We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You will not find better hospitality”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Front Royal
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Woodward House on Manor Grade
Ranked #1 of 11 Front Royal B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“You will not find better hospitality”
Reviewed May 31, 2014

Joan and Bob made us feel welcome as never before in a B&B.
We arrived late in the evening and they invited to join the conversation with other guests and offered us complimentary beer and wine. So nice.
Their breakfast cannot be beaten, so take your time in the morning to enjoy their homemade muffins, fresh fruit, delicious pancakes, fresh eggs and much more! And every evening we had homemade cookies waiting for us in our bedroom.
The location is great, so close to the entrance of the park; the whole place is so welcoming and relaxing...what a great stay!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ste_Dan09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    7
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
72
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kailua, Hawaii
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2014

Joan and Bob Kaye continue to provide the best in hospitality. Breakfast can't be beat, french toast, veggie omelettes, pancakes, you name it, it is there. Rooms are charming, wonderful bed, comfortable sitting rooms, homemade cookies in the room...definitely the best in Front Royal!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mesmith210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckley, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2014

I have stayed at the Woodward House three times in the last 6 months and I don't know how a B&B could be any better. Joan and Bob Kaye are the ultimate hosts, making all of their guests feel like family. Breakfast is simply wonderful with fresh fruit, steel-cut oatmeal with multiple garnishes, pastries, house made butter, free range eggs with meat, and much more. The suites (not just rooms) are beautiful and very tastefully furnished. There's a complimentary bar with wine and draft beer and comfortable parlors for conversation. It's location, only blocks from the north end of the Shenandoah National Park in a town with a strong Civil War history, is perfect for the nature or history buff. You will not be disappointed if you visit.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2014

Another wonderful stay at Woodward House. We have stayed here many times over the past ten years for Girls Weekend and are reminded with each visit of the wonderful experience we have at Woodward House. This weekend was a 50th birthday celebration with visits to the Virginia vineyards. When we walked in the front door we felt like we were home. The rooms are always clean and cozy, Joan and Bob are gracious hosts, and the breakfast is abundant and delicious. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and look forward to coming back in the summer.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Reelgirl1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2013

We recently stayed here to view the fall foliage in Shenandoah National Park. It was a wonderful experience. Breakfast was superb and the innkeepers were gracious. I would highly recommend this B&B and plan on making this an annual trip!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NoraM77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

We stayed at Woodward House for 2 nights in September 2012, at the very beginning of a two week road trip and we couldn't have chosen a better place to start our holiday. Bob and Joan were wonderful hosts and we really did arrive as strangers and leave as friends. The breakfast were wonderful, home-cooked fare and we enjoyed chatting to Joan on the porch in the evening. Each of the rooms is unique. Ours was spacious and comfortable. The b&b is in a great location for accessing the skyline drive and for walking in the forest. For an experience of true American hospitality, we would definitely recommend this guesthouse.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Road tripping through Front Royal with some friends and we needed a place to stay the night. We stopped at a gas station to figure things out. While we were searching TripAdvisor we looked up and there was Woodward House. We checked the reviews, made a call, booked, and headed up the hill.

First, Joan and Bob were awesome. Very friendly and great to talk to, they did a fantastic job making us feel welcome. The rooms were very nice, clean, and had everything one would need, even some homemade cookies! The breakfast was awesome. I ordered a vegetable omelet and I literally thought it was made in the garden! Everything was so fresh, even the eggs...they have chickens! Fresh fruit, juice, coffee, delicious cinnamon bun!

So if you're in the area I highly recommend it. It's also less than a mile from the start of Skyline Drive which is a great ride. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: We got a room towards the back of the house which was great, we didn't hear any road noise at ni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MikeNJ76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Front Royal
3.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Front Royal
Hampton Inn Front Royal
#1 of 10 in Front Royal
846 reviews
5.2 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows
0.5 mi away
Quality Inn Skyline Drive
Quality Inn Skyline Drive
#3 of 10 in Front Royal
301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Royal Inn Motel
Royal Inn Motel
#4 of 10 in Front Royal
54 reviews
1.7 mi away
Relax Inn Front Royal
Relax Inn Front Royal
#6 of 10 in Front Royal
6 reviews
9.3 mi away
Wayside Inn
Wayside Inn
#1 of 3 in Middletown
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woodward House on Manor Grade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodward House on Manor Grade

Property: Woodward House on Manor Grade
Address: 413 S Royal Ave, Front Royal, VA 22630-3229
Location: United States > Virginia > Front Royal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Front Royal
Number of rooms: 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing