We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Place to Stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Front Royal
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Ewing/Trenton, NJ
Level Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Nice Place to Stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2011

We visited Shenandoah Valley for the July 4th long weekend. We stayed at Holiday Inn for 2 nights. It is a new hotel, so everything is very clean. The view from the rooms are really good. The gold course and the sunset view is excellent. We also liked the hot tub and swimming pool. The staff were very friendly. It is a little far from the the skyline or the valley, but in a newer neighborhood with multiple food options near by. I would completely recommend this place to stay,. I paid 80 USD a night and booked via priceline name your price option. i think it was a fair price for the hotel standard, however, it would be better if we had free breakfast included. the cost of breakfast was 12 usd, and 25 id you ordered room service.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joseph_Lakshmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnFrontRoyal, General Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows, responded to this review, August 19, 2011
Joseph_Lakshmi,
Thank you for sharing your thoughts with the billions of internet users of the world. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and received a fair value for your experiences here. For future reference, there is a rate available for booking that includes up to $20 worth of breakfast food and beverage in our restaurant, and many of our guests regularly take advantage of this rate and the value it provides. I hope you have safe travels and that you will choose us again next time you visit the Shenandoah Valley!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

464 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    280
    139
    28
    8
    9
See reviews for
113
181
20
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, CT
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2011

We stayed here last Saturday (7/16) to rest before hitting Skyline Dr on our Goldwing. From the moment we arrived to the moment we left the next day, everything was perfect! They let us leave our Goldwing under the portico which took a load off my mind. The pool area was great and the terrace outside the pool area was a perfect place to unwind after a long day of riding from Connecticut.

We ate at Houihan's which is next door so that made it convenient for us also. The room was perfect as was the mattress. We slept very well!

Thank you Holiday Inn and Suites! You made us feel very special!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ntrtainr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnFrontRoyal, General Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows, responded to this review, August 2, 2011
ntrtainr,
Thank you for the AMAZING review of our property and all of your kind words. I will also pass along your comments to the management at Houlihan's Restaurant + Bar. We appreciate our guests who are traveling by motorcycle and we know that safety of their bike is of high concern to them when they stay at hotels. This is why we have chosen to allow the bikes to remain covered by the building at night whenever possible. We are glad that you choose to come to Front Royal and Skyline Drive and we are glad you choose to stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2011

Had the opportunity to stay here prior to heading out on the Skyline Drive & it was simply outstanding! Hotel was easy to find, plenty of parking, beautiful grounds alongside a golf course, moder & extremely clean.....I could go on & on as obviously I became a fan & to top it all the price was very reasonable. If you need a place to stay book it here.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BillCt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnFrontRoyal, General Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows, responded to this review, August 2, 2011
BillCt, You are not alone when it comes to guests staying at this property before heading out onto Skyline Drive the next morning. We find a large number of our guests do this. Thank you for choosing our property to stay at and I am very happy that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay. We, of course, would love to have you back anytime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2011

Let me preface this by saying that I typically stay in slightly more upscale hotels. This was the first time I've stayed at a Holiday Day since like 1987. Several things did impress me, namely, it was clean and cheap. However, several things did not impress me, namely, all the lights in the room were florescent, with that horrible blue-white florescent glow. It did not add to the atmospherics of the place. Also, the soap and shampoo in the room seemed rather low quality, and they smelled rather bad. For that alone, I'd stay elsewhere in the future, but I'm a hard to please traveler. Most importantly, the bed was lumpy and just plain cheap. This is the worst mattress I can ever remember sleeping on in a hotel. This hotel appears to be very recently built. Everything was in excellent shape, and it was fairly quiet inside the room, which is indicative of quality construction.

If you're on a tight budget, I could recommend the Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal. Otherwise, I'd recommend finding alternate local accommodations.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank whp81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnFrontRoyal, General Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows, responded to this review, August 2, 2011
whp81,
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I notice that you recognized the well-maintained condition of the property and how quiet the rooms are. I am glad you found these areas to your liking. Unfortunately, I see that you were underwhelmed by some of the items in the room such as the Bath and Body Works brand soaps and shampoos and the particular mattress that we are using. I apologize that you did not find these items to your liking. We hope that you will provide Holiday Inn with another opportunity to WOW you sometime soon. Until then, we hope you have safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ithaca ny
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2011

Stayed the night before we started down the Skyline Drive...loved it..nicest Holiday Inn ever..we ate at Holigans and that was great too...can't go wrong here - looks brand new.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cfont711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnFrontRoyal, General Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows, responded to this review, July 7, 2011
cfont711, Thank you for your high ratings of our property. We find that a number of our guests are staying with us before heading down Skyline Drive. It is such a beautiful ride, I am sure you enjoyed it! We hope you will choose to stay with us next time you come to the Front Royal area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kennedy
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2011

This place is more like a 5 stars,clean,nice people. we stop for the night on our motorcycle and when it started to storm real bad they let us put on bike under a overhang, you wont find a better place,so dont bother looking. great place. all we can say is "WOW"

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank greggKennedyNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnFrontRoyal, General Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows, responded to this review, July 7, 2011
greggKennedyNewYork, We are glad you found our establishment and chose to stay with us. It especially pleases us to have been able to help you (and your motorcycle) stay dry because we know that drying off a motorcycle or motorcycle cover in the morning before a long ride is a tedious ordeal. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Japan
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2011

I am in the Air Force, so naturally, we travel a LOT. By far this was one of the best hotels we have had the pleasure of staying at. The staff was very professional, courteous, and friendly. The hotel overlooked the Front Royal Golf Course...nice views. The hotel and rooms were very clean. Houlihan's served AWESOME dinners, and their staff was equally accommodating. We had a birthday celebration for our daughter in our room, and forgot to bring plates, forks, etc. Houlihan's graciously hooked us up with everything we needed. I highly recommend the Front Royal Hotel Inn and Suites to anyone traveling through!!!!!!

Room Tip: Arrive early...they may upgrade you
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FaithfulC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnFrontRoyal, General Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows, responded to this review, July 4, 2011
mcgroryj,
Reviews like this make our entire staff very proud to be in the hotel business. We are all very happy to know that we made this stay one of your best stays EVER! We all hope to see you again if you return to the area! Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with the TripAdvisor community.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Front Royal
2.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Front Royal
Hampton Inn Front Royal
#1 of 9 in Front Royal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 758 reviews
9.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Winchester
4.9 mi away
Quality Inn Skyline Drive
Quality Inn Skyline Drive
#7 of 9 in Front Royal
3.0 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Strasburg Shenandoah Valley
5.3 mi away
Scottish Inn Front Royal
Scottish Inn Front Royal
#3 of 9 in Front Royal
3.0 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
5.9 mi away
Wayside Inn
Wayside Inn
#1 of 3 in Middletown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows

Property: Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows
Address: 111 Hospitality Drive, Front Royal, VA 22630
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Front Royal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Front Royal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows 3*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to an award winning hotel. The Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows is the recipient of the 2014 IHG Quality Excellence Award and the 2013, 2012 and 2011 IHG Torchbearer Award (awarded to the Best Holiday Inn hotels) and 2010 IHG Newcomer Award (Best New Holiday Inn). Sophistication and natural beauty unite at this Front Royal, Virginia hotel. For sophisticated but affordable accommodations, look no further than the Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows. We're situated above the award-winning Blue Ridge Shadows Golf Club and surrounded by the beautiful mountains of Front Royal, VA. Our hotel's location is ideal for travelers to immerse themselves in the outdoors. You can take a leisurely drive on Skyline Drive to experience breathtaking views, enjoy a canoe trip on the beautiful Shenandoah River or explore the caverns around Front Royal. Lodging here is also convenient for business travelers visiting the Virginia Inland Port, Ferguson Enterprises, Family Dollar, Toray, American Woodmark, Axalta and other businesses in Front Royal. Our 24-hour business center, free high-speed Internet access, heated indoor pool and 24-hour fitness center are available for your use. Overlooking the beautiful mountains around Front Royal, our hotel rooms and suites offer triple-sheeted bedding, 32-inch LCD flat screen TVs with HD and HBO and refrigerators. From Houlihan's Restaurant and Bar, serving made-from-scratch cuisine three meals a day, to our 4,500 square feet of meeting space for hosting your special event, this Front Royal hotel's amenities provide a relaxing environment for our Virginia guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn And Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows
Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows Hotel Front Royal
Holiday Inn Front Royal
Front Royal Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing