We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a fun little place!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Front Royal
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Woodward House on Manor Grade
Ranked #1 of 11 Front Royal B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 25, 2012

We went on the advice of friends and had a lovely time. The b&b is quaint and charming, the breakfast was DIVINE, and the hosts are wonderful. If you are in the area and looking for a b&b, you will like this place.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
Thank Bunnieandmerlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (116)
There are newer reviews for Woodward House on Manor Grade
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

77 - 83 of 116 reviews

Reviewed September 24, 2012

The folks who run this place are super-friendly and helpful, the rooms are beautiful and immaculate, and the breakfast cannot be beat.

I always choose this B&B whenever I'm nearby. I just completed a three-week meander throughout the south and th Woodward was the best out of all the pla

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MLS_NJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2012

Having never been at a B&B in the Virgina area, I couldn't have been more pleased with the wonderful experience my mom and I had at the Woodward House. Looking for a weekend of wine tours and relaxation, we got exactly that. Perfect recommendations on which vineyards to visit, a bar in the living room that was ours for the taking at night, and amazing service! Joan and Bob were wonderful hosts - inviting, charming, and willing to chat with us over a beer at "the bar". The room was comfy and welcoming with wonderful smelling shampoos and lotions -- as well as fresh cookies. Add in what has to go down as the best breakfast in the world (my choice - chocolate chip blueberry pancakes, can't go wrong) and you are set! I will definitely be coming back soon!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Alexandra N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2012

We stayed at Woodward House at the beginning and end of our bike trip on the Skyline Drive. It's perfectly located for that, about a half mile away from the Drive. There are also some very good restaurants a few blocks away.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Charles M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2012

Bob is a wonderful host -- friendly and charming, we were made to fell at home and would definitely stay again if we were in the area. The room was clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CastellanosML
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2012 via mobile

One of the strangest but most welcoming and truly lovely bed and breakfasts I have ever stayed in! amazing food, free beer and a stepladder to get up to bed! It was beautiful and bob and Joan are the best hosts. Book it, you won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bluestoops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2012

This was absolutely delightful! Spend a coulee of days here, and enjoyed it mightily. From the cheerful greeting of the innkeeper through the goodbye breakfast, it was an experience to remember. Joan and Bob are both pleasant , helpful, interesting folks, and they really strive to make their large house a home to all. We had ( and i can't figure out why) been given an upgrade from a room to a suite, and we adored it!! It was like a little apartment of our own, so we didn't go out and tour one afternoon, just sat around and absorbed the atmosphere. Very strongly recommend it.

Room Tip: If you wan to feel like newlyweds in your first home, try Elizabeth's Suite!!! LIttle icing roo...
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cutthroatbrook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Front Royal
3.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Front Royal
Hampton Inn Front Royal
#1 of 10 in Front Royal
857 reviews
5.2 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows
0.5 mi away
Quality Inn Skyline Drive
Quality Inn Skyline Drive
#3 of 10 in Front Royal
316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Royal Inn Motel
Royal Inn Motel
#5 of 10 in Front Royal
57 reviews
9.3 mi away
Wayside Inn
Wayside Inn
#1 of 3 in Middletown
89 reviews
1.7 mi away
Relax Inn Front Royal
Relax Inn Front Royal
#6 of 10 in Front Royal
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woodward House on Manor Grade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodward House on Manor Grade

Address: 413 S Royal Ave, Front Royal, VA 22630-3229
Location: United States > Virginia > Front Royal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Front Royal
Number of rooms: 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing