We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wish I had known there was a Hampton Inn in Front Royal...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Super 8 Front Royal
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Front Royal
Florida
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Wish I had known there was a Hampton Inn in Front Royal...”
Reviewed July 18, 2009

We chose the Super 8 because as we were driving thru Front Royal all we saw were really scary looking Mom and Pop places. I didn't have the laptop with me so had no way of knowing of other chain properties in the area. (Did not see any.)

I will say the Super 8 price for a suite ( 2 double beds and a pull out double sofa bed) was fair for a walk in. Front Desk and Housekeeping personnel were friendly enough. And the location is excellent if your destination is Skyline Drive.

I would give it a two star rating for those reasons. However, here is what I did not like:

Overall, very shabby and dirty looking. In desperate need of remodeling.

Room was not overtly filthy, but not clean enough.

Sofa bed was dirty looking and it was only a single sleeper, not double as the front desk guy had told us. The mattress was all ripped up on the bottom and it rode high on the sides (stuck to the frame I guess) and sunk way down in the middle. Could not reposition it due to the shredded bottom being enmeshed in all of the coils.

Breakfast especially skimpy (even for a Super 8) and not very well attended.

Computer in lobby would not connect to the internet.

I would only recommend this hotel for those on a really super-tight budget or if the other hotels were booked up.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank frazzledtripletmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    70
    104
    43
    37
See reviews for
87
98
39
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
67 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2008

we booked the super 8 at 1am on a friday morning, a stop on our trip back to alabama from washington DC. we needed a place to stay for the night and were pleasantly surprised by the fact that the hotel did not try to gouge us by jacking up the rates as some other properties did when we called.
the hotel was a little dated, and nothing about the interior was above average by any means, but it was clean and comfortable. the late night front desk person was friendly and even joked around with us a little, and the amenities provided for the low price we paid for the room were great. little things like pantene pro-v shampoo in the shower, a coffee maker with coffee for in the morning, donuts and toast in lobby in the morning (although this could have been done so much better), and free wi-fi made this stay a pleasant one. the beds, while nothing special, were clean and comfortable. the tv had a ton of cable channels.
we'd stay here again.

  • Liked — it was a great value.
  • Disliked — it is a bit dated.
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank cookmefud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germantown, Maryland
Level Contributor
53 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2008

You get what you pay for. This is a cheaper place, and it looks like a cheaper place. We had to attend a family funeral, and everyone stayed at the Hampton Inn. We stayed here because it allowed dogs (with a $10 a day fee).

It is an ok place, but lt had little things that might bug you. So you might think you should have paid more for the Hampton Inn. Maybe not. Here are the little things that were negatives.

1. It had free WiFi. Most of the time it just didn't connect.

2. It had free continental breakfast. This was really crummy, with small cups and only powdered creamer.

3. Behind the front desk, a door was always open, showing a large dryer drying towels. Tacky.

4. There was an old computer in the lobby (on an old workstation) for guests to connect to the internet, i suppose. how would i know? It was next to the breakfast area. as a result, the lobby looked cheap, like a garage sale gone wild.

5. the front desk staff (2 different men) had personalities of cold fish. the cleaning lady was very nice and pleasant. perhaps these people should switch jobs.

6. walls seemed on the thin side. we heard someone praying down the hall.

7. difficult to adjust temperature in between too hot and too cold.

8. this may be due to staying in an handicap accessible room, but there were no closets, just racks for hangers, and very little storage space.

Being in an accessible room, it was nice that they provided a little stool for the tub. the hangers hung low, for those in a wheelchair.

I must say that there is a burger and shake fast food place directly across from the Super 8. the burgers are a bit on the expensive side, but they are the best i have ever had.

i would stay here again if i had my dogs. however, i might just try a true motel, where you drive your car up to your room. then i wouldn't worry as much about my dogs biting someone or barking too much at someone in the hall. there are many such places in Front Royal like this. but they look scary, and are not reviewed here.

  • Liked — They accepted dogs.
  • Disliked — Front desk staff
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank nomaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 21, 2008

We found the hotel fairly easy...a great place to stay if your driving up the Skyline Drive, maybe 10 minutes from the Front Royal entrance (which is the first entrance on Skyline). There's really nothing special about the hotel, just an average every day hotel. Nice size room, clean, comfortable and a small breakfast offering in the morning. The desk clerk was congenial when we checked in and the clerk there in the morning was pleasant as well. Would stay again.
BTW, if you stay in Front Royal, I suggest the Soul Mountain Cafe for dinner or lunch, our dinner was excellent. Great atmosphere and eclectic decor. Not sure what those other bad reviews are about but it's a great little restaurant (about $40 for dinner). L Dees was great for breakfast! Cheap and good food, it's a little further down Main St. Both places seem to be popular with the locals, so they can't be that bad. Spelunkers (directly across the street from teh Super 8) is like a local 5 Guys. The custard is delicious and they have real burgers and boarwalk fries. Also, for the explorative type, Skyline Caverns is only 5 minutes up 55 (just past the entrance to Skyline) and has "anthrodite" crystals growing in the caverns, they're only found here in good old VA! Really a neat experience. Great in the winter, not as much people traffic.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — A bit pricey
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Berlybelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plainville, Connecticut
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2007

We rolled into town about 1 am and were able to get a room here, the front desk clerk was a very friendly man who was very helpful. All he had left was a suite, but the price was right. Wireless internet was easy to use and worked perfectly. Room was very clean and comfortable. We missed the free breakfast, but the front desk clerk gave us a bag of snacks and stuff as consolation.
This property is right near the beginning of Skyline Drive - it's very convenient to stay here and start the scenic drive first thing in the morning. I would definately recommend this hotel to all travelers.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Free breakfast deal closed early
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank asylum00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
89 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2006

Very hard to find, but it is convenient to several restaurants. It's an older hotel with thin walls & floors that resulted in major issues with noise. There must have been an elephant staying in the room above me - it's the only explanation for the loud foot steps!! I could also hear the people talking on both sides of my room, I'm sure they must have heard my TV. When the elephant in the room above me took a shower at 6am, I could hear the water and well as him moving around in the shower. There have to be better places to stay in this area for the money and I would recommend looking elsewhere.

  • Liked — Convenience to restaurants
  • Disliked — NOISE!!
  • Stayed October 2005, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bette P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Front Royal hotels

A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed May 4, 2005

The workers where friendly and the room rate was a great deal compared to other lodging establishments in the town. I highly recommend the motel to anyone planning on traveling in the area.

  • Stayed March 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Front Royal
0.5 mi away
Quality Inn Skyline Drive
Quality Inn Skyline Drive
#6 of 9 in Front Royal
285 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Front Royal
Hampton Inn Front Royal
#1 of 9 in Front Royal
817 reviews
0.1 mi away
Royal Inn Motel
Royal Inn Motel
#4 of 9 in Front Royal
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows
1.8 mi away
Relax Inn Front Royal
Relax Inn Front Royal
#5 of 9 in Front Royal
4 reviews
10.2 mi away
Ramada Strasburg
Ramada Strasburg
#2 of 5 in Strasburg
559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Front Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Front Royal

Property: Super 8 Front Royal
Address: 111 South St, Hwy 340 & 55, Front Royal, VA 22630-2221
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Front Royal
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Front Royal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Front Royal 2*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Super 8 Front Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Front Royal Hotel Front Royal
Super Eight Front Royal
Front Royal Super 8
Front Royal Super Eight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing