We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vegetarian respected again!”
Review of Houlihan's

Houlihan's
Ranked #10 of 88 Restaurants in Front Royal
Price range: $11 - $25
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Forget 'casual dining.' That's an industry term so out of touch with how consumers eat and drink today. For premium quality and style; fare that's at times familiar and other times adventurous and a laid-back modern setting, Houlihan's is a true original.
Front Royal, Virginia
2 reviews
“Vegetarian respected again!”
Reviewed May 30, 2013

Houlihan's caters to the patron. The meatless meal I requested was great, with flavor and the presentation was wonderful. Thanks to the chef for making the patron happy!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank revstanley247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoulihansFrontRoyal, Manager at Houlihan's, responded to this review, June 1, 2013
revstanley247,

Houlihan's Restaurant + Bar is very happy to hear that we were able to succeed with your meal! Being able to prepare entrees from scratch gives us the ability to do so! Thank you so much for the great review!!! And we can't wait to serve you again really soon!


Shannon Young,
Beverage Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    105
    93
    58
    18
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington D.C.
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Good food, slow service”
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Ate here for breakfast before we checked out of the hotel. The restaurant is nice, new and clean inside. They serve as the Holiday Inn's restaurant and the breakfast menu is from the hotel but has a nice selection. Everything was good quality and fresh. The omelets said they were 3-egg but they must have been pretty small chickens, that said they were tasty. Kid's pancakes is 2 cakes plus 2 pieces of bacon. Toast is nice whole grain bread. Service was nice but it seemed to take an awfully long time to get the food, this seemed to be an issue with the kitchen though, not the waitress. The place was not terribly crowded so I don't think they were overwhelmed.

If staying here I'd definitely eat here again just because of the convenience and it was good, but I'd make sure I had plenty of time.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank thiswaythatway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoulihansFrontRoyal, Manager at Houlihan's, responded to this review, June 1, 2013
thiswaythatway,

Houlihan's Restaurant + Bar wants to thank you for leaving us a review, and is happy that you enjoyed your meal. We would, however, like to apologize that your meal seemed to take longer than it should have. We have a wonderful policy of steps of service that requires all servers to announce the time of your breakfast arrival. Now pending on what you have ordered, the amount of people in your party, and the pace of business walking in the door, these times will vary. But with that said, your meals should have been within the time frame we train them to be. I am very grateful you mentioned that it was not a server error, but perhaps the kitchen staff. I will be sure to relay this message to our staff and insure that they pick up their pace accordingly! Thank you again for your visit, and we look forward to serving you even better on your next stay!

Shannon Young
Beverage Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephens City, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Food, Drinks and Atmosphere”
Reviewed May 16, 2013

This is a great restaurant in a small town. We come in a few times a month from the Stephens City, VA area and really love the wings, stuffed chicken breast entree and their mini desserts. They have a really good drink selection too with quite a few beers on draft. I would recommend this restaurant to both locals and the traveler passing through while golfing or staying at the Holiday Inn.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank T N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoulihansFrontRoyal, Manager at Houlihan's, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
T N,


Wow!! You nailed it! Thank you for such a great review! I couldn't agree with you more. We, as a team, aim for and want you to have a great experience with your meal! And for those who may be traveling or need a place to stay, we are attached to a wonderful Holiday Inn & Suites that will be not only convenient for you, but incredibly comfortable and home away from home! Who could pass us up? A home welcoming place to stay with home cooking meals to enjoy! Can't wait to see you!


Beverage Manager,
Shannon Young
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Great for breakfast!”
Reviewed April 18, 2013

The restaurant is reached from the lobby of the hotel where we were staying at Front Royal. Our delicious cooked breakfast was made from scratch. You could not fault it.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Andy08London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoulihansFrontRoyal, Manager at Houlihan's, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Andy08London,


We appreciate your review and are very thankful you took your time to post one. From sun up to sun down, we are here to serve you excellent food for any meal of your day. Houlihan's Restaurant + Bar works very hard to ensure your appetites are satisfied and met, with our nicely portioned entrees and appetizers to the quality of fresh food, you will not be disappointed! Thank you again for sharing your great experience with us and we can't wait to see you again!


Beverage Manager,
Shannon Young
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Not the typical Houlihan's”
Reviewed April 2, 2013

run more like a local restaurant than a chain, excellent food, reliable service. Ate there three nights because other restauarants in this area are limited anyway and we were sure we would not do better, and the menu was big enough to do so.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank hikingfamilyphilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoulihansFrontRoyal, Manager at Houlihan's, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
hikingfamilyphilly,

Houlihan's Restaurant + Bar would like to thank you for taking your time to write us a review! We are so very pleased to hear that you were able to enjoy our plenty options of satisfied food! Why go far, when home cooking is right down the hall! But if you are traveling and searching for a relaxing environment to enjoy your delicious meal, we are the place for you! Thanks again, and we look forward to serving you very soon!


Beverage Manager,
Shannon Young
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Houlihan's also viewed

 

Been to Houlihan's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing