We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Lucy and Becky makes it happen. Ben gets 5 Stars!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Front Royal
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Lucy and Becky makes it happen. Ben gets 5 Stars!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

We needed a spot to have a single day 6-person round table meeting and we choose the Holiday Inn @ Blue Ridge Shadows. The meeting room was set up and the refreshments were as ordered. I highly suggest contacting this HI for business meetings. The overnight accommodations were wonderful, and the breakfast was very good. The server named "Ben" deserves 5 star's for the way he handled our group.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 99findbalance99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnFrontRoyal, General Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Thank you for staying with the Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows for your recent meeting. I have let the sales staff know about your comments and they were all very proud of the team that served you. We hope you will come back for your next meeting. Thank you.

Safe Travels,
Brent C Jackson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

457 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    274
    139
    27
    8
    9
See reviews for
111
180
20
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

This is really such a nice hotel. We live locally and stayed here while we were having some unexpected work done on our home. Everyone was very kind and accommodating. Hotel itself is super clean and modern. Bed was very comfortable. Our son loved the pool and "his room" in the suite. The mini bar area with sink, fridge and microwave was a lifesaver as I had to prepare and pack school lunches. Room service was delivered within 15-20 minutes every time we ordered and the food at Houlihans was really top-notch. I cannot say enough nice things about the property and the staff they employ here. They really made us feel at home during a tough time.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PriceIsAlwaysRight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnFrontRoyal, General Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Thank you for staying with the Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows and for your fabulous review of our "Fabulous hotel". I am very happy to hear that the pool was perfect for your son and that the staff treated you as family. These are excellent comments and I will share them with the staff. Thank you.

Safe Travels,
Brent C Jackson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haddenham UK
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

The hotel and Houligans restaurant were both fine. All the staff were pleasant and helpful. There was a good sized hotel pool.

However, the arrangements for changing were unsatisfactory. There were no changing rooms, no lockers and no showers. Reception suggested we change in the single ladies and gents toilets just outside the pool. We took our belongings into the pool area. Small towels were available.

We found it strange that these arrangements were so inconvenient in an otherwise good hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnHaddenhamUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnFrontRoyal, General Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Thank you for staying with the Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows and for your comments regarding the pool. I will be sure to pass along your comments regarding the lack of changing area at the pool to our owners and see if there is a potential for future changing areas. If not maybe there is something we can do to retrofit the pool bathrooms to better serve this purpose. Thank you for your comments in this regard.

Safe Travels,
Brent C Jackson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

I was curious about the Holiday Inn because we usually stay at the Hampton Inn, which is slightly less expensive.

We only stayed overnight, but was very comfortable. Room was spacious, nice bathroom. I liked the teeny mouthwash bottle. My husband appreciated how high the nozzle was in the shower (what is with hotels where tall men have to stoop to rinse their head?). I liked that the towels were a little bigger than normal and that there were lots of pillows. This is a total non-smoking hotel, which is nice since some hotels have the cigarette smell drifting over even if you are in a non-smoking room. The attached Houlihan's restaurant allows kids under 12 to eat free breakfast, plus they gave us a $20 coupon towards our meal. So our breakfast was $6 (3 adults and 3 children). Overall pleasant stay.

The one benefit to the Hampton Inn is the free buffet breakfast -- if you are traveling with kids, there is nothing easier. If you don't care about that or would prefer an on-site restaurant, than the Holiday Inn is a better choice.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suzeliseg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnFrontRoyal, General Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Thank you for staying with the Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows. I am glad that you took advantage of the Holiday Inn Kids Eat Free program, which is a standard of all Holiday Inns and was an industry first. It is a very convenient option for families. We appreciate that you choose us and hope to see you again some day.

Safe Travels,
Brent C Jackson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Youngstown, Ohio
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

We stopped at this Holiday Inn to break up traveling over 2 days. We reserved a king suite for 2 adults, a 4 year old, 1 year old. This worked out bc the master had a door that shut and the living area was a separate area.
Very clean hotel. Pool was in nice shape with pool towels provided. Nice hot tub, too.
Location close to restaurants, Walmart & Target. Minutes from highway.
Con: no breakfast included.
Overall - will stay again to break up travel days.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MarriedGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnFrontRoyal, General Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Thank you for staying with the Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows. It is wonderful to have you as a guest.

Safe Travels,
Brent C Jackson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evanston, Illinois
Level Contributor
244 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

Except for its actual proximity to the Shenandoah National Park (actually it is a bit north of the town of Front Royal), this was a perfect hotel. The room was immaculate, service was great, and the hotel had all the amenities that we value - very comfy beds and pillows, an in-room refrigerator and coffee service, free all-day coffee service in the lobby, and a lovely pool. We found this hotel on Priceline and paid under $90 a night, which was much cheaper than the over-priced rooms in the Park. No problem with noise, which is a big deal to my husband, and the staff was very friendly and accommodating when he asked for a room/section of the hotel which would most likely be quiet. Attached restaurant is a bonus.

Room Tip: Ask the desk to accommodate your needs - a quiet section of the hotel, a room facing away from the m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wendy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnFrontRoyal, General Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Thank you for staying with the Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows, for your review and for the great "tip" you left for future guests. We appreciate you as a customer.

Safe Travels,
Brent C Jackson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights while visiting Shenandoah National Park. Great service from the minute we walked through the door. Staff were welcoming and the lobby was nice - free coffee 24 hours a day. The room was clean and housekeeping was great. Really convenient restaurant with good food attached to the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank D D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnFrontRoyal, General Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
We appreciate that you left a review of your recent experience at the Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows. Thank you for your business.

Safe Travels,
Brent C Jackson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Front Royal
2.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Front Royal
Hampton Inn Front Royal
#1 of 9 in Front Royal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 724 reviews
4.9 mi away
Quality Inn Skyline Drive
Quality Inn Skyline Drive
#7 of 9 in Front Royal
3.0 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
9.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Winchester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Wayside Inn
Wayside Inn
#1 of 3 in Middletown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
8.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Strasburg Shenandoah Valley
5.3 mi away
Scottish Inn Front Royal
Scottish Inn Front Royal
#4 of 9 in Front Royal
3.0 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows

Property: Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows
Address: 111 Hospitality Dr, Front Royal, VA 22630-6928
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Front Royal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Front Royal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows 3*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to an award winning hotel. The Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows is the recipient of the 2014 IHG Quality Excellence Award and the 2013, 2012 and 2011 IHG Torchbearer Award (awarded to the Best Holiday Inn hotels) and 2010 IHG Newcomer Award (Best New Holiday Inn). Sophistication and natural beauty unite at this Front Royal, Virginia hotel. For sophisticated but affordable accommodations, look no further than the Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows. We're situated above the award-winning Blue Ridge Shadows Golf Club and surrounded by the beautiful mountains of Front Royal, VA. Our hotel's location is ideal for travelers to immerse themselves in the outdoors. You can take a leisurely drive on Skyline Drive to experience breathtaking views, enjoy a canoe trip on the beautiful Shenandoah River or explore the caverns around Front Royal. Lodging here is also convenient for business travelers visiting the Virginia Inland Port, Ferguson Enterprises, Family Dollar, Toray, American Woodmark, Axalta and other businesses in Front Royal. Our 24-hour business center, free high-speed Internet access, heated indoor pool and 24-hour fitness center are available for your use. Overlooking the beautiful mountains around Front Royal, our hotel rooms and suites offer triple-sheeted bedding, 32-inch LCD flat screen TVs with HD and HBO and refrigerators. From Houlihan's Restaurant and Bar, serving made-from-scratch cuisine three meals a day, to our 4,500 square feet of meeting space for hosting your special event, this Front Royal hotel's amenities provide a relaxing environment for our Virginia guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn And Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows
Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows Hotel Front Royal
Holiday Inn Front Royal
Front Royal Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing