We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“What a fun little place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Woodward House on Manor Grade

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Front Royal
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Woodward House on Manor Grade
Save
You added Woodward House on Manor Grade to your Saves list
Ranked #1 of 11 Front Royal B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
83 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“What a fun little place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012 via mobile

We went on the advice of friends and had a lovely time. The b&b is quaint and charming, the breakfast was DIVINE, and the hosts are wonderful. If you are in the area and looking for a b&b, you will like this place.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Bunnieandmerlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    7
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
54
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Somerset
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

The folks who run this place are super-friendly and helpful, the rooms are beautiful and immaculate, and the breakfast cannot be beat.

I always choose this B&B whenever I'm nearby. I just completed a three-week meander throughout the south and th Woodward was the best out of all the pla

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MLS_NJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

Having never been at a B&B in the Virgina area, I couldn't have been more pleased with the wonderful experience my mom and I had at the Woodward House. Looking for a weekend of wine tours and relaxation, we got exactly that. Perfect recommendations on which vineyards to visit, a bar in the living room that was ours for the taking at night, and amazing service! Joan and Bob were wonderful hosts - inviting, charming, and willing to chat with us over a beer at "the bar". The room was comfy and welcoming with wonderful smelling shampoos and lotions -- as well as fresh cookies. Add in what has to go down as the best breakfast in the world (my choice - chocolate chip blueberry pancakes, can't go wrong) and you are set! I will definitely be coming back soon!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alexandra N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

We stayed at Woodward House at the beginning and end of our bike trip on the Skyline Drive. It's perfectly located for that, about a half mile away from the Drive. There are also some very good restaurants a few blocks away.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charles M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Illinois
Level Contributor
136 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

Bob is a wonderful host -- friendly and charming, we were made to fell at home and would definitely stay again if we were in the area. The room was clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CastellanosML
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, England
Level Contributor
46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012 via mobile

One of the strangest but most welcoming and truly lovely bed and breakfasts I have ever stayed in! amazing food, free beer and a stepladder to get up to bed! It was beautiful and bob and Joan are the best hosts. Book it, you won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bluestoops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athol, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

This was absolutely delightful! Spend a coulee of days here, and enjoyed it mightily. From the cheerful greeting of the innkeeper through the goodbye breakfast, it was an experience to remember. Joan and Bob are both pleasant , helpful, interesting folks, and they really strive to make their large house a home to all. We had ( and i can't figure out why) been given an upgrade from a room to a suite, and we adored it!! It was like a little apartment of our own, so we didn't go out and tour one afternoon, just sat around and absorbed the atmosphere. Very strongly recommend it.

Room Tip: If you wan to feel like newlyweds in your first home, try Elizabeth's Suite!!! LIttle icing roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cutthroatbrook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Front Royal
3.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Front Royal
Hampton Inn Front Royal
#1 of 9 in Front Royal
4.5 of 5 stars 675 reviews
5.2 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows
0.6 mi away
Quality Inn Skyline Drive
Quality Inn Skyline Drive
#7 of 9 in Front Royal
3.0 of 5 stars 249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Scottish Inn Front Royal
Scottish Inn Front Royal
#5 of 9 in Front Royal
3.0 of 5 stars 38 reviews
22.6 mi away
The Mimslyn Inn
The Mimslyn Inn
#1 of 9 in Luray
4.5 of 5 stars 837 reviews
2.3 mi away
Lackawanna B&B
Lackawanna B&B
#3 of 11 in Front Royal
4.5 of 5 stars 99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woodward House on Manor Grade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodward House on Manor Grade

Property: Woodward House on Manor Grade
Address: 413 S Royal Ave, Front Royal, VA 22630-3229
Location: United States > Virginia > Front Royal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Front Royal
Number of rooms: 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing