We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book a Stay + Win a Getaway Book your hotel on TripAdvisor and you could win a great trip!

“Wonderful Adventure for the whole family!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Skyline Caverns

Skyline Caverns
Ranked #1 of 20 things to do in Front Royal
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Caves in the Shenandoah Valley that feature anthodites, rare rock formations.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful Adventure for the whole family!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

Taught science and the evoution of the formations so my daughter could get it! Frankie is Autistic.But if youshow her a picture, she sees the world and graps the concept!

Visited June 2012
Thank Lauraczr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Front Royal, Virginia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“great family fun”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

A bit on the expensive side, but great family fun. The tour guide had good personality, and was full of many wonderful facts, and was able to answer any questions posed by the tour group. Nice gift shop and cool train ride area for the kids. Great weekend trip!

Visited September 2012
Thank katiebrinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seven Corners, Virginia
Level Contributor
587 reviews
170 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
“I love the presentation”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013 via mobile

We were trying to drive through Skyline Drive, but didn't realize they close the whole thing for the winter. So, after we were turned away from there the only other thing that came to mind was to visit the similarly named caverns.
I am incredibly glad that I did it. I passed by them many times on the way from DC to WV. I have never had a guided cavern tour, although, I did some amateur speleo. One hour tour costs $18/adult and does a marvelous job hilighting all of the caverns details and history. Given that you have a desent guide, and we did, it's well worth that price.
The use of diferent colored lights from diferent positions would surely entertain kids and adults alike. Unique crystals that formed there in a vacuum are just astonishing. At the end I was surprised to find out that we've walked a mile and a half. Time flew by so fast and there was a lot of interesting stuff there.
I'll be sure to visit Luray caverns soon as others suggested here.
In short, go and visit these caverns, you won't be disappointed!

1 Thank Seth J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Culpeper, Virginia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Talk about getting down, down under that is.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

Cool, fascinating and huge. Everything you want in cave walking, sighs you'll never see anywhere else.

Visited April 2012
Thank Larry41onebay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
133 reviews
60 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Intimate Groups, Beautiful Cavern - right near Skyline Dr”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2012

Originally, I have no plan to visit Skyline Caverns. I saw the brochure at the hotel, but still wasn’t on the radar. It wasn’t until we were on our way to the drive down Skyline Drive on our way to Luray Cavers that we decided to visit. Boy am I glad we did. This is sooo different that Luray. The caverns are more narrow than Luray and the pavement is rockier an uneven (unlike the smoother surfaces @ Luray). Because of the narrow halls, the group was smaller and more intimate with about 8 people. The caverns themselves are beautiful, especially, with the use of colored lights within the spaces. Also, with a smaller group, we were actually hear the guide. Overall, with a family of 4, it was about $40 compared to $66 at Luray. Also on the property, is a mini train and a mirror maze, we were already off our schedule, so we were unable to do either. Like my review of Luray, I would recommend wearing comfortable shoes since it’s about a mile of walking up and down the caverns for the hour tour. A must visit!

Visited November 2012
Thank RBabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Skyline Caverns also viewed


Been to Skyline Caverns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing