We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Front Royal
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed September 16, 2012

This was a one-night stay while travelling on vacation. I had a large fully equipped room which was clean and comfortable. I was made welcome and slept well. The staff were pleasant and helpful and the location was quiet. The only downside was that in similar hotels elsewhere I have paid less and have had a complimentary breakfast; I could have breakfasted at the restaurant attached to the hotel but thought it rather dear.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Maus59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnFrontRoyal, General Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2012

Maus59,

We appreciate that you chose to stay at our property and that you took the time to share your experience with the TripAdvisor community. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay at our property. Our staff will be pleased to know that you found them to be helpful and I am glad you enjoyed your room and got a good night's sleep. We would love to see you return in the future.

Thank you for your business,
Brent C Jackson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (501)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

323 - 329 of 501 reviews

Reviewed September 14, 2012

We overnighted here to catch a flight from Dulles the following morning. Rooms are very well appointed, extremely clean and neat, and the staff very friendly. The bed was very comfortable, noise level very low, and the location perfect for getting onto the interstate. Highly recommended.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank bestofspirits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnFrontRoyal, General Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2012

Flickrbug,

Thank you for highly recommending us. We appreciate that you took the time to share such kind words on TripAdvisor. We hope that we become your hotel of choice when you are flying in or out of the area or for any other reason. We wish you safe travels!

Thank you for your business,
Brent C Jackson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

This is one of the nicest Holiday Inn's that I have stayed at. I am a Priority Club member and I have stayed at several differ HI. The staff was very nice and the hotel and rooms are beautiful and well decorated. We stopped for only one night on our way to Baltimore.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Attkica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnFrontRoyal, General Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2012

Attkica,

Thank you for the rating of a "5". I see that you don't often give this rating and that makes this review feel very special. I am very proud of our team at this hotel for providing you with a stay worthy of being one of your best HI stays ever. I will be printing your review and sharing it with our staff.

Safe Travels,
Brent C Jackson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

from checking in to checking out (and almost everything in between) one of the nicer holiday inn hotels i have stayed in so far.... just dont waste your time with the restaurant, you would be happier if you go just down the road to eat

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank phoneguy070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnFrontRoyal, General Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2012

phoneguy070,

Thank you for your excellent comments regarding the hotel. Your comment regarding the restaurant, Houlihan's, is certainly troubling. I have shared your comment with the GM and the management team of this restaurant and they were upset to hear that they provided you a poor experience. I invite you to contact them at houlihansfrontroyal@gmail.com or contact me at 540-631-3050 so that you can share your concerns further.

Safe Travels,
Brent C Jackson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

My husband and I came to Front Royal for our Anniversary to visit the beautiful mountain scenery and to get some peace and quiet. When we pulled up the scenery surrounding the hotel is awesome and it only got better once we were inside. The lobby is very nice and the woman at the front desk was very helpful. When we got to the room I first couldn't believe the size of the room, it was huge! Then I noticed how clean it was! This was by far the cleanest hotel we have ever stayed in including the ones I worked in for 15 years! On top of that my husband ordered a bouquet of flowers for me and had it delivered to our room prior to arrival and the hotel did a great job making sure that deal did not fall through. We did eat in the restaurant one night, however neither of us were impressed by the food but the staff and ambiance was great. I recommend going to the Shenandoah National Park if you are able because it is absolutely beautiful and you could spend hours there. Our trip was very relaxing and without issues which was exactly what we were looking for. I would recommend this hotel to anyone staying in the Front Royal area and on top of everything you can't beat the room rates!

Room Tip: We did not opt for the "room with a view" and we still had a gorgeous view out of our wind...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kylemichelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnFrontRoyal, General Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2012

kylemichelle,

Once again, Happy Anniversary! We are very happy that you choose to stay with us for this special occasion and I am proud that we provided you with an excellent stay. I will share you comments regarding cleanliness with our housekeeping team, they work very hard to ensure that the hotel is as clean as possible each and every day and receiving comments like this helps to validate their efforts. We would love for you to come back and visit us again.

Safe Travels,
Brent C Jackson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

My husband stayed at this Holiday Inn one night. It was clean, well located near the Skyline Drive and the staff was hospitable. I had two minor complaints - the bathroom didn't have soap but the front desk responded quickly and brought some to the room. Breakfast was not included and when I went to get coffee in the lobby the creamers were missing.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bselikoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnFrontRoyal, General Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2012

bselikoff,

Thank you for your honest review of the Holiday Inn Front Royal. I apologize that you found your bathroom to be missing soap, but I am glad that the front desk staff promptly responded to this error. While full-service Holiday Inns do not offer a complimentary breakfast (in the way that our limited service brand Holiday Inn Express does), the vast majority of our guests do enjoy the breakfast options available at our restaurant, Houlihan's. I would highly recommend you try this the next time you are in Front Royal.

Safe Travels,
Brent C Jackson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

We stayed here and were amazed at the high quality of this hotel. The lobby was beautiful, the room the same level as a supposedly much more expensive and high quality hotel. The bed was very comfortable. The air conditioning is excellent. My husband is a polar bear and he was very happy. The pool was clean. My only complaint is that the water in the pool was very cold. I complained about it but it wasn't fixed by the time I swam at 7:30am the next morning. I jacuzzi was nice and I needed it to thaw out. I am not a fan of Houlihan's in general, but the breakfast there was fine.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Joan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnFrontRoyal, General Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2012

Joan R,

Thank you for the thorough review of the hotel. I am very excited that you found your stay, your room and your bed to your liking. I am glad you enjoyed breakfast at Houlihan's too. We hope you will come back and visit us soon.

Brent C Jackson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Front Royal
2 mi away
Hampton Inn Front Royal
Hampton Inn Front Royal
#1 of 10 in Front Royal
893 reviews
4.9 mi away
Quality Inn Skyline Drive
Quality Inn Skyline Drive
#3 of 10 in Front Royal
340 reviews
9.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Winchester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Woodstock / Shenandoah Valley
8.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Strasburg Shenandoah Valley
20.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Woodstock
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows

Address: 111 Hospitality Dr, Front Royal, VA 22630-6928
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Front Royal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Front Royal
Price Range: $105 - $166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows 3*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sophistication and natural beauty unite at this Front Royal, Virginia hotel. For sophisticated but affordable accommodations, look no further than the Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows. We're situated above the award-winning Blue Ridge Shadows Golf Club and surrounded by the beautiful mountains of Front Royal, VA. Our hotel's location is ideal for travelers to immerse themselves in the outdoors. You can take a leisurely drive on Skyline Drive to experience breathtaking views, enjoy a canoe trip on the beautiful Shenandoah River or explore the caverns around Front Royal. Our 24-hour business center, free WIFI Internet access, heated indoor pool and 24-hour fitness center are available for your use. From Houlihan's Restaurant and Bar, serving made-from-scratch cuisine three meals a day, to our 4,500 square feet of meeting space for hosting your special event, this Front Royal hotel's amenities provide a relaxing environment for our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows Hotel Front Royal
Holiday Inn And Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows
Holiday Inn Front Royal
Front Royal Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing