We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place to stay”
Review of Hotel Floyd

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Floyd
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Floyd
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Ohio
1 review
“Wonderful place to stay”
Reviewed June 25, 2009

We stayed at Hotel Floyd as our half way stop from Ohio to Myrtle Beach. My husband just happened to pick Floyd, VA on a map and we found this hotel from there. Everyone we came in contact with was extremely nice and pleasant. The hotel was beautiful and very unique. WHEN we return to this hotel we will try to stay over a weekend, this past stay was on a Monday and it is an absolute dead town on Mondays....probably recovering from the big weekend bash I have read about. Overall, exellent and quiet place to stay, we were very impressed.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jojorain01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

503 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    400
    86
    10
    7
    0
See reviews for
127
267
17
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Navan, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed June 22, 2009

Hi
We were visiting from Ireland and arrived in Floyd to attend the Jamboree in the Floyd Country Stores. The minute that we walked into the oasis of calm we knew it was something special!!! Painting and pieces of art by local artists and an informative book that Iread late into the night explaing the pieces and a brief history of the artists and their special region where they draw inspiration.
The furnishings and decor were beautiful without being over the top. My two children were in heaven with flat screen TV and a superb sound system. Microwave and fridge for convenience. Enormous four poster bed meant we could have a lie on the following morning and walk 2 minutes around the corner to enjoy fabulous food in the Blue Ridge Restaurant. Music and company were great at the Friday night Jamboree. Made some great friends......... Bought a Ukulele and did not want to leave this pretty town and it'swonderful people!!!! Thanks to Kelly and all the staff. We would to return again someday soon!!!!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beeker40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechanicsville, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2009

My wife and I did an anniversary trip staying two nights at Hotel Floyd. Maybe the most comfortable hotel stay we've enjoyed for a long time. I couldn't believe as an early riser, I slept till nearly 8am. The hotel may not be for everyone, but the attention to detail and uniqueness in the construction make this "eco-friendly" facility something to experience.

Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank RickR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Front Royal
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 19, 2009

If you are ever traveling on the Blue Ridge Parkway,and need overnight accomodations,look no farther than the Hotel Floyd! Of all the places my wife and I have stayed over the years,none compare to it. Each room is has a different theme and when we opened the door to our room we were blown away!! It was impeccably clean and the furnishings were all made by local artisians. Your in walking distance to downtown Floyd were there is free music at the Floyd General Store on Friday nights. Bring your chair! We have made the Hotel Floyd our "must stay at" overnight destination as we explore more of the beautiful Blue Ridge Parkway and all that the mountains have to offer.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wjmcbride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed January 8, 2009

I travel often on business to the Southwestern part of VA. I am usually bound by the rules of the company to stay in a Holiday Inn Express or Hampton Inn, both of which are fine. But neither of these hotels were anywhere near where I was going in Floyd, VA. I happened upon this hotel while searching the Internet for a reasonable place to stay. I was more than pleasantly surprised to find this hotel! It was clean, well maintained, and super comfortable. An added bonus is that it is a green hotel, making me feel all that much better about choosing it. The owner was kind and made me feel very welcome. The bedding was luxurious and the room was decorated beautifully ( I was in the Harvest Moon room with a king bed). There was free trade coffee that I made in the morning, and it was delicious. The hotel also has free wi-fi, a must for my business travel. The town of Floyd is really neat with lots of artsy shops and book stores. I only wish the weather had been better so I could have enjoyed the town of Floyd more. I will definitely stay here again.

  • Liked — It's unique style and comfort.
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank itsmelynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelFloydManager, Manager at Hotel Floyd, responded to this review, January 16, 2009
I wanted to personally thank you for such kind remarks. Tripadvisor is a great resource to us and the hospitality industry. Comments like yours helps potential guests make lodging decisioins when visiting small areas and towns. Once again thank you for the kind review and we here at Hotel Floyd look forward to having you back someday.

Derek
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2008

The Hotel Floyd saved us! Our initial plans fell through and we called on a Saturday morning hoping to get one suite and one single room that afternoon - and that's exactly what they had left. When we entered our rooms our jaws collectively dropped in awe. Art, furniture, everything made locally by the artisans in Floyd. Gorgeous hard wood floors, very high ceilings, three, count 'em, three flat screen televisions in our two bedroom suite - the tv in the sitting room area had surround sound complete with sub-woofer. Fridge, microwave, bar-style sink, two bathrooms that were beautifully tiled - accent tiles hand made by a potter whose work was all over town - all quite unexpected and much appreciated.. I slept like a baby -comfy beds, cordless phones, clean, green, perfect for our allergy plagued companion. Not only a great room but quite reasonably priced as well.
My group had initially rejected this hotel because the photos on the website were uninspiring. Those photos look like they were taken before all furnishings were in place. The hotel is within walking distance of many of the fun places in the town of Floyd and minutes from the Blue Ridge Parkway, wineries, Mabry Mill, the Jacksonville Center, and so much more. Our stay there completely changed our weekend for the better and allowed us to enjoy the many fantastic spots Floyd County & environs have to offer.
I am already planning a return trip with my hubby & kids. (This trip was with sisters, sister-in-law, and mom.)

  • Liked — So clean, roomy, and conveniently located.
  • Disliked — Parking isn't as convenient to the rooms as I'd like.
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tapasfans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2008

Best hotel we stayed in during our travels to Memphis and its friendly to the planet - need I say anymore?

  • Liked — Rooms were clean and modern
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Floyd
0.8 mi away
Oak Haven Lodge
Oak Haven Lodge
#3 of 4 in Floyd
49 reviews
15.8 mi away
Days Inn Christiansburg
Days Inn Christiansburg
#10 of 14 in Christiansburg
338 reviews
15.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Christiansburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#7 of 14 in Christiansburg
239 reviews
15.8 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Christiansburg
15.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Christiansburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Floyd? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Floyd

Property: Hotel Floyd
Address: 300 Rick Lewis Way, Floyd, VA 24091-1500
Location: United States > Virginia > Floyd
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Floyd
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Floyd 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A "Green" hotel located in downtown Floyd, VA, featuring local art and themed rooms. Hotel Floyd offers boutique design with all the amenities of an urban hotel. Hotel Floyd also has an outdoor pavilion that hosts a summer concert series every Thursday night May to October. Hotel Floyd also has 2 detached units that are pet friendly. Free full breakfast served every morning with locally homemade pastries! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Floyd reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing