We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delicious breakfast.”
Review of Houlihan's

Houlihan's
Ranked #11 of 87 Restaurants in Front Royal
Price range: $11 - $25
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Bar scene, Business meetings, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Forget 'casual dining.' That's an industry term so out of touch with how consumers eat and drink today. For premium quality and style; fare that's at times familiar and other times adventurous and a laid-back modern setting, Houlihan's is a true original.
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
34 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Delicious breakfast.”
Reviewed May 30, 2012

Would have loved egg whites only but not an option but it was good and fresh and the service was excellent.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank kmafla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoulihansFrontRoyal, Manager at Houlihan's, responded to this review, June 3, 2012
kmafla,

First, I would like to thank you for your review. Every one matters! We appreciate your opinion and are happy you enjoyed your stay. I would also like to apologize that you were unable to have the meal your heart was set on having. Houlihan's Restaurant + Bar is known for our scratch kitchen, and although our breakfast is off of the Holiday Inn menu, we would still try to customize a dish that you may enjoy even more. For instance, your eggs. Feel free to ask your server what you may be looking for on your next visit, and we guarantee to do our best to make you what you crave to the best of our abilities. Thank you again, and we look forward to seeing you in the near future.

Shannon Speary
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    97
    92
    54
    17
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Lunch Did Not Disappoint.”
Reviewed May 24, 2012

I drive past this Restaurant on 522 when in the area driving for work. I stopped in for lunch and was impressed. Was fairly busy but service did not suffer. I had a combo meal from their Noon Menu. It came with a salad and was more than enough food at a fair price. The service was great, drinks refilled in a timely manner, friendly smiles all around and an offer for dessert despite it being the middle of the day. I was let down by the off the wall music mix playing in the background, but that is honestly my biggest complaint. I will try dinner here some time based on my lunch experience. I bet they would do great breakfast service if they were to ever start offering breakfast. Until then I will be sure to keep coming in for lunch (and dinner, soon).

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank C4L-VA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoulihansFrontRoyal, Manager at Houlihan's, responded to this review, August 5, 2012
C4L-VA,

Houlihan's Restaurant + Bar wants to give you a shout out for your awesome review!! Thank you! You are absolutely right about our generous portions off of our Nooner menu! Your guaranteed leaving fully satisfied! Our lunch prices are equally valuable too. We would also like to announce some more good news... we serve an excellent breakfast menu!! Our doors are always open at 6:30 a.m. every morning, Sunday through Saturday! Do you need somewhere to have your Sunday Brunch? We would love to see you!! Thank you very much again for your fantastic review! Be sure to update us on your dinner experience!

Shannon Speary
Beverage Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
99 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Nice place kid friendly”
Reviewed May 24, 2012 via mobile

Eat here everytime I stay at the adjoining holiday inn. Good service and the food is decent. Kid friendly

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Muffinhead2580
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoulihansFrontRoyal, Manager at Houlihan's, responded to this review, June 3, 2012
Muffinhead2580,

Thank you for taking the time to review our restaurant! Our service has always had one goal, the guest leaves full and satisfied. And what better guests to have than the children!! We offer a coloring contest for the little ones whom are local. So if your little artist is having Houlihan's, be sure to turn in their pictures to your server or host on duty. Winner gets a free meal!! Hope to see you at the Blue Ridge Shadows Resort again real soon!!

Shannon Speary
Beverage Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
126 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Great breakfast!”
Reviewed May 18, 2012

We enjoyed breakfast here following a night's stay at the hotel and would recommend it for travelers.

My Fruit Salad with Egg and Muffin or Toast was only $4.50 and came with a huge bowl of fresh fruit (strawberries, blueberries, a whole orange quartered, and red grapes), a good portion of eggs, and an English muffin with jelly and butter. My husband thought his blueberry pancakes were very good too.

The coffee comes in an insulated pot that stays at the table. Thank you! The server even asked if we would like to take the remainder with us in a "To Go" cup!

The restaurant is quiet and stylish---a nice place to relax and read the paper before hitting the road.

A great beginning to the day.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank HumminAlong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoulihansFrontRoyal, Manager at Houlihan's, responded to this review, May 23, 2012
HumminAlong,

Breakfast at Houlihan's is always a treat! Fresh, fast, and affordable is what we serve! Thank you for expressing your fabulous meal. We are so happy you enjoyed your service as well. For all the morning birds out there, there is no better way to start off your day. Our Rainforest Certified coffee and fresh Tropicana orange juice are a sure way to energize and wake you up. We promote scratch breakfast, with a healthy variety of entrees. We would like to encourage your next visit with us, and recommend the Best for Breakfast. This meal offers a little bit of everything, and is always a popular choice!

Shannon Speary
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good food and great service”
Reviewed May 14, 2012

Very good service and good plus reasonably priced meals

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Kbysb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoulihansFrontRoyal, Manager at Houlihan's, responded to this review, May 23, 2012
Kbysb,

Thank you for taking the time to review Houlihan's Restaurant + Bar located in Front Royal, Virginia. Your post expressed our key values and goals in our business. We are extremely glad you enjoyed your visit, and look forward to giving you another great and appetizing experience.

Shannon Speary
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Houlihan's also viewed

 

Been to Houlihan's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing