We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must Stay B&B”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Front Royal
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Woodward House on Manor Grade
Ranked #1 of 11 Front Royal B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 4, 2013

We have the pleasure of staying at Woodward House 2-3 times per year, and after every visit we begin to make plans for our next trip. We have been staying with Joan and Bob for many years. They are fabulous hosts! Whether you need a few quiet days away from Washington, DC or if you are just passing through Front Royal, you MUST STAY at the Woodward House. Every room is beautifully decorated and each has a private bath. There are two detached, huge cottages just steps away from the B&B, and they have gorgeous accommodations with private baths, kitchens and porches. Joan's daily to-order, skip-lunch breakfasts are First Class, and prepares you for a day of hiking, canoeing or walking around town. Enjoying the evening complimentary beer and wine is a perfect way to complete a peaceful day.

Room Tip: Splurge and reserve a suite with a fireplace. The two cottages are really fun, too, with a fireplac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (120)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

78 - 84 of 120 reviews

Reviewed November 12, 2012

We have stayed at the Woodward House on three occasions and can honestly say that you cannot ask for better hosts or accommodations. The rooms are immaculate. The breakfast is amazing and our hosts are a delight. I particularly enjoy wandering around the house examining all the great objects they have collected over the years. You will feel completely at home.

Room Tip: We like Nancy's Perch. The cottages are quite nice though we have not personally stayed in them...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CheshireTurkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

After driving the entire length of the Skyline Drive we arrived at the Woodward House to be welcomed by the warmest of hosts. Our cottage was fantastic, breakfast as truly "no lunch necessary", and we will definitely return!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank traveller2846
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

We went on the advice of friends and had a lovely time. The b&b is quaint and charming, the breakfast was DIVINE, and the hosts are wonderful. If you are in the area and looking for a b&b, you will like this place.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
Thank Dawn F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

The folks who run this place are super-friendly and helpful, the rooms are beautiful and immaculate, and the breakfast cannot be beat.

I always choose this B&B whenever I'm nearby. I just completed a three-week meander throughout the south and th Woodward was the best out of all the pla

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MLS_NJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2012

Having never been at a B&B in the Virgina area, I couldn't have been more pleased with the wonderful experience my mom and I had at the Woodward House. Looking for a weekend of wine tours and relaxation, we got exactly that. Perfect recommendations on which vineyards to visit, a bar in the living room that was ours for the taking at night, and amazing service! Joan and Bob were wonderful hosts - inviting, charming, and willing to chat with us over a beer at "the bar". The room was comfy and welcoming with wonderful smelling shampoos and lotions -- as well as fresh cookies. Add in what has to go down as the best breakfast in the world (my choice - chocolate chip blueberry pancakes, can't go wrong) and you are set! I will definitely be coming back soon!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Alexandra N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2012

We stayed at Woodward House at the beginning and end of our bike trip on the Skyline Drive. It's perfectly located for that, about a half mile away from the Drive. There are also some very good restaurants a few blocks away.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Charles M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Front Royal
3.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Front Royal
Hampton Inn Front Royal
#1 of 10 in Front Royal
901 reviews
5.2 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows
9.3 mi away
Wayside Inn
Wayside Inn
#1 of 3 in Middletown
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Quality Inn Skyline Drive
Quality Inn Skyline Drive
#3 of 10 in Front Royal
341 reviews
19 mi away
The George Washington A Wyndham Grand Hotel
2.2 mi away
Lackawanna B&B
Lackawanna B&B
#3 of 11 in Front Royal
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woodward House on Manor Grade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodward House on Manor Grade

Address: 413 S Royal Ave, Front Royal, VA 22630-3229
Location: United States > Virginia > Front Royal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Front Royal
Number of rooms: 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing