We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great camping near Skyline Drive” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gooney Creek Campground

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Front Royal
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Gooney Creek Campground
Beachwood, NJ
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great camping near Skyline Drive”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

Great camping experience! Some of the sites are smaller but that didn't matter as it was just me and the dog. There is traffic noise but it fades into the background Don't know why the person from Fairfax thought the photos were fake, I had no trouble locating where the pictures were taken, they are definitely NOT fake. The creek was beautiful. Flush toilets, hot showers, and there is even a library of sorts. Gloria is 85 and takes care of the place solo. She does a great job, is very sharp, and does not miss a trick. Full of stories. Wonderful to have a conversation with. Had her over for campfire chili one night. I took some day trips (there are a ton of wineries and a distillery within 25 mile radius), spent a day or two reading and hiking and just had an all around relaxing week. I do plan on getting back there next year.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank PeteRNJBeachwood_NJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    7
    3
    1
    5
See reviews for
4
7
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
57 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2012

Love Gloria. 85 year young lady who is owner & caretaker. This is real camping folks. Take yourself to a motel if your expecting 5 star amenities. The owner is witty, friendly, wise & takes no nonsense. We love her and look forward to sharing a drink or two with Gloria every year. We also invite her to a real campfire meal as well. Camping experience is about the people and being the outdoors the way its intended. The sites 18, 19, 20, 21 are the best most secluded creek front and out of way of vehicle over the bridge noise. The sounds of creek will put you to sleep quickly. Two years ago we spotted a black bear crossing the creek while we were up creek in swimming hole. It paid us no mind and kept on. Snakes are in water. We have never had any problems or danger. This is our family tradition now and even spent our anniversary here :) Gloria has an area for kids to play. It's her joy and pleasure to see kids enjoying themselves.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dianabrody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2012

We just returned yesterday from one of the most wonderful camping trips we have had in a long time. The pictures on the Gooney Creek website are very accurate! It is beautiful! We stayed at site #18. It's the last campsite on the campground. This campground was great! We were next to the water and a short walk from the swimming hole. The water is crystal clear and the sound of it running over the rocks was very relaxing. The campground is best for tent camping with two people. The entire campground was well maintained and the owner does it all herself! The wonderful time we had talking to the owner was part of the joy in our trip. She is a lovely lady. Gloria is a wonderful, gregarious and delightful woman. She is delightfully witty, so be on your toes! She sells ice and wood. Bring your own supplies. If you do forget something, there is a 7-11 a few miles up the road. The campsite reminds me of the old fashioned campgrounds from long ago. Very peaceful. We stayed during the week and there were not many people. There is a road next to the campground, so you will hear traffic from time to time if you have a site near that road. Site 22 is the most private. Sites 19 through 21 are also private and close together so if you have a group or family, those would be great if rented together. There is a Men’s and Women’s outhouse along with the regular bathrooms. The bathrooms have hot and cold running water and flush toilets. There are also showers! There is a large sink on the side of the bathrooms to wash your cookware. At night, the main area of the campground is lit by a lamp pole so you can see without any problem. Sites 22 through 18 do not have light at night so bring your lantern and flashlight for the night time. We loved the fact that there was no lighting because the moon was almost full and reflected off the running river. It was so beautiful! This is a no frills campground. If you want a fancy campground or expect a KOA site, then go someplace else. This is just comfortable, basic, clean camping. Our first visit, but we will be returning soon!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Glenda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Totowa, New Jersey
Level Contributor
131 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2012

It's been 2 years but I want to go back. The woman who runs the place is a gem. She told me stories and we had a great time talking. The campground is very nice, plenty of space on each site. fishing on grounds was awesome too. Bathrooms clean and showers hot. What more can you ask for while tent camping?

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank shyfunnygal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashburn, Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2011

The best way to put this is ...if you're looking for a commercialized, camper/trailer-preferred campground, this is NOT going to be it. This campground is best suited for tent camping and is not suited for people looking for a commercially run site.

While the owner of this campground DOES come across as "eccentric," I found her to be a very nice lady. Sit and talk to her a while...hear her stories. She's got a lot of them. Yes, the area around her home is definitely cluttered, but the campsites and grounds themselves are beautiful. Sites 18-22 are the best ones to get as they are far away from the road and a bit more secluded. Campsite 22 provides the most privacy. If you take campsite 20 or 21, you will need to bring a canopy for shade. Sites 18 and 19 are well-shaded. The included photo(s) are of campsite 21, where we stayed.

I was actually quite impressed that an 80-something year old lady could maintain this place as she has. To the best of my knowledge, she maintains the grounds BY HERSELF, which astounds me because the whole grounds flood badly at least once a year. She'll tell you of times when the entire camp store was under water! Yet it is still up and running.

The photos on the website do not do this place justice. The rock formations and mosses are beautiful. The river itself is gorgeous...except for after it rains when it is rushing madly by! Each tent site is equipped with a firepit (rocks formed into a pit), a trashcan, and a picnic table. There are bathrooms with flush toilets and showers. It's not luxary, but it's better than SOME places I've seen! Wood is expensive ($10 per "bunch" and a bunch is not really defined), so I recommend bringing your own wood if possible.

Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
Helpful?
6 Thank lkline1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2010

Our annual memorial day camping trip has taken us to many campgrounds and I'd have to say that this one is my favorite by far. While some of the campsites are a little small, as other reviewers have mentioned, if you book in advance, you'll be able to get a great site. We fit 4 tents and three cars on ours. The site was right on the Gooney Creek and a short walk upstream leads to a beautiful waterfall and swimming hole that you can play in. We spent the majority of the day playing around in the creek and then floating on back down to our site. While I expected there to be ton of bugs because of the water, there weren't that many. It wasn't anything a little bug spray couldn't fix.
Though the site isn't as tight as a KOA, it has clean, hot showers, flush toilets, ice and firewood. The woman who runs it is a no nonsense kind of lady, but she is really nice and has lots of great information about the area. The "salvage yard overflow" mentioned in another review is actually toys that Gloria (the proprietor) has collected for children to play with and some odds and ends that other campers have left behind.
The only think that I didn't like was that there was a noisy bridge which can be heard from the site. However after a while it just becomes distant white noise and the traffic stops running over the bridge almost completely at night.
Overall, my friends and I had a fantastic time at this quaint little campground on the creek and we're looking forward to booking again for next year!!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Julie1222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, VA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2008

After looking forward to camping during Memorial Day weekend, we selected Gooney Creek based on its location and wonderful photos on its website. However, after arriving at the campground, we were immediately disappointed. Rather than a campground, this place amounts to little more than the owner's backyard. While we expected the Memorial Day crowd, the sites were far too small, barely allowing for a vehicle and tent. The site we reserved was on a creek. The sound of the flowing water was relaxing at night, but our proximity to a major roadway made even talking difficult, so we didn't get to hear the creek during the daytime hours. To make matters worse, the owners maintained a lot of junk and trash on the property, an obvious spill over from the salvage yard they operate across the street. Overall, I'd recommend the campground as a place to get a good deal on used tires or auto parts, but not as an enjoyable way to spend a weekend. We ended up leaving after one night, despite having a 3-night reservation.

Helpful?
9 Thank rjs14331
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Front Royal hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Front Royal
4.1 mi away
Scottish Inn Front Royal
Scottish Inn Front Royal
#4 of 9 in Front Royal
3.0 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
4.8 mi away
Quality Inn Skyline Drive
Quality Inn Skyline Drive
#7 of 9 in Front Royal
3.0 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
7.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Front Royal
Hampton Inn Front Royal
#1 of 9 in Front Royal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows
20.4 mi away
Skyland
Skyland
#1 of 1 in Shenandoah National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,100 reviews
4.2 mi away
Super 8 Front Royal
Super 8 Front Royal
#5 of 9 in Front Royal
3.0 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gooney Creek Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gooney Creek Campground

Property: Gooney Creek Campground
Address: 7122 Stonewall Jackson Hwy, Front Royal, VA 22630-7727
Location: United States > Virginia > Front Royal
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Front Royal
Number of rooms: 46
Also Known As:
Gooney Creek Campground Hotel Front Royal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing