We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful Birthday Celebration”
Review of Element

Element
Ranked #8 of 88 Restaurants in Front Royal
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $40
Cuisines: American, Contemporary, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner
Description: The endless creativity of Chef-Owners David and Stacy Gedney has produced an excellent bistro alternative to the commitment of fine dining restaurants and to the ennui of the countless chain restaurants. Element offers a variety of sapid dishes for lunch and dinner in a relaxed and modern atmosphere, augmented by a full bar, beers on draft and an elegant wine list. We adjust the menu regularly to keep our ingredients fresh and our choices interesting.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Delightful Birthday Celebration”
Reviewed November 19, 2013

My girlfriend and I went to Element for dinner to celebrate her birthday. We arrived without reservations at about 7 on a Thursday evening and were seated promptly. The menu was creative and inspired and we found ourselves torn between many delicious-looking options. Our server, Deborah (also the manager of the restaurant), gave us fantastic suggestions for food and had plenty of valuable information on their wine selection. We ordered house-made focaccia (truly fantastic, and I am an avid baker), mussels, and a glass of sauvignon blanc which was very well paired. We later ordered two entrees: pork scallopini with whole-grain mustard and black peppercorns, braised cabbage, and pan-crisped spaetzle; beef tenderloin with blue cheese sauce, bacon-chedder steak fries, and garlic green beans. Both were wonderful, but the spaetzle was extraordinarily good. Deborah suggested another wonderful glass of cabernet with the beef. We also ordered a dessert trio of flourless chocolate cake, mocha pave, and bourbon bread pudding. The cake and bread pudding were delicious, but not outstanding. The pave was exceptional.

The atmosphere of the restaurant was cozy and comfortable, our food was excellent, and the service was fantastic. It was a wonderful dining experience.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    112
    48
    10
    8
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Front Royal
2 reviews
“Wonderful food!”
Reviewed November 8, 2013

We have lived in Front Royal for many years, but hadn't eaten dinner here although it always seemed packed. We finally decided to try it and what a treat! We had the chicken and pork dinners. The chicken was absolutely the best I've ever had. Amazing. My husband loved the pork tenderloins. The mixed green salad was huge and very nice. But the dessert...Mexican Chocolate Cake....we shared it and had dueling forks -- it disappeared quickly! It was light, the cream was excellent, and it had a great chocolate sauce. We couldn't have had a better dinner in a nicer environment. It is a small space and a down to earth place, so not for those who want the formal feel, but you can't go wrong here. Oh, and they really prepare the food here so be prepared to spend a bit more time than you would at a Friday's; this is not for you if you are in a rush.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FrontRoyal92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great dinner in a tiny location”
Reviewed November 3, 2013

We arrived around 6:30 PM on a Saturday night to find the small restaurant, not surprisingly, packed with patrons. Our name and phone number were added to a list and we were told that they would call once a table became available. About a half an hour later we received that call to say that two spots at the bar were available if we wanted them. We accepted and quickly made our way back to the restaurant. The two person waitstaff was very friendly and constantly buzzed around the room. The food was very good: we shared the appetizer of mussels in a white wine butter sauce as well as the Thai basil scallops, both of which were excellent. The sauce especially on the scallops was terrific. The only piece of the night that didn't meet the expectations set by our experience was when we ordered dessert. To be fair, we took our caramel cheesecake to go but the texture and the taste both left a bit to be desired. All in all, we would definitely return to Element if we found ourselves back in Front Royal.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MMurphy7712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Front Royal, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“excellent food worth the cramped surroundings”
Reviewed October 27, 2013

We have been driving by this restaurant for years...our mistake.
A small cramped interior was more than made up for by the excellent food.
The 2 person wait staff was constantly in motion handling the full Saturday night crowd(no reservations accepted Sat night). That led to a couple of requests for small items like silverware when the entree was served.
Wine recomendation was spot on as was the entree choice. The true test was my wife ordering the beef filet done well...no pink. Surprise... it came out perfectly as ordered and still very tender. I had the quail special, perfectly cooked and easy to eat. The 2 quail portion was excellently boned prior to cooking. The steamed mussel appetizer was an enormous serving, cooked very tender and not chewy overcooked. Had the dessert trio, bread pudding, cloudless dark chocolate cake, and cranberry apple crisp. The pastry chef couldn't have done better.
2 appetizers, 2 entrees, dessert, and a bottle of wine before tip was $117, well worth the price for an anniversary dinner.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jfosborn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Front Royal, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Restaurant in Front Royal”
Reviewed October 25, 2013

It's absurd that this restaurant is ranked 3rd. It has the best food in town, and honestly some of the best food I've ever eaten.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jamie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Element? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing