We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good restaurant in a hotel that even local return to enjoy.”
Review of Houlihan's

Houlihan's
Ranked #10 of 88 Restaurants in Front Royal
Price range: $11 - $25
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Forget 'casual dining.' That's an industry term so out of touch with how consumers eat and drink today. For premium quality and style; fare that's at times familiar and other times adventurous and a laid-back modern setting, Houlihan's is a true original.
Front Royal, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“A good restaurant in a hotel that even local return to enjoy.”
Reviewed January 28, 2012

The manager use to be a man by the name of John. He has since moved on, but the food continues to be a place that you could count on for a good meal.

Helpful?
3 Thank dogface1739
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnFrontRoyal, Manager at Houlihan's, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Thank you very much for your comments. We appreciate that you took the time to share a few words about your experiences. Thank you, as well, for your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    105
    93
    58
    18
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great breakfasts!”
Reviewed January 9, 2012

I came down just as they were closing up for breakfast but they still were very courteous and let me order from the breakfast/brunch menu. It was delicious!

I also saw their attention to detail when helping out two different groups of people who had some physical handicaps and/or were elderly -- the staff was very helpful and kind. I'd go back again in a flash!

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
4 Thank readhd59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnFrontRoyal, General Manager at Houlihan's, responded to this review, January 11, 2012
readhd59,

Thank you for sharing your experience at the Houlihan's Restaurant + Bar during your recent visit to Front Royal. I am happy to hear that we accommodated you by keeping breakfast open a little later for you. This is the service that we hope to provide each and every guest at our restaurant. We hope you come to dine at our restaurant again in the near future.

Brent Jackson
General Manager, Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Level 6 Contributor
299 reviews
186 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 233 helpful votes
“So Good We Came Twice!”
Reviewed January 5, 2012

We were staying at the Holiday Inn next door & had vouchers for a free breakfast the next day, but decided to eat dinner here as well. The dinner was quite good and the kids menu was a hit (which is unusual with my crowd!). The staff was attentative & friendly. I also enjoyed the atmosphere. We returned the next day for breakfast, & were pleased with that meal also. Since this visit, I have made it a point to visit the Houlihan's that is located closer to my home - and was quite pleased with that one as well!

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank ErnTrekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnFrontRoyal, Manager at Houlihan's, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Thank you very much for your comments. We appreciate that you took the time to share a few words about your experiences. Thank you, as well, for your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Bar and Service Excellent”
Reviewed November 26, 2011

Bar staff and wait staff in restaurant are excellent. Food is average, maybe slightly above. But drinks and good service are way above average.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
4 Thank Rob_Gillis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnFrontRoyal, General Manager at Houlihan's, responded to this review, January 11, 2012
Rob_Gillis,

Thank you for sharing your review with the TripAdvisor community. I am very excited to hear that you enjoyed your experience at the bar, but I am sad to hear that you only found our made-from-scratch food to be slightly above average. I would love to hear more about this from you. If you would be kind enough to email at houlihansfrontroyal@gmail.com and let us know what it is that you ordered. We intend to provide delicious food to our guests and any feedback you could provide could help us better satisfy future guests.

Brent Jackson
General Manager, Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Front Royal, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Blue Ridge Shadows Development”
Reviewed November 22, 2011

Restaurant is associated with new Holliday Inn and offers seating in the dining room or bar area (booth or bar stool). Excellent food & beverage.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
4 Thank Bill W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnFrontRoyal, General Manager at Houlihan's, responded to this review, January 11, 2012
Bill W,

We appreciate your feedback. Thank you for partaking in everything that Blue Ridge Shadows has to offer and for sharing your comments on the food and beverage at Houlihans.

Brent Jackson
General Manager, Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Houlihan's also viewed

 
Front Royal, VA
Lake Frederick, VA
 

Been to Houlihan's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing