We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Talented Team, Amazing Wines, Beautiful Views”

Glen Manor Vineyards
Ranked #3 of 24 things to do in Front Royal
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Great wines, fantastic service, knowledgeable owners, educational visit. First stop on any winetasting trip in the northern Shenandoah Valley, VA MUST include the Glen Manor Vineyards. Bag a picnic lunch, purchase a top-quality wine from these folks, and spend an hour or two on the grounds. You will not be disappointed! PS. Stop at the Elements Restaurant in Front Royal for your lunch-to-go. The gourmet food pairs nicely with all of Glen Manor's selections.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Talented Team, Amazing Wines, Beautiful Views”
Reviewed June 29, 2013

If you're making the wine tasting rounds around Shenandoah, you will not want to miss Glen Manor. It is hands down one of the best in the area. The wine maker worked with Linden Vineyards (add that one to your itinerary too) for many years before branching out on his own. The wines are fantastic, and the people there are friendly and knowledgable. Grab a bottle or two of the Sav Blanc before it disappears. Enjoy a tasting for a small fee, then buy a bottle and pull up a chair on the lawn overlooking Skyline Drive.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank TimS-20003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    21
    0
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Woodbine, Maryland
Level Contributor
139 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable-wine and fall foliage”
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Located in the valley below Skyline Drive. After a day of pulling over every 3 miles to see the fabulous fall colors you tend to get thirsty. After a tasting we settled on a bottle to take out side to sit and look up at the vines and fall foliage. It was great, plan to go back next year.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank 44AML
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Beautiful Vineyard”
Reviewed March 23, 2013

We stopped at Glen Manor on our way back from Luray to DC. It was snowing when we arrived at this gem, tucked into the Blue Ridge Mountains with stunning views of not only the mountains, but you can also see Skyline Drive not to far above. The farm has been family-owned for four generations and is a beautiful plot of land.

We were immediately helped upon walking in, and one of the owners (the wife) did our tasting. She had delicious foccacia to eat between tastings (salty and delicious with their wine; she used to be chef), and she has the recipe available. I'll definitely be trying it! The wines were also very good, and they limit their selection to four wines. We enjoyed the Cabernet Franc most, and bought a bottle to take home with us.

Had it been a tad warmer and not snowing, we would have loved sitting outside with our bottle of wine taking in the views. Hopefully, we'll get a chance to do that in the future.

Also, as a side note, you can bring your own food in with you.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank BlueEyedDutchGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great wine, fantastic views”
Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

The tasting room is a little out of the way, but well worth the drive. Nestled below Skyline Drive, you can't beat the views and the vineyard reminds me of the vineyards along the Rhine in Germany, they dot the hillside. We were served by the vintners wife, very personable and informative. We enjoyed all of their reds and their Chardonnay.

Helpful?
Thank Kevin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
94 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“A lovely little place”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

This was recommended to us by friends. The owner's wife was behind the counter, and she was friendly and informative. (Get her foccacia recipe. It is yummy!) The backdrop is lovely, and we enjoyed sitting out on the back deck and looking up at the vineyards, the changing leaves, and the Skyline Drive. The wine isn't cheap, but it's good and the experience is charming and relaxing.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Bunnieandmerlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Glen Manor Vineyards also viewed

 

Been to Glen Manor Vineyards? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing