We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Place to Stay!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Front Royal
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Woodward House on Manor Grade
Ranked #1 of 10 Front Royal B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Central, NJ
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Wonderful Place to Stay!”
Reviewed November 1, 2012

After driving the entire length of the Skyline Drive we arrived at the Woodward House to be welcomed by the warmest of hosts. Our cottage was fantastic, breakfast as truly "no lunch necessary", and we will definitely return!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traveller2846
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    7
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
70
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012 via mobile

We went on the advice of friends and had a lovely time. The b&b is quaint and charming, the breakfast was DIVINE, and the hosts are wonderful. If you are in the area and looking for a b&b, you will like this place.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Bunnieandmerlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

The folks who run this place are super-friendly and helpful, the rooms are beautiful and immaculate, and the breakfast cannot be beat.

I always choose this B&B whenever I'm nearby. I just completed a three-week meander throughout the south and th Woodward was the best out of all the pla

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MLS_NJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2012

Having never been at a B&B in the Virgina area, I couldn't have been more pleased with the wonderful experience my mom and I had at the Woodward House. Looking for a weekend of wine tours and relaxation, we got exactly that. Perfect recommendations on which vineyards to visit, a bar in the living room that was ours for the taking at night, and amazing service! Joan and Bob were wonderful hosts - inviting, charming, and willing to chat with us over a beer at "the bar". The room was comfy and welcoming with wonderful smelling shampoos and lotions -- as well as fresh cookies. Add in what has to go down as the best breakfast in the world (my choice - chocolate chip blueberry pancakes, can't go wrong) and you are set! I will definitely be coming back soon!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alexandra N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2012

We stayed at Woodward House at the beginning and end of our bike trip on the Skyline Drive. It's perfectly located for that, about a half mile away from the Drive. There are also some very good restaurants a few blocks away.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charles M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2012

Bob is a wonderful host -- friendly and charming, we were made to fell at home and would definitely stay again if we were in the area. The room was clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CastellanosML
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, England
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2012 via mobile

One of the strangest but most welcoming and truly lovely bed and breakfasts I have ever stayed in! amazing food, free beer and a stepladder to get up to bed! It was beautiful and bob and Joan are the best hosts. Book it, you won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bluestoops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Front Royal
3.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Front Royal
Hampton Inn Front Royal
#1 of 9 in Front Royal
830 reviews
5.2 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows
0.5 mi away
Quality Inn Skyline Drive
Quality Inn Skyline Drive
#6 of 9 in Front Royal
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Royal Inn Motel
Royal Inn Motel
#4 of 9 in Front Royal
53 reviews
10.4 mi away
Hotel Strasburg
Hotel Strasburg
#3 of 5 in Strasburg
228 reviews
9.3 mi away
Wayside Inn
Wayside Inn
#1 of 3 in Middletown
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woodward House on Manor Grade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodward House on Manor Grade

Property: Woodward House on Manor Grade
Address: 413 S Royal Ave, Front Royal, VA 22630-3229
Location: United States > Virginia > Front Royal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Front Royal
Number of rooms: 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing