We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very enjoyable stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Quality Inn Skyline Drive
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Front Royal
GreenLeadersSilver level
MD
2 reviews
“Very enjoyable stay!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2010

I have returned here multiple times, often traveling with a cat. Rooms are always clean (even the pet friendly ones) and staff are very helpful. On this trip, I arrived about noon and had no problem with an early check-in. I also requested a late check-out -- again no problem and staff most pleasant! Good restaurants within walking distance.

  • Stayed April 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TaffyMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    83
    65
    47
    44
See reviews for
78
114
20
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2009

Was hesitant when I pulled up to the motel but rooms are nicer than the property. Still I thought $89/night was too expensive for what we were getting. Fine if you are arriving late and leaving early in the morning to continue your trip.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katelle627
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Front Royal hotels

New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2009

We chose this hotel for a long weekend to hike and explore the area. We didn't plan to spend much time in the room. Our children are 5 and 16. While it wasn't fancy, it met all of our needs.
We liked:
-the room was comfortable, clean, and had new furniture
-the Wi Fi worked fine
-the breakfast was more than we expected and the buffet attendant was very attentive
-the pool was better than expected
-the location was key: the start of Skyline Drive was 5 minutes away, we found excellent canoeing within 15 minutes, Luray Caverns were about 30 minutes, a scenic surprise was Fox Meadow Winery about 20 minutes out of town, Main Street with a number of restaurants and shops was in walking distance
What we didn't like:
-the room was a little tight with all the furniture
-the noise on Commerce Street, but we couldn't hear it from inside the room
-the coffee
As a base for sight-seeing in the area at a low price, this hotel worked great. If you want a modern hotel with lots of amenities and mountain views, then this is not the place for you.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Murphlj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2009

This was the stupidest mistake I think I've made in years - we planned a three week driving vacation which included stops in Savannah, Asheville, Charleston and up to Cape Cod. ALL of the Inns/hotels which we stayed at-we verified and checked on Tripadvisor for comments. HOWEVER-the 1 nite stays enroute, for some reason-we didn't. HA! That'll teach us! So, now it's time for the Quality Inn Front Royal. We picked this because it was close to the Shenandoah State Park which we would be exploring.

This place is a dump - there's just no other way to put it which would be printable. The room stunk of mold/mildew or some other foreign substance, I'm surprised I didn't have to be revived by the EMT's! I seriously questioned crawling into that bed as I wasn't sure what I'd crawl out with, Ice machines don't work - you have to go down to another floor.

This is a case of where we stupidly did not do our homework in advance. All of the negative reviews here really seem accurate, and, based on my experience, probably true. I've read the positive reviews - I'm just not sure what planet these people were on. GO SOMEWHERE ELSE!!!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JimInNaples
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2009

Recently spent two nights here while in town visiting relatives. Enjoyed the stay. No problems for us. The room, bedding, and bath were clean. The pool was wonderful- bigger than the pool at another hotel we had previous stayed in while in town- this is a plus for my kids! Breakfast choices included: bacon, scrambled eggs, boiled eggs, 2 cold cereals, instant oatmeal packets, muffins, donuts, bagels, toast, orange juice, apple juice, coffee, tea, apples, oranges, and bananas. It was nice to open my curtain in the morning, sitting at the desk, and look out the window and see a familiar mountain scape looking back at me- hometown memories. The ice machine did not work on the 3rd floor, but it was really no problem as the ones on the 1st and 2nd floor did work. Will be looking to this hotel again for future stays while visiting in the Front Royal area.

  • Stayed August 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank OhioMamaBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2009

This is by far the DIRTIEST hotel I've ever stayed in. I enjoy camping, but I hadn't expected wildlife in my hotel room. Bugs. Yes, bugs. A dirty/used air filter covered with dust left laying next to the A/C unit, pubic hair all over the bathroom floor, soap scum in the soap dish inside the shower, toilet base filthy and smellling of urine, spider webs all over the place. I can't recommend that you find another hotel strongly enough.
Despite the fact that the staff were nice at the front desk and the breakfast is very nice, the filthy rooms are reason enough to avoid this place like the plague.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pdenny24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2009

My husband and I spent one night here. We requested and were given a room with handicapped set up. The room was very nice and clean. The staff could not have been nicer. The breakfast was nice. The location worked very well for us. We had no complaints at all. All this for a very good price.

Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank nursedi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Front Royal
3.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Front Royal
Hampton Inn Front Royal
#1 of 9 in Front Royal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 772 reviews
4.9 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows
0.6 mi away
Scottish Inn Front Royal
Scottish Inn Front Royal
#3 of 9 in Front Royal
3.0 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Relax Inn Front Royal
Relax Inn Front Royal
#6 of 9 in Front Royal
3.0 of 5 bubbles 3 reviews
10.3 mi away
Ramada Strasburg
Ramada Strasburg
#2 of 5 in Strasburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 538 reviews
0.5 mi away
Super 8 Front Royal
Super 8 Front Royal
#5 of 9 in Front Royal
3.0 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn Skyline Drive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn Skyline Drive

Property: Quality Inn Skyline Drive
Address: 10 Commerce Ave., Front Royal, VA 22630
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Front Royal
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Front Royal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn Skyline Drive 2.5*
Number of rooms: 108
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quality Inn Skyline Drive reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Skyline Drive Hotel Front Royal
Skyline Drive Lodging
Quality Inn Front Royal
Front Royal Quality Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing