We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love the place”
Review of Glass House Winery

Glass House Winery
Book In Advance
More Info
$325.00*
and up
Private Crozet Winery Tours
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Dyke, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Love the place”
Reviewed June 26, 2012

Great wine, love the conservatory, and free music on Friday evenings. Close to home too. Nice people

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank steve k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    32
    4
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Free Union, Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
“Excellent wines, chocolates and atmosphere!”
Reviewed June 1, 2012

Glass House Winery opened with a bang in December of 2010. From the start they had fabulous wines, including some of the best reds in Virginia, which historically have been lacking. The handmade chocolates are sublime!!! That said, the best parts are the conservatory with more tropical plants than you knew existed, fresh tropical fruit from said plants, and live music every Friday night (Sunday afternoons through the winter). If you live in the greater Free Union area and haven't been, you're missing a great time. If you live in town, it's worth the trip to visit!!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Pretty winery!”
Reviewed May 2, 2012

Loved the mosaic tiles and the banana tree room! Great wines, pretty bottles with glass corks.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank tsgulyas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia, USA
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Wine Tasting + Tropical Greenhouse Experience”
Reviewed August 26, 2011

We were a little disappointed that two of the wines on the tasting list of this small, new winery were not available, including the chocolate wine. We liked what we did get to taste, including the C-villian.
The winery has an added attraction of having a tropical greenhouse with, among many other plants, several varieties of banana plants. We enjoyed identifying plants with our kids and parents. The owner also came by for a chat. The winery has a porch with a view of a pond and mountain for enjoying wine in nice weather. Also hand-made chocolates, crafts, and sculptures. Fairly standard $5 tasting fee.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
Thank kjee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Very beautiful setting”
Reviewed August 2, 2011

This is a very unique winery in that it has a very beautiful setting along a river and an attached greenhouse. When you walk in, there are large windows overlooking the river and the deck out. The wines were interesting, a good range and selection. Unfortunately they were out of one we really wanted to taste which has been made with chocolate. They also _make_ chocolates there which pair well with some of the wines. Unfortunately there was a hard rain so we couldn't sit out on the deck, and the greenhouse was being prepped for a private function, but we were able to walk through and normally you would be able to sit in the greenhouse to enjoy a glass, and snacks are available too. There are also many metal sculptures outside on display and in the gift shop for sale - I believe many of them came from Roatan as a way to try to provide a decent living to people there. We will definitely be going back to enjoy an afternoon.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank OceanBluff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Glass House Winery also viewed

 

Been to Glass House Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing