We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Renovation needed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Super 8 Front Royal
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Front Royal
Reviewed October 5, 2012

Lobby smells like a smoking area at an airport. High price compared to value which was delivered. We choosed the Rest of our trip from NY to Orlando Best Western and this was the right decision

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank STEVE2576NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (322)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

273 - 279 of 322 reviews

Reviewed September 26, 2012

- On a motorcycle trip with my son.
- Traveling the back roads avoiding the interstate.
- Stopped at this Super-8 for a good nights rest.
- I had a reservation for this stay.
- The front desk person was polite, friendly, and proficient.
- Check in was a breeze and away to my room I went.
- Very nice place both inside and outside.
- Cleanliness was obvious as the place is very well kept.
- Great room with all the expected ammenities and comfortable.
- Great value and they appreciate your business...
- This Super-8 is built in what feels like a residential neighborhood down the street from the main highway so it was QUIET!

- ZERO nice places anywhere close to go eat.

Room Tip: Check reviews closely and look for the commonality in the statements.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BQmaxted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

Nice room, hair dryer in room, safe (for a fee), no refrig or microwave available in room (disappointing). Vending available along w/ ice machine on the first floor near lobby (this is a 3-level property). Continental breakfast includes donuts, cereal, milk, fruit muffins, english muffins, coffee, orange & fruit juice (toaster & microwave were working). Computer available (when the propritor wasn't using it) in lobby for guests. We stayed in a non-smoking room but the strong smell of febreze greeted us upon entry - not sure why this was needed.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Penny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2012

nasty nasty nasty. I couldnt take the smoke every were....... I ask for a non smoke room but the the only smoke free area in the hotel I guess is the parking lot i coudn't sleep have to open the windows. I prefer sleep in the car next time.....

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carlos C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2012

I wanted a basic, no frills, clean stay and a reasonable price for an overnight stay in Front Royal which was super close to the entrance to Skyline Drive. Thankfully this place was it. Although the room could use some modern updates (old tv, 90's decor, but who cares?!), bed was hard, and the bathtub/shower creaked loudly when showering (can hear it out in the hallway - I heard one across the hall from me!), overall this place was good, no bugs, AC worked, no odd smells, and quiet. Breakfast was super basic (juice, coffee, doughnuts, which was promptly cleaned up at 9). Staff were friendly.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank TravelinGoof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2012

There is some room for improvement in this Super 8

The inside corridors smelled like hell as there is continuously someone smoking in it. The breakfast was very basic and a waffle machine and fruit could already do a lot.
Half of the toaster was not working and there was no coffee when we arrived but the last was corrected by the lady at the front desk.

There were items left in the fridge from the previous occupants.

The front desk people were helpful and the rooms were clean.

Contrary to what has been said here before our WIFI connection was very fast.

Allover the price/quality is not so bad.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BossErpe-Belgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2012 via mobile

Very basic it was clean but there was an odor when we first walked in the room. The wifi was terrible could not use my computer at all.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank barbra0825
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Front Royal
0.5 mi away
Quality Inn Skyline Drive
Quality Inn Skyline Drive
#3 of 10 in Front Royal
340 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Front Royal
Hampton Inn Front Royal
#1 of 10 in Front Royal
892 reviews
0.1 mi away
Royal Inn Motel
Royal Inn Motel
#6 of 10 in Front Royal
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows
1.8 mi away
Relax Inn Front Royal
Relax Inn Front Royal
#8 of 10 in Front Royal
8 reviews
10.2 mi away
Ramada Strasburg
Ramada Strasburg
#2 of 5 in Strasburg
616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Front Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Front Royal

Address: 111 South St, Hwy 340 & 55, Front Royal, VA 22630-2221
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Front Royal
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Front Royal
Price Range: $59 - $81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Front Royal 2*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our Super 8 Front Royal hotel near Shenandoah National Park. We are conveniently located off U.S. Highway 340, in the beautiful Shenandoah Valley. Situated in historic downtown Front Royal, our hotel makes it easy to visit area destinations with ease, including Randolph Macon Military Academy, and the U.S. Customs Training Center. Shenandoah National Park(Skyline Drive) Entrance is 1.2 miles away. Skyline Caverns is 1.5 miles from Super 8 Oasis Winery is 7 miles away Shenandoah Valley Golf Club is 8 miles away. Super 8 is also within a 10-minute walk of Blue Ridge Arts Council and Gallery and Front Royal Visitor's Center. Warren Rifles Confederate Museum and Belle Boyd Cottage are also within 15 minutes Several restaurants are within easy driving distance of the hotel, such as: Osteria 510 Italian Kitchen - 314ft Joe's Steakhouse -0.3 Miles Front Royal Diner -0.9 Miles Closest Airport: Washington Dulles International Airport - 40.2 miles ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Super 8 Front Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Front Royal Hotel Front Royal
Super Eight Front Royal
Front Royal Super 8
Front Royal Super Eight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing