We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't just get soup...” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Houlihan's

Houlihan's
Ranked #11 of 87 Restaurants in Front Royal
Price range: $11 - $25
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Special occasions, Large groups, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Forget 'casual dining.' That's an industry term so out of touch with how consumers eat and drink today. For premium quality and style; fare that's at times familiar and other times adventurous and a laid-back modern setting, Houlihan's is a true original.
Winchester, Virginia
Level Contributor
111 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Don't just get soup...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013

They really frown on people coming for a light lunch of soup, they get really annoyed to the extent that they go off about it with other wait staff in front of the customer. Not a very welcoming attitude.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank PixiePixels1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoulihansFrontRoyal, Manager at Houlihan's, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
PixiePixels1,

Houlihan's Restaurant + Bar would like to apologize for your past experience with us. We would also like to let you know that we encourage all guests to visit and have what ever they desire. Our number one priority is our guests satisfaction and needs. If there is any information that may help us correct our reaction, please call (540) 631-3045, and ask to speak with any manager on duty. We will do our best to address the situation so that will not happen again. Thank you again for your review, and we look forward to another chance to impress!

Beverage Manager,
Shannon Speary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    87
    53
    15
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
york, pa
Level Contributor
89 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Excellent service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013

We ate there this past weekend and found the food to be good and the service was excellent! Our waiter was very good, he didn't hover but he was there when we needed him without having to search him out. The manager was also very professional and on top of things. We were staying at the hotel and weren't sure about eating here due to price. However, they were priced the same (for what we ate) as the Applebee's down the street...only Houlihan's tasted much, much better. We will definitely eat here again.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank kkitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoulihansFrontRoyal, Manager at Houlihan's, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
kkitt,

Thank you for posting such a great review on trip advisor! We love to hear such great news and are satisfied our guests are enjoying all that we offer! Let's make this an annually event! We encourage regulars and love to see familiar faces! Next time you're ready to travel or just need to get away, come see us! Virginia loves having you! Thanks again, and we hope to see you soon!

Beverage Manager,
Shannon Speary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colebrook, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
424 reviews
219 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
“Great restaurant!!! Delicious good and awesome service...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

You never go wrong at Houlihan!!!

Very gréât service...

Very good food..

Generous portion and fair price...

I had the streak and was delighted...

I may come back for breakfast!

Conveniently located next to the Holiday Inn... A great value!!!

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank benoitleblanc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoulihansFrontRoyal, Manager at Houlihan's, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
benoitleblanc,

Houlihan's Restaurant + Bar would like to say thank you for taking your time to review us on trip advisor! We are very pleased to here our service and food quality met your expectations! We also must let you know that we enjoyed your picture post as well!! We encourage more!!! Thank you again, and we look forward to seeing you and your pictures again real soon!

Beverage Manager,
Shannon Speary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, Virginia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Finish Golfing?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

After a round of golf a the Shadows idulge yourself with a wonderful meal at Houlihan's. Breakfast, lunch and dinner or just a sandwich and drink. They also have a wonderful banquet facility.

Helpful?
3 Thank Jtingle13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoulihansFrontRoyal, Manager at Houlihan's, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Jtingle13,

Thank you for responding to trip advisor with your great review! We are so happy to hear you were pleased! Speaking of golfing...tis the season! Don't forget to bring some family and friends! Houlihan's Restaurant + Bar thanks you again, and looks forward to serving you soon!

Beverage Manager,
Shannon Speary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Front Royal, Virginia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“great food and fantastic service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

I love this place! Fresh ingredients, fabulous food, good atmosphere and service. I do wish that the mussels had not been taken off of the appetizer menu, but that is my only complaint.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank katiebrinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoulihansFrontRoyal, Manager at Houlihan's, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
katiebrinson,

Thank you Katie, for taking your time to review us on TripAdvisor! We appreciate your thoughts about your experience with us. I am also very glad to hear you had such a wonderful time! I would like to let you know some good news too! If you are ever in the mood for your favorite Steamed Mussels (appetizer), we still carry all the ingredients to make this dish, and if you request it to your server, we will be glad to prepare it for you!! So all-in-all, Houlihan's Restaurant + Bar is here to serve!! If there is anything else that you would like to share, please do! We look forward to seeing you again, soon!


Shannon Speary
Beverage Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Houlihan's also viewed

 
Front Royal, VA
 

Been to Houlihan's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing