We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“No Thanks”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Quality Inn & Suites
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Franklin
San Rafael, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“No Thanks”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

Awful. The room carpet was filthy, and torn - not recommended to go barefoot. The room was small, claustrophobic, dark, and dismal. If you left the curtain open, any / all passers by could and do, peek into your room. Not a secure feeling.
Typical "motel" arrangement with the door opening directly into the parking lot. The A/C was so loud that it felt like a 747 on take off
I moved to another room in the "annex" this was slightly better as it was on the second floor, with evidence of a recent coat of paint, and had an additional East facing window, with a view of sorts. The carpet was marginally cleaner ( still no bare feet though) and the room was slightly bigger with a basic funtional desk and lamp. The A/C was at the same decibel level with the vents fixed so that icy blasts of cold air hit the bed. I arranged the furniture to try and deflect this blast up toward the ceiling with marginal succes, to the extent of placing suitcase on the chair..
Breakfast was a joke - eggs are pre-cooked,frozen, thawed, and heated / served. Styrofoam plates and cups, plastic utensils with all the muffins etc. looking like they came from the adjacent Wal Mart. Coffee is undrinkable ( there is a Starbucks - in the Farm Fresh grocery store, two blocks left out of the "hotel" that opens at 06:00...)
The coffee pot in my room was not functional and despite 5 messages to get it fixed / replaced, it was never replaced
In the 10 days I stayed there I was never able to sleep through the night without the A/C noise keeping me constantly awake.....

Room Tip: If you NEED to stay here ask for room 235 on the second floor of the annex. It is somewhat private a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xerxes100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    16
    17
    7
    19
See reviews for
21
17
4
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mattoon, Illinois
Level Contributor
58 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

Like other reviews I NOW read, this hotel needs a major scrubbing! At first glance in the room, it doesnt look bad. Just do NOT look closely! If it wouldnt have been late at nite and the fact that we didnt want to drive the mountains at nite, we would have asked for a refund and gone elsewhere. The bed linens did seem clean and neat so we opted to stay. As I sat in a chair I noticed that the housekeeper had not vacuumed or cleaned around the baseboards for what looked like a LONG time! Dead bugs and lots of dust! Mold growing on the cord of the hairdryer, I wouldnt even use, went to the car and brought in my own. We went into the breakfast area for a cup of coffee for the road and decided to eat the breakfast after seeing that the person in charge of the kitchen had an entirely different concept of what clean is. Housekeeping should take some lessons from her as the kitchen and food service area was neat, tidy and clean. Comfort Inn, if you have any pride in ownership, you should DEFINITELY check into this hotel and revise your standards. Travelers, drive on down the road to the next town on this one!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bullwinkle58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Franklin hotels

Mentor, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012

The room looked fine at first, old and outdated but acceptable. I was glad I brought my slippers as the carpet felt damp like it had just been cleaned (it didn't look dirty). the next morning as we were getting ready for funeral we discovered the real problem. The carpet was so filthy it even blackened the bottom of my daughters pajama pants not to mention the socks she had to throw away. also the "ladies" at the front desk were very rude because we had booked thru EXPEDIA not directly thru them even stating "don't.expect anything from us you booked thru EXPEDIA".

tHE OWNER SHOULD JUST SHUT DOWN.

Room Tip: Don't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dexter, Michigan
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2012

At first glance, it seemed fine. The hotel room "basics" were covered....sheets ok, towels ok, etc. But good grief, the CARPET needs to be CLEANED !! Had two typical active kids, aged 2 and 6, and was forced to stay there 3 days. I couldn't relax because the kids would want to hop up on the beds after running around the carpet and their feet and socks would be BLACK within minutes!! And then, due to the longer stay, we bought some snack foods but had to hang the bags up on hangers suspended in the closet because we found cockroaches. In general, this place needs new management or just needs to not be on the Choice hotel line up. It's probably the best choice available to us in that area or I'd have gone elsewhere. I've stayed at others in other locations and they were fine.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jessica B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

The room was musty, ac unit was discharging what smelled like mold all night, carpets and floor discusting and bathroom had mold on tile work. I stay at Choice properties 30-40 days a year. This property should not be a Choice property.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Tim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanford, North Carolina
Level Contributor
55 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2012

I've stayed at this location for several years. Biggest complaint are the dirty carpeting in the rooms...I change into casual clothes after working and white socks. year before last, last year and last week, my socks were filthy. They looked like I had walked through dried mud. Two years ago they said they had a lot of construction ppl stay there, that's why they were dirty. Well, last year and again this year, same old, same old. I showed my socks to the desk clerk when I checked out and she said, we've had a lot of construction ppl stay here. I laughed and said you told me the same thing two years ago....One good side thought, Anna and Sally are very nice desk clerks to deal with.

Room Tip: all rooms I've stayed in are about the same. Not a lot of road noise on either side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ralph L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2012

Call before dont assume they have occupancy..They have construction co. Come in and rent all the rooms and u dont wanna get stuck next door at Days Inn being asked all night if you "wanna date". This is average but the best in Franklin..Super 8 is too expensive for the same atmosphere as Days Inn..The sheets and towels are clean..They are pet friendly and have a pool that is working unlike the others that use theirs to store ladders and scrap wood. They have parking and a staff that speaks and understands English, unlike other 3. Best and cleaniest in Franklin..compared to others its a 5 star..

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank carmellacorso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Franklin
3.4 mi away
Country Host Inn
Country Host Inn
#2 of 4 in Franklin
3.0 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
21.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Suffolk
Hampton Inn Suffolk
#1 of 12 in Suffolk
5.0 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
21.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Suffolk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Suffolk Riverfront
0.1 mi away
Super 8 Franklin
Super 8 Franklin
#3 of 4 in Franklin
3.0 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn & Suites

Property: Quality Inn & Suites
Address: 1620 Armory Drive, Franklin, VA 23851 (Formerly Comfort Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Franklin
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Franklin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, Travelocity, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quality Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing