We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable tough golf course”

Blue Ridge Shadows Golf Club
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Playing here, our customers know they will receive one of the best possible golfing experiences available. This is due to our attentive staff and the systems we have in place to provide excellent customer service at every opportunity. From the Bag drop, to the First Tee, to the maintenance crewmember, to the General Manager, to the grill attendant, the focus of our staff is to serve the customer and help them enjoy our facilities to the fullest, so they will tell their friends and want to return time and time again. Thoroughly renowned for the service we provide, outing coordinators and event planners will constantly seek us out. We will dazzle them with our attentiveness and concern for the success of their events. Coming to our club will be a sensation that their attendees will talk about for years to come. Designed by Tom Clark, Blue Ridge Shadows Golf Club opened in March 2007 to rave reviews by Regional and National Golf Publications. Golf Digest Magazine ranked us #6 “Best New Affordable Public Courses” in 2007, and the Washington Post named us a ‘Natural Treasure’. In 2010 and 2011, Blue Ridge Shadows was ranked #4 Best Courses you can Play in Virginia by Golfweek Magazine and ranked #32 ‘Women-friendly courses in America’ by Golf Digest Woman Magazine!
USA
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Enjoyable tough golf course”
Reviewed August 6, 2012

Blue Ridge Shadows Golf Club was enjoyable to play.The course conditions were very good, hilly and peaceful. The staff was pleasant, friendly and helpful. There was no GPS on the cart. The fees were reasonable; check online and free golf books for an additional discount. The course was fair with some blind shots and hazards (so take a peek). I finished my round in less than 4 hours. My golf adventure continues as I continue my personal mission to golf all the states.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank N0madg0lfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnFrontRoyal, Director of Operations for Blue Ridge Shadows Resort at Blue Ridge Shadows Golf Club, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
N0madg0lfer,

Thank you for playing Blue Ridge Shadows Golf Club and for leaving a review of your experiences. We hope your United States golf tour is going well. We would love to hear from you as you continue your adventure to see if you have found anything at the other courses across the country that can help us better serve our guests here in Virginia. Thank you for visiting us and we wish you the best.

Brent C Jackson
Director of Operations for Blue Ridge Shadows Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    17
    11
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Laurel, Maryland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
Reviewed July 22, 2012

My husband loved the quality of the fairways and greens, and the architecture is lovely. Every time we walked by, he said he wanted to play it some more.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Sharon O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnFrontRoyal, Director of Operations for Blue Ridge Shadows Resort at Blue Ridge Shadows Golf Club, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Sharon O,

Thank you to you and your husband for playing Blue Ridge Shadows Golf Club and for leaving a review of your experiences. It is rewarding to know that you found our course to be beautiful (and addicting). We appreciate that you chose us amongst the numerous golf courses that are out there. We hope that we have earned your repeat business and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Brent C Jackson
Director of Operations for Blue Ridge Shadows Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“very relaxing”
Reviewed July 9, 2012

great value for money. I liked the peaceful environment in the city, it is quite laid back and makes you feel relaxed

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Kirstine_121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnFrontRoyal, Director of Operations for Blue Ridge Shadows Resort at Blue Ridge Shadows Golf Club, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Kirstine_121,

Thank you for playing Blue Ridge Shadows Golf Club and for leaving a review of your experiences. We are happy to know that you found value in your experience with us. Please let us know if you have any further comments or suggestions and we hope to see you again soon!

Brent C Jackson
Director of Operations for Blue Ridge Shadows Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westminster, Maryland
Level Contributor
52 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Tough course but fun”
Reviewed June 11, 2012

Enjoyed playing the course - the last several holes were very difficult. Good Conditions, Very friendly clubhouse personnel

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank terps101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnFrontRoyal, Director of Operations for Blue Ridge Shadows Resort at Blue Ridge Shadows Golf Club, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
terps101,

Thank you for playing Blue Ridge Shadows Golf Club and for leaving a review of your experiences. Our goals are to provide a golf course that is in excellent condition being serviced by a friendly staff. In reading your review it would seem we have met this goal for you. We hope you choose to play our course again soon and we would appreciate your future business.

Brent C Jackson
Director of Operations for Blue Ridge Shadows Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia, USA
Level Contributor
59 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great design, but suffering from severely dry conditions”
Reviewed April 23, 2012

I played this course on 4-13-12, three weeks after the greens had been aerated. But the course was so dry that they looked and putted like they had just been done a few days earlier. They had received no rain, and apparently had not been watered. The first hole and maybe a couple of others on the front 9 were good design, and I strongly recommend the design of the back 9. Outstanding. But from what a couple of local players told me, the fairways are always mowed extremely close and the rough is allowed to be almost U.S.-open length, 3 inches, very punitive. And no first cut beside the fairway. It's either fairway and a tight lie or possibly bad lie in the rough. The ponds were down 3.5 to 4 feet, and the creeks were completely dry. I despise tight lies on fairways and overly tall rough, so this course is a good news (overall design)/ bad news (how it is maintained) type of story. And I am a 6-handicapper. Fine pro shop and clubhouse. Could be an outstanding "venue" in my opinion if it was maintained differently.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Gruglas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnFrontRoyal, Director of Operations for Blue Ridge Shadows Resort at Blue Ridge Shadows Golf Club, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Gruglas,

Thank you for playing Blue Ridge Shadows Golf Club and for leaving a review of your experiences. After you left this review in the spring we received the much needed rain to allow the lakes and rivers to return to their normal depths and to allow us to resume irrigating the course in a proper and "green" manner. We are glad that you enjoyed your experience and that the pro shop team met your needs. If you have any further comments or suggestions we would love for you to contact Mike A. at 540-631-9661. Mike is the Head Golf Professional for Blue Ridge Shadows.

Brent C Jackson
Director of Operations for Blue Ridge Shadows Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Ridge Shadows Golf Club also viewed

 

Been to Blue Ridge Shadows Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing