We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Floyd” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Floyd

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Floyd
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Floyd
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Blacksburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fabulous Floyd”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

We had a great time at the Floyd Hotel. We stayed in the FloydFest room which was smallish, but lovely, with a delightfully eclectic decor and all locally made furniture. The room was comfortable, charming and quiet. The only reason for the lower rating is that the entire property is currently under expansion, making it somewhat less than perfect with all the construction debris visible, and the associated upsets you might expect with any development project in progress. It's a great location, with excellent access to the Blue Ridge Parkway and all of its attractions.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Redbird810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelFloydManager, General Manager at Hotel Floyd, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
We sincerely apologize for the construction on our expansion project. Soon the siding will go up and the building will look more appealing and the site will be more pleasing to the eye. Thank you also for your nice comments about our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

399 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    316
    70
    7
    6
    0
See reviews for
107
197
16
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Orlean, VA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

This is not my first visit. I have been coming to the hotel since it opened and try to come at least once a year. I am a frequent visitor to Floyd, and actually own a house within 10 miles of the hotel that I could access, but the hotel is something that I look forward to as a nice respite. Comfortable beds, great people, beautiful rooms, and I enjoy browsing the shops and dining at all of the 'walking distance' shops and restuarants.

Room Tip: I've stayed in multiple rooms and have never had a bad room. They are all lovely.
See more room tips
Green Features: VERY impressed with the geothermal - I'm amazed how efficient, even and quite the system is. Even the bamboo flooring is lovely and works in with the enfironmentally friendly practices.
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bluridgegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Decatur
Level Contributor
64 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

This is not our first visit. We came in the spring to see the rhodendrums in bloom along the blue-ridge parkway. Now we are back the see the leaves change. Hotel Floyd is a wonderful hotel that focuses on saving our natural resources. Nice hardwood flooring, recycle bins available real cups and glasses. I am happy to see that they are adding 24 news rooms and lobby. Construction should be completed by early 2014. We love to walk to the nearby shops and restaurants.

Room Tip: Make early reservations for the weekends. I hear that the music is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mildred5404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lamoine, Maine
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

My daughter and I were traveling through with infants. First the negative: We arrived in late afternoon and the din from the construction at the hotel was almost overwhelming. And we had a lot of stuff to lug from the car to the room which was not easy to get to. There were trucks from the construction site in the nearest parking spots. However, the construction won't last forever and the room was nice and clean with amenities that counted: a fridge/freezer, great fair trade coffee (no awful pods or cheap coffee), and, best of all, a very comfy bed. I think the bathroom lighting could be improved. But I would stay here again if I ever pass through this part of the Virginia again.

Room Tip: I would select an upstairs room.
See more room tips
Green Features: It's great to stay at a green-conscious place.
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank live&learn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, North Carolina, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

The Hotel Floyd is a perfect place to stay. It is in walking distance to the entire quaint downtown area. The room we stayed in was beautifully decorated and very clean. They are still under construction of phase 2 of the development (as of late October), so the constant beeping of the utility vehicles was a bit distracting since we stayed over on a weekday. Otherwise, our stay was awesome and I certainly highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Chateau Morrisette room. Very nice. The bed is incredibly comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

This is the 2nd time we've stayed at Hotel Floyd and we've loved it both times. I just booked our visit for next year. It's nice to park and walk to downtown shopping and restaurants. We love the 2 bedroom suites. It's very comfortable when your traveling with your family.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yukonhowls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

When my brother-in-law comes to Charlotte each year, we usually take him to the beach for our family get together. This year my husband and I decided to try the mountains instead. I have friends in Floyd, so I'm familiar with the area--but this was the first time I'd ever stayed at the Hotel Floyd. We booked the 2-bedroom, 2-bath "Church Gallery Suite." The rooms featured charming country-style furnishings--including tall oak headboards on the King beds, a cedar blanket chest, wardrobes made to look like early American pie safes and a round oak dining table in the living area. We appreciated the convenience of a coffee maker, microwave and small refrigerator, as well as the flat-screen TVs in every room, a DVD player and free Wi-Fi. Our second-floor unit overlooked a well-manicured courtyard with a performance gazebo. On Thursday nights In the summer months, local musicians entertain guests with lively pickin' and singin' concerts. Presently, you can choose from 20 units in Phase 1. They include suites, standards and 2 pet-friendly units. There will be 24 additional standard rooms in Phase 2, which is scheduled for completion early summer 2014. There will be conference space and elevators in the 3-story facility. A continental breakfast will also be offered to guests. Downtown Floyd is a quiet, friendly little town with one stop light and an honest to goodness General Store. We started our days with a hearty breakfast at the Blue Ridge Restaurant. At lunch we enjoyed tasty sandwiches at the Country Store. One night we went to Mickey G's for an authentic Italian meal and the next night we had a Mexican fiesta at El Charro. There are antique stores and shops, featuring items made by local artisans, within walking distance of the hotel. The Blue Ridge Parkway and local winery, Chateau Morrissette, are a short drive away. Regardless of the season, the countryside in this part of southwest Virginia is lovely. We look forward to returning--the sooner the better.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Welltraveled201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Floyd
18.3 mi away
Primland
Primland
#1 of 3 in Meadows of Dan
5.0 of 5 stars 599 reviews
18.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Christiansburg/Blacksburg
15.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Christiansburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.8 mi away
Days Inn Christiansburg
Days Inn Christiansburg
#12 of 14 in Christiansburg
3.0 of 5 stars 228 reviews
18.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Christiansburg Blacksburg
17.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#7 of 14 in Christiansburg
3.5 of 5 stars 213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Floyd? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Floyd

Property: Hotel Floyd
Address: 300 Rick Lewis Way, Floyd, VA 24091-1500
Location: United States > Virginia > Floyd
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Floyd
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Floyd 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A "Green" hotel located in downtown Floyd, VA, featuring local art and themed rooms. Hotel Floyd offers boutique design with all the amenities of an urban hotel. Hotel Floyd also has an outdoor pavilion that hosts a summer concert series every Thursday night May to October. Hotel Floyd also has 2 detached units that are pet friendly. Free full breakfast served every morning with locally homemade pastries! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Floyd reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing