrant lounge with sofa & bar seating.Our open kitchen gives our customers the ability to peek at our chefs as they work to create a menu utilizing produce and meats raised locally, as well as international cheese and charcuterie products and fresh seafood. The eclectic, comfort cuisine served at Vino124 is influenced by the staffs travels and homes in Italy, the Mediterranean, and the US Southwest.
Reviewed April 23, 2012

This is a restaurant in the downtown area of Front Royal that has a wide variety of wines, beers and fresh interesting dishes. It's often hard to choose between regular menu items and daily specials. The owners/chefs are so personable; they take the time to explain each dish and answer all questions about ingredients and are geniuses at recommending the right beverage to accompany.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sherry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 9, 2012

I am very sorry for taking so long to thank you for the lovely review. In all honesty, spring and summer are a busy time for the restaurant and some things just slip by, but I wanted to make sure that you know how much we appreciate your time and patronage. We always look forward to seeing our loyal customers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (122)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

107 - 111 of 122 reviews

Reviewed March 12, 2012

After an eight mile hike at Old Rag, my boyfriend and I found ourselves in Front Royal on the prowl for food to replenish our ragged bodies. We soon stumbled upon a pleasant surprise, Vino e Formaggio. The decor was a bit sparse, but the food, service and passion for the pleasures in life (see: wine and cheese) more than made up for the furnishings. Need I mention that their pricing was more than reasonable. We purchased three plates, two appetizers, a bottle of wine and a lb. of cheese for ~$60!

You must go. I would recommend it to anyone.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank CindyandJack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vinoe4maggio, Manager at Vino124, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2012

We are so happy that you stopped by and had such a great experience. We hope to see you again on your next hike.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2012

Vino e Formaggio is my go-to restaurant any time I'm in the Shenandoah mountain area. The owners are extremely friendly and knowledgeable on food, wine and beer, providing an excellent and affordable array of the latter two, and a priced-right, impeccable selection of the former. Some menu items are adventurous (such as the lentil chips), others are classic (like hand-made pizzas), but all of them work well, providing a great taste-pleasing adventure that makes it hard to stop eating. Add to that a relaxing atmosphere and I can't help but feel at home there.

A worthy addition to a beautiful region and an excellent place for a post-hike visit or a date night. I can't wait for my next return.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Kristen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vinoe4maggio, Manager at Vino124, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2012

Thank you for sharing your experience with us and other travelers. We appreciate your support and look forward to serving you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2012

There is nothing bad I can say about Vino. Everytime you go you will walk away feeling wonderful and refreshed! The food is always amazing. The owners/ hosts are always incredibly delightful, knowledgeable, helpful and even entertaining. The wines and beers they sell are always delicious and skillfully selected, as well as very affordable. My only advice is just trust Christian and he and Rachael will take good care of you!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank HollyScott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vinoe4maggio, Manager at Vino124, responded to this reviewResponded March 9, 2012

Thank you so much for the wonderful feedback. We always look forward to serving you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2012

This is the best place to go if you want excellent food and wine. And don't forget the Beer! They always have great beer!

Its friendly and fun. You have fun every time you go.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 2buck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vinoe4maggio, Manager at Vino124, responded to this reviewResponded March 9, 2012

We are so happy that we provide you with a fun experience when you visit us. It's an honor to give our customers a fun atmosphere!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing