We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Houlihan's

Houlihan's
Ranked #11 of 87 Restaurants in Front Royal
Price range: $11 - $25
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children, Kids, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Forget 'casual dining.' That's an industry term so out of touch with how consumers eat and drink today. For premium quality and style; fare that's at times familiar and other times adventurous and a laid-back modern setting, Houlihan's is a true original.
Manchester
Level Contributor
237 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Great experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012 via mobile

We are a vegetarian couple and its sometimes difficult to find good food. We were staying at the Holiday inn which adjoins the restaurant, it was a rainy evening and it was ideal as it was also a bar! I was a bit irritated at having to search for Vege options on the menu, but fortunately our waiter was really helpful and such a cheerful guy. We had a selection of dishes which we shared:vegetarian pizza, stuffed mushrooms, Caesar salad and a spinach salad. Quite enough for a healthy tasty dinner for two. The spinach salad was particularly good. Although full, I thought I'd try a dessert and went for the apple pie which was wonderful. And very reasonably priced. We had a $20 allowance for breakfast there (from the Holiday Inn) so went for the wholesome option with poached eggs on rye toast and some lovely fruit. Good coffee too. With the fruit juice we had we overran the $20 allowance but it was worth it. Very good service as well. We were very pleasantly surprised to find such fresh, quality food in what I assume is a chain. Thank you.

Helpful?
1 Thank MargaretJay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoulihansFrontRoyal, Manager at Houlihan's, responded to this review, October 7, 2012
MargaretJay,

We are so proud and thankful for your review! Having a large variety of options on the menu ensures our guests to always find something yummy to eat! I will definitely pass this review on to our staff. They will be happy to hear another satisfied experience. Let's make this great one an annual event!!! Look forward to seeing you again soon! Thank you so much!


Shannon Speary
Beverage Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    87
    53
    15
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Come sit at bar ask for AMY she is awesome, but they are all go at the bar”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012

The food is great drinks are great . The people here are super nice clean and service is great.kids eat free when you stay at hotel. Good omelets ,fresh juice.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Misterjacksmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoulihansFrontRoyal, Manager at Houlihan's, responded to this review, September 30, 2012
Misterjacksmith,

Amy is definitely AWESOME! She is our veteran bartender and can make one heck of a drink! And if that drink doesn't put a smile on your face, she will! We welcome all with BIG smiles and inside jokes for endless fun! Become one of our regulars today! You can't turn down our prices, and the options are unbelievable! Everybody may have Long Island Iced Teas, but ours can come in SUPER-SIZE! Request a Mug of our Texas Beach and you'll be smiling the rest of the night! And if you want to keep the party going, stay at our Holiday Inn and join us for breakfast! MMmm, Biscuits and gravy!! OH YEAH!!! Thank you again for all of your compliments! Hope to see you soon! I will be sure to let Amy know she's doing such a great job!

Shannon Speary
Beverage Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mercer Island, Washington
Level Contributor
271 reviews
195 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Stuffed mushrooms!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012 via mobile

Was surprised to find a Houlihan's in Front Royal of all places! Enjoyed frequenting this place in NOLA and Charlotte and when the north Charlotte location closed shop, it had been at least a decade since now that I'd been to one.

The stuffed mushrooms are big, delicious and not to be missed. Oozing with cream cheese and chives and the horseradish sauce for dipping them is the perfect complement, and always has been. Also, try the Asian-inspired calamari.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MASTERPC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoulihansFrontRoyal, Manager at Houlihan's, responded to this review, September 30, 2012
MASTERPC,

Long time-no see!! We are so glad that you have found our diamond in the rough! Thank you for such a great review! Our signature Shrooms will put you through the roof. Not to mention, adding a Mango Rum Drop to top it off! There's no going wrong here at the Houlihan's Restaurant + Bar! Come back soon and join us for Happy Hour! These prices can't be beat! We look forward to your next visit!


Shannon Speary
Beverage Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown, VA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic Food - Always!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

Great service! Awesome food! Love the options on the menu and the desserts! Have eaten there for breakfast, lunch and dinner and have never been disappointed.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank javanutt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoulihansFrontRoyal, Manager at Houlihan's, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
javanut,


Houlihan's Restaurant + Bar is so privileged to receive such a great review! I am so anxious to relay your message to the rest of our staff. We have been training and prepping extra lately to ensure our guests are all happy! Since you seem to be a regular, next time ask for me and I will be sure to come say hello! We love our VIP visitors, and want to spread the joy as often as possible! Thank you again for taking your time to share your wonderful experience! See you soon!


Shannon Speary
Beverage Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Real Cooking at a Chain Restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

This restaurant was at the very nice Holiday Inn ( Express?) We were tired after a long day on the road and it was so easy to eat right at the hotel,
The veggie pizza was so good. The potato soup creamy and the spinach salad one of the best I've ever eaten.The only problem was that I only ordered the app. salad it arrived on a large square plate when it could have been served on a saucer.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank L M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoulihansFrontRoyal, Manager at Houlihan's, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
L M,

I am so excited to write you back on your review! Why?! Because I want to say thank you on behalf of Houlihan's Restaurant + Bar! And in light of your review, we have increased our scrumptious spinach salad portion. We realize that our food is tasty and filling, but also have understood the demand of such great food. Thanks to you, we brought BIG to our plates not only in value, but size as well. We are so happy to satisfy and look forward to seeing you again!


Shannon Speary
Beverage Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Houlihan's also viewed

 
Front Royal, VA
 

Been to Houlihan's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing