We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (55)
Filter reviews
55 results
Traveler rating
40
11
3
0
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
40
11
3
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews eastern townships auberge daniel house country
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 55 reviews
Reviewed October 7, 2015 via mobile

We held our small wedding at Auberge La Mara at the end of September. We had a wonderful time. Our ceremony was held in the gazebo, a lovely secluded spot amongst the trees. The owners helped us organize everything, including the célébrant. They made us delicious canapés, memorably including a homemade fois gras, and our wedding cake! Dinner was made to order, so they easily accommodated my multiple allergies and our Vegetarian guest's needs. It's clear food is a passion for Daniel because everything we ate was outstanding, including smoked lamb chiffonade, loup-marin, bison steaks, wild boar and our breakfasts the next day. Everything is homemade (homemade rye bread! Yum!) and a lot of it grown in Daniel's garden. Marie-Sol, the waitress, was attentive, friendly and knowledgeable. The rooms were comfortable, spotlessly clean and the welcome we received was wonderfully warm.

Thank you so much for making our day so special! We'll be back for our anniversary!

Nicola

Stayed: October 2015, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Nicola P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AubergeLaMara, Owner at Auberge Restaurant La Mara, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2015

Thanks very much for your appeciation you both been very nice i hope see you for your first aniversary Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2015

we spent the weekend there, so quiet, in a very nice garden, where lots of places are organized so you can relax and. Enjoy reading.inside as well, nice fireplace with lots of sofa, very inviting. Diner is excellent with local products in a nice ambiance, plus you can bring you own wine!!!
Very good breakfast too, definitely going back this winter!

  • Stayed: September 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank catewomaninblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AubergeLaMara, Owner at Auberge Restaurant La Mara, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2015

thanks so lot for your appeciation see you soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2015

For travelers seeking a peaceful retreat in the Eastern Townships of Quebec, Auberge La Mara is an ideal destination. The inn is delightful, the gardens lovely, and the cuisine excellent. The location is ideal for outdoor recreation enthusiasts. The inn is only five minutes from Mont-Ham, a regional park with trails to the rocky mountaintop that offers sweeping views of the Quebec countryside. More hiking opportunities can be found in the Mount Stoke area ten miles to the south. The "Routes des Sommets," which passes right through the little hamlet of Ham-Sud, leads to dozens of other locations for outdoor adventure.

  • Stayed: July 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2015

Located in a remote and quiet place near mount Ham, La Mara is a place to sleep and, most importantly, eat.

The food was simply amazing. I enjoyed the breakfasts especially. They cook with local, organic food as much as possible. I only have great things to say about it. You will not be disappointed.

The rooms have a nice antique look to them. In fact, the building is pretty much assembled using entire or pieces of antique houses. There is a nice, cozy living room where the owner keeps a fire going through the evening.

We took the studio in the basement, just below the dining room. We stayed for two days. We had plenty of room in the studio, although the looks of the bed frames and covers did not quite match the rest of the room. I was also impressed by the amount of plants/flowers kept inside even in the winter. We were given a pass to go to mount Ham with snow shoes included. It was a great weekend getaway!

My main gripe was the cracking noise coming from above that the ceiling failed to dampen. However, the owner made sure that people did not stay in the dining room too late in the evening or too early in the morning to avoid disrupting the people below. Also, we were told there would be renovations before long to help with the noise issue.

The water also smelled a bit like sulfur, which could be unpleasant to those who are very sensitive to smells.

  • Stayed: January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jean B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AubergeLaMara, Owner at Auberge Restaurant La Mara, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2015
Google Translation

Merci pour les commentaire et les compliments. Effectivement nous commençons les travaux de correction du plancher ce jeudi 28 janvier. Cette merveilleuse maison de 200 ans a besoin d'être chouchoutée.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2013

Excellent Restaurant and Inn. Warm and inviting atmosphere with very personal service and a lovely peaceful yet energetic ambiance. Pets allowed. Close to many beautiful nature preserves. We had a lovely time.

Room Tip: All the rooms are charming. The room on the ground lever is large with wonderful windows and views. The upstairs rooms are all beautiful and colorful. Bathrooms neat and very well thought out.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wilhelmina411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews