We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Nice, What a Surprise!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Floyd

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Floyd
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Floyd
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Bowie, Maryland
2 reviews
“Very Nice, What a Surprise!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

This was my families first time in Floyd. We are attending a family reunion in the mountains. Floyd is a small town so we didn't really place high expectations on this hotel. However, we were surprised by how nice the hotel rooms were kept and very decorative. We are hoping to go back next year and will stay at Hotel Floyd.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Trina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

455 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    362
    78
    8
    7
    0
See reviews for
116
237
16
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

The staff was very kind and helpful. Rooms are big and clean. This was our second year to stay and would have no problem staying again if ever that way. Restaurants in Floyd leave a lot to be desired. They could use a nice, new family restaurant.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank poohandpanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

When visiting relatives near Floyd, we always enjoy staying at the Hotel Floyd. Great rooms, each with a mountain living theme, and the center of town just out the back entrance. Looking forward to the expansion and to continued visits.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 3641roadtrippers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore County, Maryland
Level Contributor
150 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

My husband, dog and I stayed at Hotel Floyd for two nights. We were very pleased with our pet-friendly suite. The service was great and the bed was very comfortable. We could also walk to the shops and park to hear the music. Currently Hotel Floyd is small, but, they are in the process of adding another building so it is growing.

Room Tip: The pet-friendly rooms are in a separate, but very nice building located behind the main hotel. The...
See more room tips
Green Features: The hotel is very conscious of being an environmentally-friendly venue.
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marty1357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falls Church, Virginia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

We've been to Floyd a few times for family visits and stayed at a few different places. Hotel Floyd is now our favorite place. They have great service, a very comfortable bed and it walking distance to the few shops and galleries. There was plenty of room and the place was very clean.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank traveler1272
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem MA
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

Driving the BRP we decided to spend the night in Floyd and came across The Floyd Hotel accidentally. What a super find!! The young lady at the desk was super nice and told us about the area for dinner. The room was amazingly new and clean!! Like staying in a luxury hotel!! The internet was very fast and we loved every minute of our stay. Walking around Floyd was like walking back in time. Loved out time here. Ken

Room Tip: You can't go wrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morristown, Tennessee
Level Contributor
41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

Hotel Floyd has a big banner on their website that says "We welcome your pets" which makes it sound like a pet friendly hotel, however, they only have two suites that are pet friendly. We took our dog but ended up having to find a kennel to board him for the night. Other than that, the hotel is nice. Didn't really care for the lamenate flooring as it makes more noise. Our room needed a new countertop around the sink in the bathroom. The bed was quite comfortable. We would stay there again if we ever visited Floyd again. Easy access to the Blue Ridge Parkway (6 miles). We ate at Natasha's which was very good. Stop at the yogurt shop, close to the hotel. The peanut butter yogurt was terrific!

Room Tip: Get a room on the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ginspice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelFloydManager, General Manager at Hotel Floyd, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Ginspice,

Thank you for the kind remarks about our hotel in Downtown Floyd, VA. We strive to provide excellent service along with a unique design that showcases our green mission and commitment to the Floyd community. Through our green efforts, we have found that the paper stone counter tops are not as durable as we thought they would be when the property was built. We're in the process of replacing these in early August. Also, the laminate flooring in the downstairs rooms is bamboo flooring and once again part of our mission to be green. We're sorry the slideshow picture on the home page mislead you to believe that the whole hotel is pet friendly. We'd love to have you back again in the pet friendly suite. Thank you for visiting our hotel and we apologize for any inconveniences we may have caused you while you were in Floyd.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Floyd
22.9 mi away
The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center
17.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#7 of 14 in Christiansburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
15.8 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Christiansburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Blacksburg
15.8 mi away
Days Inn Christiansburg
Days Inn Christiansburg
#13 of 14 in Christiansburg
3.0 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
18.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Christiansburg/Blacksburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Floyd? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Floyd

Property: Hotel Floyd
Address: 300 Rick Lewis Way, Floyd, VA 24091
Location: United States > Virginia > Floyd
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Floyd
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Floyd 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A "Green" hotel located in downtown Floyd, VA, featuring local art and themed rooms. Hotel Floyd offers boutique design with all the amenities of an urban hotel. Hotel Floyd also has an outdoor pavilion that hosts a summer concert series every Thursday night May to October. Hotel Floyd also has 2 detached units that are pet friendly. Free full breakfast served every morning with locally homemade pastries! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Floyd reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing