We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great breakfast!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Houlihan's

Houlihan's
Ranked #11 of 87 Restaurants in Front Royal
Price range: $11 - $25
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Families with children, Bar scene, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Forget 'casual dining.' That's an industry term so out of touch with how consumers eat and drink today. For premium quality and style; fare that's at times familiar and other times adventurous and a laid-back modern setting, Houlihan's is a true original.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
126 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Great breakfast!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2012

We enjoyed breakfast here following a night's stay at the hotel and would recommend it for travelers.

My Fruit Salad with Egg and Muffin or Toast was only $4.50 and came with a huge bowl of fresh fruit (strawberries, blueberries, a whole orange quartered, and red grapes), a good portion of eggs, and an English muffin with jelly and butter. My husband thought his blueberry pancakes were very good too.

The coffee comes in an insulated pot that stays at the table. Thank you! The server even asked if we would like to take the remainder with us in a "To Go" cup!

The restaurant is quiet and stylish---a nice place to relax and read the paper before hitting the road.

A great beginning to the day.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank HumminAlong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoulihansFrontRoyal, Manager at Houlihan's, responded to this review, May 23, 2012
HumminAlong,

Breakfast at Houlihan's is always a treat! Fresh, fast, and affordable is what we serve! Thank you for expressing your fabulous meal. We are so happy you enjoyed your service as well. For all the morning birds out there, there is no better way to start off your day. Our Rainforest Certified coffee and fresh Tropicana orange juice are a sure way to energize and wake you up. We promote scratch breakfast, with a healthy variety of entrees. We would like to encourage your next visit with us, and recommend the Best for Breakfast. This meal offers a little bit of everything, and is always a popular choice!

Shannon Speary
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    87
    53
    15
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good food and great service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2012

Very good service and good plus reasonably priced meals

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Kbysb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoulihansFrontRoyal, Manager at Houlihan's, responded to this review, May 23, 2012
Kbysb,

Thank you for taking the time to review Houlihan's Restaurant + Bar located in Front Royal, Virginia. Your post expressed our key values and goals in our business. We are extremely glad you enjoyed your visit, and look forward to giving you another great and appetizing experience.

Shannon Speary
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Hope, Ontario
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“What A Change”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2012

After 3 years of wonderful visits - a disaster! Stayed at the great Holiday Inn as usual - looking forward to a great meal at Houlihan's. Welcomed by the hostess from Hell, who had no personality at all - a waitress who couldn’t care less - a meal that was less than good! What has happened in less than 6 months?
We will stay at the Holiday Inn, but never eat at Houlihan's again!

  • Visited April 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank healey100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoulihansFrontRoyal, Manager at Houlihan's, responded to this review, May 23, 2012
healey100,

We would like to start by sincerely apologizing for your poor experience with us during your stay. I have seen your past reviews and noticed you have always taken the time to express how great your visit was. Thank you! We are always looking for ways to, not only improve as a business, but to our service for our valued guests as well. If we may ask of you to please call 540-631-3045 to speak with a manager, we would love to hear your thoughts and any details you may have from your last stay, so that we may improve. I would also like to personally encourage you to come back and revisit us, so that we may aim to impress.

Shannon Speary
Beverage Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“FUN - HIP - FRESH FOOD”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2012

Overall - just right! No need to drive off-site to look for a place to eat and perfect on the purse too!! $$-$

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Lynne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoulihansFrontRoyal, Manager at Houlihan's, responded to this review, May 23, 2012
Lynn H

We want to thank you and announce our appreciation for your wonderful review! Not only is it rare to find a restaurant of food with such value, our conveniently attached restaurant helps our guests have a more fun-filled and relaxed stay. We are grateful to see our hard work acknowledged, and look forward to serving you again in the near future.

Shannon Speary
Beverage Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire, England
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Good food, convenient if you stay at Holiday Inn”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2012

Enjoyed the food, although the starter was massive (too big for one person).

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank cheshireman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoulihansFrontRoyal, Manager at Houlihan's, responded to this review, April 30, 2012
cheshireman,

Thank you for your time to review us. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your experience. I will definitely have to agree with you that when you have Houlihan's, you never leave hungry! Our fresh ingredients, as well as our generous portions, are a proud factor of our restaurant. I encourage you to revisit and always try something different. You never know what may become your new favorite!

Shannon
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Houlihan's also viewed

 

Been to Houlihan's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing