We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chilly”
Review of Lackawanna B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Lackawanna B&B
Ranked #2 of 11 Front Royal B&B and Inns
Maine
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Chilly”
Reviewed September 7, 2012

The owners were chilly and self absorbed. The bed was extremely uncomfortable – it took the term ‘firm’ to a new level. It was equivalent to lying on the floor. The decorations were stuffy and heavy. We love B&B's but would never return to this one.

Room Tip: Choose another location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jscjbd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charlesVirginia, Owner at Lackawanna B&B, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Oh my. We are so distressed to receive such an unpleasant review. The review process is a good thing as it gives us an opportunity to improve on what we are doing wrong. I do not know what bed the guest slept in so we are at a loss on how to analyze that situation. We are not aware of being self absorbed so not sure what to do differently there. Our b&b has always received excellent feedback from our guests on our decor and often told it is not overly decorated like many b&b's so again not sure what to correct. Since this guest had such an unpleasant experience I would not blame them for not coming back, however, we are at a loss on what to do differently. Based on 11 years of operation with many satisfied guests, we wonder if they actually stayed at Lackawanna.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    15
    2
    0
    3
See reviews for
10
80
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lakewood, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2012

We had a very pleasant stay: a perfect location, not far from metro DC and just off the Blue Ridge Skyway. A beautifully restored home and nicely furnished. Very good breakfast. We enjoyed our stay: highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dcvweld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perkasie, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviewed August 29, 2012

If you're a fan of B&B's, you'll appreciate some of the thoughtful touches offered at Lackawanna B&B in Front Royal. The home is secluded and peaceful, surrounded by trees on all sides. There's a huge front porch with an old fashioned porch swing and rocking chairs. The home is beautifully decorated and appointed with period furnishings. There is a complimentary wine bar and several relaxations areas. 2 of the bedrooms had a private bath, so even if you're staying in the one room that doesnt, the hall bath is all yours. The back yard is fenced, private, and has a nice in-ground pool. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mydogantoinette1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

My husband and I spent a night recently when we went on a wine tour. The house was a comfortable haven to come home to after a day of traveling through the area. We were offered wine and snacks upon our arrival, and we sat on the front porch swing enjoying a rain shower. The grounds are beautiful, with gardens and a pool. The room we stayed in, the Charles, had antiques befitting the age of the house, 1869. And unlike regular hotel rooms, the AC was quiet! Breakfast was served family style in the dining room, and along with the excellent food, we were lucky to meet two other couples whose company we enjoyed. We ended up talking for two hours until checkout time. All in all, it was one of the best B&B experiences we've ever had.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed August 13, 2012

Phil and Sandy run an excellent B&B just north of downtown Front Royal (a bit too far to walk into town). The historic home is well appointed with a nice big front porch for relaxing. Beds were comfy and we enjoyed our room's location and amenities (J. Webster Room). Complimentary wine and snacks are a welcome change from hotels that now charge you for a newspaper. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RyanKeating
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peabody, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Lackawanna for a night while were on a road trip through Shenandoah Valley. As soon as we arrived it was clear that Phil and Sandy had put a lot of work into the home and surrounding yard (this was later evident when we received a tour of the home and looked through the restoration book that Phil & Sandy kept of their restoration efforts.) We loved our room (Rose Room) - it was clean, comfortable, cozy and quiet. There are also a lot of "extras" offered at Lackawanna - like complimentary wine and snacks, a massage chair (I took full advantage), and a breakfast menu upon arrival where guests can select what they'd like for breakfast (versus chef's choice.) Phil even took the time to show my husband his wood shop when he learned that my husband is a mechanical engineer and loves woodworking. It was this type of personal touch that made our experience here even better than we'd expected. We highly recommend Lackawanna to anyone looking for a special place to stay.

Room Tip: We loved our room (Rose Room.) It had a queen size bed, private bathroom and a pretty view of the y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank laura z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2012

We stayed for a weekend to attend a wedding close by. Our room ( The Charles Suite ) was lovely appointed and richly decorated. The House has a long and rich History and for someone who loves Antiques and nostalgic locations, this is the place to be. The Inn has a beautiful garden and pool and we sure made use of both and relaxed for a few hours. Pool Towels, cold beverages, a wine bar - u name it...it was available. The stay was topped off with a delicious Breakfast in the morning. A varity of coffee/ tea choices, the best french toast I ever tasted and even handpicked tomatoes from the backyard. Simply delicious.
I hope to come back here in the fall sometime and make use of the nearby kayaking.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Franziska B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Front Royal
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Front Royal
Hampton Inn Front Royal
#1 of 9 in Front Royal
842 reviews
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows
7.4 mi away
Wayside Inn
Wayside Inn
#1 of 3 in Middletown
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Quality Inn Skyline Drive
Quality Inn Skyline Drive
#5 of 9 in Front Royal
294 reviews
2.4 mi away
Royal Inn Motel
Royal Inn Motel
#3 of 9 in Front Royal
54 reviews
0.6 mi away
Relax Inn Front Royal
Relax Inn Front Royal
#6 of 9 in Front Royal
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lackawanna B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lackawanna B&B

Property: Lackawanna B&B
Address: 236 Riverside Drive, Front Royal, VA 22630
Location: United States > Virginia > Front Royal
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Front Royal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Lackawanna B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing